We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I learned of this great boutique hotel on tripadvisor.com. Stayed in a junior suite . Plenty of room and drawer and closet space for clothes. The hotel features a very nice rooftop indoor/outdoor bar as well as a second floor reading room that also serves as the setting for a daily free continental breakfast and free late afternoon wine and cheese reception. There is a ground floor restaurant that features outdoor seating, weather permitting. There is free high speed internet. The staff is extraordinarily knowledgeable and helpful. The only drawback - and it is a minor one - is the a/c is a bit noisy. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bsieg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,278
    596
    94
    25
    16
See reviews for
525
2,215
388
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We made a trip down into the city from upstate NY for our anniversary weekend. It was our first time staying at the Library Hotel. We were impressed, and will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

In my opinion, and if you have not visited New York a lot of times (more than 5-6), the concierge is one of the most important services of the hotel, it can make all the difference to your stay or not... At the end of the day, you're not in New York to spend your time at the hotel... You want to see the city!! And the library hotel staff will make sure that you see it in the best way possible...
The hotel is clean, romantic, cosy and brilliantly located. I would not say overwhelming, cause I've been to fancier hotel rooms with fancier views and amenities, however, I have to say that the service was overwhelming... From the GM Lenka, to the chief concierge Lennard, to the cheese and wine hostess Roxanna, I don't think I have ever met nicer or more professional staff, who are really concerned about their guests' happiness...

Also, the fact that they include breakfast, afternoon cheese and wine and high speed internet within the room price gives very good value for the money you're paying...

My wife and I truly enjoyed our stay there, and highly recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebanese_honeymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Our one night stay in a junior suite was just wonderful! From the moment we arrived until the time we left every single staff member was welcoming, kind, helpful, and just very enjoyable to talk with. They are not at all pretentious. The hotel will validate your ticket at a parking garage just two blocks away, and $25 for 24 hour parking in NYC is a great deal! Our room was ready when we arrived early, and they even gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary.
After being out all afternoon, we took advantage of the evening wine and cheese by taking our glasses up to our room and enjoying it as we relaxed and got ready for dinner! Breakfast was delicious on the second floor with a variety of pastries, cereals, fruit, hard boiled eggs, toast, yogurt and great coffee, or cappuccino!
We stayed on the 8th floor and you do hear street noise. We slept just fine though, and our room was immaculate. The suite was not huge, but spacious and overlooked Madison Ave. We took advantage of the prepay option and saved 20%.I really recommend this hotel; it's a great location, spotlessly clean and comfortable, with a friendly, welcoming and very knowledgable staff.
As an aside, we have stayed at a sister hotel to this one several times ; The Hotel Elysee at E. 54th, which I would also recommend for all the same reasons.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelondon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This trip was for my partner's 40th birthday, and the place really helped to make it special. The service was attentive but not obtrusive, efficient without being stuffy, and the staff were always smiling (great sense of humour on the front desk!) and very helpful. The Library theme is a brilliant concept - it really adds character to the whole experience. By sheer coincidence, our room was particularly romantic for us, because we were on the 10th floor (General Knowledge) and stayed in the Museums room (we met in the V&A!). The room was small but well appointed, comfy bed, air con that worked (and we needed that!) and soundproofing that meant we actually slept well. The maid service was excellent, too.
Being right in the heart of Manhattan meant that we could cram loads into our weekend - we managed to visit all five boroughs to get a feel for the different areas of New York.
The best bit about Library Hotel has to be the amazing breakfast and afternoon cheese and wine. Unlike many hotels, It feels more like being in a club, with a more relaxed feel and great surroundings in which to revive yourself. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spafe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pully, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

It's a shame because the Library Hotel was really lovely, but the room was so noisy I don't think I would stay there again. I put a good night's sleep above all else in a hotel, even above daily complimentary cheese and wine, continental breakfast, free wifi in room, lots of reading material, handy location, all of which we greatly appreciated. The first morning when I tried to see if we could be moved to a quieter room (we couldn't - the hotel is ALL on the street side) one guy at the desk asked me rather patronizingly if I came from a small town. (In retrospect this touch of New York attitude was quite a relief among the otherwise obsequious service. And to be fair the other two were very sympathetic and running round finding me earplugs.) I know it's NYC, I know it's noisy. But we came to this hotel immediately after hotels in downtown Vancouver and San Francisco, which were wonderfully quiet. And there are quiet hotel rooms in New York - I've stayed in them! Get some triple glazing or double windows, and the hotel will REALLY be an oasis in the middle of Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityGirlCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The rooms are tiny and cost a fortune- they're also very noisy! However the service and welcome at this hotel can't be beaten. The staff are so friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay a good one. The free breakfast was delicious and you can't beat the complimentary evening reception. If I had the money I would stay there again!

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank claireu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing