We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in New York By Far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Having been to New York many times over the years and stayed in hotels such as The Plaza and The Waldorf Astoria, I have found Library Hotel to be the absolute best of all.

Never before have I stayed in a hotel in New York where the staff would routinely greet me by name, with genuine sympathy. And this had not been due to out-of-ordinary tips. On the contrary: on two occasions, different staff members have very (VERY) politely *declined* ten-dollar-tips, something I had never experienced in my numerous trips through the United States. This proved to me they were doing their good work and felt authentically gratified by their job alone! I wish I had insisted on those tips... maybe next time, since there will certainly be a next time!

On one evening, it was raining torrentially, so I took a cab back to the hotel at around 7:30PM. No sooner did my cab pull over than a staff member hurriedly came out the door with an umbrella, opened the cab's dor to me and merrily greeted me - by name.

Rooms are well decorated and tidy. Bathrobe and slippers in the closet. Very good acoustic isolation. Impecable room service. Nice bathrooms. Great complimentary wine & cheese from 5 to 8 PM. Wonderful ambiance everywhere. Refined but not snobby fellow guests, mostly from the U.S. and Western Europe.

I was alone, enjoying a week's vacation. Will certainly return with wife and child. Would doubtessly recommend the Library Hotel to discriminating fellow travelers. Suggest looking for pre-paid, non-cancellable, non-changeable offer at the hotel's website for optimal cost-benefit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASFeldmanMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,098)
There are newer reviews for Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,933 - 2,939 of 4,098 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Library hotel was even better than I'd hoped it would be. The location was central (down the street from Grand Central, close to shopping, dining, NY Public Library, 30 Rock) and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The staff routinely helped us plan our day or find a good restaurant.

The room was immaculate, though small (but all rooms are small in NY). There was plenty of room for my friend and me to store our belongings and move around and get ready in the mornings.

The complimentary breakfast was quite good and consisted of coffee, juices, bagels (they'll toast them for you if you ask), cereals, pastries, and very fresh fruit. The evening wine and cheese options are also divine and an excellent end to a busy day. Don't forget to check out the roof-top lounge on the fourteenth floor. You're free to take your wine and cheese up there. In the mornings you'll find complimentary water and fruit up there too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

This was an amazing experience. The hotel was fantastic from the moment you set foot inside. Rooms very brilliant, front office staff wonderful and location great.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveinahotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Library Hotel to celebrate her recent graduation in Library Science. I sprang for the larger king room, which was a bit pricey, but plenty of room for the both of us, and we enjoyed looking out the windows onto the streets of NYC. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. The evening wine and cheese and morning breakfasts in the Reading Room were always well-stocked and plenty of staff to make sure we got whatever we needed. The hotel is well-located in midtown Manhattan, walking distance to shopping, museums, Central Park, and especially Grand Central Terminal. It is very convenient to arrive via the airport bus services, with only short walk to the hotel. I would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KZKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

This Hotel has it all. Location, great staff, Rooftop Bar, complimentary Continental Breakfast, complimentary afternoon wine and cheese, fantastic Restaurant on the corner of Madison and 41st and unique European ambience. If I had to give you one heads up, the rooms are very small, again very European, but nicely appointed and very clean.
The central location makes it so easy to walk to a Broadway Show, walk to great restaurants and shopping and to just be in the heart of the City. I think the highest compliment was given by a New Yorker we meant in the elevator who had never been in the Hotel before but was there for a wedding and he stated he was going to bring his wife in for a romantic stay as he had no idea that New York had such a cool Hotel! Well worth the visit so don'y let the price put you off!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

From the first minute I arrived to Library Hotel I felt at home which is very valuable particularly when you are travelling alone. The staff was super nice and friendly, the reading room with wine and cheese tasting was a perfect peaceful haven after running around the city all day. The location was great.

The room was very cosy but also very small - it was hard even to find space to open my big luggage. Madison avenue down below was quite noisy, so was the air conditioner - needed earplugs at night. A small minus was also a tiny TV with very limited selection of channels.

Anyway, I definitely recommend the hotel, escially to all book lovers!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityshopper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

From the person opening the door to the reception and catering staff, it felt like being looked after in your own home. The room was not the biggest I've ever had, but was comfortable and well-appointed. Single rooms and single travellers often get a bad deal but that was certainly not the case here. The Reading Room provided an excellent and sociable setting for breakfast and the wine and cheese, a lovely idea.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ange02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#3 of 468 in New York City
362 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $286 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing