We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming staff in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #5 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
301 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Charming staff in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

We had a superb trip to New York and stayed at the Library for six nights. The staff were helpful and welcoming and arranged a bottle of wine for our anniversary. The location here is wonderful, right on Madison Avenue and accessible to uptown attractions and Soho shopping. We stayed in one of the larger rooms overlooking Madison. I'm sure this made the room noisier than others in the hotel but the classic view of a New York streetscape down Madison from our bay window was well worth the compromise. The complimentary breakfasts in the quiet lounge on the second floor were so much better than a huge buffet in a swankier hotel.
This is a reasonably priced hotel for its amenities and I'm sure we will return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbirdandgrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,172
    576
    94
    24
    16
See reviews for
503
2,156
376
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

The hotel is very nice. The rooms are a bit small but very well maintained. The Queen size room is good sized and the maid service is prompt. The free breakfast in the moring is very nice and relaxing. The entire hotel atmoshpere is a great refuge from the ctiy. Perfect for business or pleasure for a single or a couple.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qualtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights as an anniversary holiday, and this hotel made the holiday perfect. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome, the service was warm and pleasant but never over done. The friendly concierge good advice on local restaurants (Benjamin's over the road was wonderful) and travel. Our room was a good size, well appointed with a very comfortable bed, and nicely understated bathroom. Breakfast is OK – there was a reasonable choice of pastries, although I’d have enjoyed a fresh coffee rather than from a machine. The restaurant, Madison & Vine, on the ground floor was so good we went twice. Over all the choice of a hotel can make all the huge difference to a holiday; this one more than made up for some squally weather, grim British Airways flight and the typical endless waiting around at airports. We’d find it hard to image staying anywhere else in NY.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilenaZLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Great location, nice staff and the breakfast and wine/cheese are good. The rooms are small (anything below a queen and you can't swing a cat), but clean, newly fitted out and to be honest most rooms in New York are small. The hotel theme is cute and extemely well executed. Its been a long time since a hotel theme made me laugh. I was on level 12 (religions) and had the African Religions room, replete with photo books including voodoo rituals. Very funny! (Although I did notice the photos above the bed, supposedly of African tribesmen included one photo of an Australian Aboriginal in traditional body paint, perhaps a decorator with a sense of humour?).

The IT infrastructure, on the other hand is a dog. The hotel is wireless, and on first locating the network it shows 11Mbps..acceptable. But every time a connection is established it drops automatically to 5.5Mbps, and as soon as you push data at it it drops immediately to 1Mpbs or less. Not funny. I was so bemused I repeated it over several days at different times with exactly the same result. I complained to the desk and was given a cable to plug into the data socket on the wall. Dead. I was sent to the breakfast room to use the data socket there. Dead.

In the end I went to the computer room and pulled the cable out of one of their machines and plugged into it. Perfect.

I'm sorry, in this day and age and in a hotel marketing to international travellers, this is well below par.

It also misleads about laundry availability. I was arriving Saturday night and needed some laundry done Sunday. It is advertised as a 7 day laundry service, but on asking I was told that there is no service Sunday without special order and a 50% surcharge.

Room service is from a neighbouring restaurant which isn't open Sunday night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cunim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

Great little hotel - very convenient outside of hustle and bustle of Tiems Square. Great service and comfortable room. The breakfast, cookies, chees and wine were all a big plus!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

My husband and I have been to NYC several times in the past few years. This time, we decided to stay at the Library hotel, even though it wasn't near our friends in the city. Let me say---THIS WAS A GOOD CHOICE! The staff was courteous and amazing, the hotel room was fabulous, and everything about this hotel was great. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a boutique hotel experience in NYC.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetcheekNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

The location of the hotel is close to all sights and perfect transportation options around NY area. Located on Madison Ave it has found a quiet corner, which is fantastic after a day out and about.
Breakfast is eaten in the Reading room and is of good quality but I would not agree on it being a luxury bfast.
I stayed in a Petit Single and thought the layout of the room was perfect but the bed was wobbly.
I would definately recommend the hotel to anyone travelling to NY and find it a gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makarska75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing