We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Library!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #5 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love The Library!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

I understand all of the good reviews, the location and customer service are excellent. At check in, no less than 3 people introduced themselves by name. The doorman changed day to day, but the service level was still extremely high. The room was tiny but very well appointed, nice linens, good use of space. I stayed in a giant suite hotel in upstate NY last night and had a harder time getting ready this morning than at the Library. Had breakfast in the Library Reading Room in the morning - absolutely lovely!

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Fly1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,172
    576
    94
    24
    16
See reviews for
503
2,156
376
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Having been to the city several times, I've stayed in centrally-located high-end hotels including New York Palace Hotel, but I can safely say my 6-night stay at the Library Hotel was the best experience I've had. Following tripadvisor's rave reviews, I booked the prepay special "Book Lover's Deal" for a deluxe queen room which gave me a 20% discount. There's just nothing much that I can pick a bone with, maybe except for my wish to have a larger TV in the room. Other than that, the rest is simply impeccable. The front desk staff were truly welcoming and extremely helpful and sincere. The bellman greets you with "great day ahead" when you leave the hotel and welcomes you with "good evening, welcome back" when you return, how many hotel staff actually do that? Top-down, the attitude is simply amazing. The room is beautifully decorated, spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom is very nice too. Besides its unique library theme which really sets itself apart from other forgettable hotels, I really have to give my thumbs up for its 24-hour refreshment service (coffee, tea, fruit punch, cookies etc) in the Reading Room. You can even pick up a book to read while having a late-night snack and enjoy the street views outside. I've stayed in scores of hotels worldwide (Asia, Europe, Americas) and I don't think I've ever stayed in one which provide this simple yet missing service. Kudos to the Library management! The continental breakfast was way better than most continental b/f I've had in other hotels. Whenever I can make it, I'd enjoy the wine and cheese reception between 5-8pm which really adds a sweet touch to your stay. I nearly forgot to mention they also provide you with free passes to the nearby fully-equiped gym so if you feel like having a workout, those passes will come in useful. There's also free wifi in the hotel and free internet 24 hours as well. Printing is free of charge too. How cool is all that!
All these made my stay at the Library extremely memorable and wonderful and I can't stop telling all my friends about this gem! Needless to say, this will my ONLY choice the next time I visit the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinceKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We took our son (without siblings) for a special trip to New York and booked a Jr. Suite with king bed and pull out sofa. It had a fabulous view down Madison Ave., as the room jutted out of the building. Free breakfast was delightful, room felt like a haven at the end of busy days, staff was very friendly and helpful. We took advantage of a free movie one night. Great location for touring Manhattan. We can't say enough about how much we loved this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Spent a week at the Library Hotel in July 2010 when it was very hot in New York. The hotel made our stay a pleasure, with great service, comfortable rooms and terrific location. I'd recommend it to anyone planning a holiday in New York.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazza_067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

I stayed at The Library for 10 days in July and I have to say that the hotel is possibly (no, is absolutely) the most welcoming, helpful and friendly of all the hotels I have stayed in anywhere in the world! From John and AJ on the door to Isaac and Billy and Nick on the desk...well, just everyone...I couldn't have asked for better. Nothing was too much trouble... The location was fantastic, the breakfast was great, the room was perfect for a city getaway, the wine and cheese each afternoon was a welcome break from the hectic pace of the day before the shower and change for dinner. I really can't recommend it more highly. Suffice it to say - I will most definitely be back. Thank you everyone at The Library for helping to make my first visit to the city one that will forever have a special place in my heart. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Stayed 3 nights on this lovely hotel in july.

Everything is PERFECT, the location, the room, and free breakfast/winetasting every day.

But best at all, the SERVICE at frontdesk/bellmann. They do everything for you................

This is the place to stay in NY.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenmarkNiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

I've wanted to stay at the Library Hotel since it opened, and it didn't disappoint. The concept is fun and the location is excellent. I would have to say that their #1 strength is the front desk service. Polite, thorough, knowledgeable -- and they addressed us by name every time we walked in or out. Based on my description of the kind of Broadway show we were interested in, they gave us two terrific recommendations. ("In the Heights" and "A Little Night Music", if you're interested!) The hotel was perfectly quiet and conducive to a great sleep. Perhaps the only area that could be improved is breakfast service -- they were quite short on tables and the breakfast staff was a little tentative to help out. But this didn't detract at all from a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing