We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located hotel in Koreatown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #318 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Conveniently located hotel in Koreatown”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Good hotel, in the midst of Koreatown. We choose a De luxe kingsize room (n. 1105): plenty of space, ironing board, microwave oven, fridge, free WIFI in room, good sized bathroom, safe with choose- it-yourselft code, clean,...
Conveniently located: one block from the Empire, one block from the large subway station in Herald Square, practically on 5th Avenue, just round the corner from Macy's... what else could one want in New York?
It is true that the complimentary continental breakfast is a little poor and that the breakfast room is definitely too crowded given the number of guests, but which other hotels offers free breakfast? And free WIFI? And a safe in every room?
The 2 elevators are pretty slow and at rush hours quite overcrowded, and the waiting time might be a little long. But it is a little discomfort if you are a tourist. Would definitely go back !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deomon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    1,355
    479
    107
    99
See reviews for
640
984
130
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last November. It was very clean and breakfast was good (just a little crowded at times, but that's to be expected). The hotel is in an excellent location and is reasonably priced. No tea making facilities in the room but the delightful little mezanine area more than makes up for this. It's a charming oasis where you can drink copious amounts of tea and coffee at no cost. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScarletDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel advertises specifically and a lot to seniors and to others coming as groups, and put forth a 'special rate' which, when you stack it up against other 'special rates' you can get through the travel sites these days, isn't really special or low at all-- but the people who come here seem to think they got an incredibly low deal. They really didn't. The place is okay. And I mean just okay. As average as average can be. Nothing beyond terrible. But nothing that gives it anything special or luxurious or nice. Seems more like a hotel along the highway in ambiance and amenities. It's in Koreatown, so there's lots of Korean restaurants, and it is actually in a sort of strange and isolated block of NY... but if you've got plans to be other places and to walk or taxi or subway to those places... fine. I just don't think it's that great, and probably wouldn't stay here given many other choices. I guess I thought it was a little depressing.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank NoneNamedYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear NoneNamedYet,
We are sorry that you were not thrilled with our hotel. Our hotel is competitively priced, and we offer the best value by including free amenities like breakfast, domestic phone calls, and wi-fi. The lobby was recently redone as of last year, with a new mezzanine level that offers free 24 hour coffee/tea to our guests.
The block the hotel is on is very busy during all hours of the day and is located near subway stops and within walking distance to the Empire State Building and Macy’s, to name a couple.
We hope that you will give us another chance now that the lobby has been renovated.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

On my recent trip to NYC, I stayed at Nyma the new York manhattan hotel.
The hotel was in a really good location near Macy's, Forever 21, Victora Secret and Manhattan mall. It is close by to many resutrants so getting a bite to eat is easy. Two subway station near by.

The only issue I had with the hotel was with some of the male staff as they were not very pleasant as they barely spoke to you and did not say morning, unlike the female staff and one older doorman gentelman

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I wasn't sure I could find a good, not-so pricey hotel in midtown, during spring break, but I did... Rooms are small but neat, breakfast is plentiful, and the location is fantastic. Two blocks from Penn station, easy walking to Times Square, theaters, Central Park...Now I have a hotel to go to when I visit New York again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Just returned after four days in the NYMA.

Pros:

Excellent value
Staff very helpful
Free breakfast (although we didn't take it)
Coffee available from vending machines in lounge 24 hours a day
Rooms very clean

Cons:

Rooms on small side (we had room 704 for 2 people) - but not a problem for us as we weren't there for most of the time
Rooms at front of hotel suffer from noisy garbage trucks from 6am - 32nd St is in Koreatown with loads of restaurants. The noise gets funnelled upwards.
Lots of trash in street too in black bags - so not the most salubrious of surroundings
Where hotel is narrow but tall (17 floors), the rooms are quite close together. This, coupled with the garbage trucks and unbelievable lack of thought for any other guests by ignorant Americans shouting at the top of their voices at ungodly hours of the day (yes I include you, the 13 year old or so girl who just had to scream in her phone that she'd meet so and so downstairs in 5 minutes - at 7am) meant that it was difficult to get a good night's rest.

So in summary, excellent value for central Manhattan, but be prepared to be extremely tired!!

Room Tip: Ask for room at rear of hotel. also, one of the highest floors MAY be a bit quieter. Ask for a floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flooj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Pick this hotel for its location. Close to Penn station and a strikingly well situated in Manhattan. Rooms are relatively ok - size is adequate compared to other hotels in the area. A nice touch is, that breakfast was included. But the two breakfast rooms tend to be terribly crowded and the amount of foam mugs, paper dishes and plastic forks and knives amounts to terrifying quantas of waste.

Have stayed there twice in 2011 - both times the staff was relatively helpfull - but don't expect smiles and friendlyness. Hot complimentary drinks are available at all times in an area close to the lobby. Quality is so so, though.

Wifi connections are very good.

All in all this hotel hotel is not that bad compared to others. Manhattan hotels tend to be terribly overpriced. This one faces the competition relatively well.

Be advised, that the hotel routinely adds extra (tourist) taxes and stange conference fees to your bill. Something that comes as a surprise when you do the reservation through Booking.com.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kwesth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear kwesth,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry that you were not satisfied with everything. Unfortunately, we cannot offer re-usable dishes and utensils because we do not have a kitchen sink to keep to wash and reuse them nor can we add one due to structural limitations.
While Manhattan hotels are priced higher relative to any other US city the cost of doing business is also the highest in the country and relative to similar gateway cities like London, Paris and Tokyo New York is, in fact, a lot cheaper. Nevertheless, we try to offer the best hotel value by including things like free wifi, phone calls, 24 hour coffee, and breakfast.
The extra fees and taxes are all mandatory taxes by New York City/State law, so unfortunately, you will find them added on to any bill in New York City.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#287 of 468 in New York City
2,504 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#303 of 468 in New York City
1,597 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#313 of 468 in New York City
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#285 of 468 in New York City
3,459 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#244 of 468 in New York City
2,278 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#104 of 468 in New York City
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Property: nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Address: 6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3802
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated nyma offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Manhattan
Red Roof Inn New York City
New York City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing