We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
14 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$359
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Expedia.com
$319
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Priceline
$359
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/21
Hotels.com$319
eDreams$359
FindHotel$319
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,979)
Filter reviews
4,979 results
Traveler rating
4,148
676
106
32
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,148
676
106
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reading room library theme grand central station dewey decimal system madison and vine rooftop bar new york the ny public library bryant park every evening second floor lounge junior suite complimentary breakfast rooms are small times square midtown manhattan around the corner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 4,979 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2019

The hotel has a great locationright in the middle of manhattan, but quiet.
I liked the opportunity to have breakfast in the hotel ( incl. The New York Times!) and cheesem and wine in the evening.
The room (single) was small but the bed was comfortable and it contained everything one needs.
Walls and floors a bit drab
If I come again to NY I will again stay at the Library Hotel

Room tip: ask for a room that has YOUR special type of literature - mine had "religion"
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Connector27295599946
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

From the lovely ladies in the breakfast room who remember I like a full carafe of tea when I come in, to Steven at the door who greets us with a warm welcome to the ladies who clean our room promptly..the best!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

We (family of 4, two adults and two teenager children) visited NYC to see two Broadway shows and spent one night at the Library Hotel. We had always wanted to try the library hotel and we weren't disappointed. We had a junior suite with a view across from the NY Public Library which was modern, clean and relatively spacious. The staff was excellent. They stored our luggage before check in and after checkout. There is a reading room on the second floor which offers a complimentary continental breakfast, wine/cheese/hor d'oeuvres from 5 to 8 PM, and snacks 24 hours - even after we checked out. Because our room window directly overlooked Madison Ave, there was some traffic noise, but it did not bother us. We chose this hotel because it was close to Broadway, it is across from the NY Public Library, and close to the Morgan Librayr. It was about a 10 minute walk to Times Square. There were two excellent restaurants just a few minutes from the hotel (Nirvana Indian and Momosan Japanese.) Would love to stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank swansfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

This is our second stay at the Library Hotel.
After a busy day in the city, it is an oasis of hospitality and relaxation. The staff is always very friendly, very helpful; in short, superb. The evening wine and cheese, and the morning breakfast, are well-staffed and excellent.
Of course the whole idea of being surrounded by all those books is wonderful.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mobile28732076840
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

The reviews of this hotel did not exaggerate. The hotel is conveniently located in mid-town and easily accessible to the subway, the bus lines, and walking paths. The hotel is small, elegant, and immensely comfortable. Our room (deluxe king) was plenty big for the two of us, and the bed was so comfortable! The room and the bathroom were spotlessly clean, and the room smelled fresh and inviting. Having worked in libraries most of my life, I loved the theme. We spent a great deal of time just reading the titles of all the books that lined the shelves in the room and in the lounge. The second-floor 24-hour lounge was one of the highlights of the stay. Coffee, tea, snacks, were available at any time and was well-stocked and kept spotlessly clean. I noticed a few visitors dealing with their jet lag in the early morning hours when I visited the lounge. I think that this lounge is one of the best features of the hotel. The top floor garden lounge with the beautiful bar was also a great asset, and a nice place to "get away from it all" during the day, but seriously busy after the bar opens at 4:00 pm. I highly recommend this hotel for couples or singles.

Date of stay: April 2019
2  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews