We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #7 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding. The staff were all fantastic and friendly. We stayed in one of the junior suites (opted not to stay in the love room) and it was perfect. I love the feel and size of the hotel, and there was a great view of the New York Public Library from our room. Excellent amenities: Free wifi, free breakfast, wine and cheese in the evening, and a great rooftop bar. We are planning to stay here again for our 1 year anniversary.

Room Tip: Petite rooms are a bit small. Go for deluxe or better yet, junior suite. Well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,551 - 1,557 of 4,165 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. From the location, a block from Grand Central, to the service, everybody there made sure we had everything we needed! Breakfast was fantastic! We never made it to the "wine and cheeses" part but I'm sure it was good too since everything at this hotel top our expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DemandingTrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I live upstate New York and enjoy staying over in NYC once in awhile. We booked the Library last minute, and had never stayed there before. Form the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out ( we were offered a 1.00pm late checkout!) it was a really nice experience. Our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived but we were early. The front desk staff were very accommodating, with Arman leading the way. We were offered tea and coffee and light snacks on the 2nd floor while our room was being prepared. Arman came up with our key cards a we bit later and we took that opportunity to ask him about good places to eat that were close by. He was very knowledgeable and we decided on Kellari on 44th street. Arman made the reservation for us as well.

We had a nightcap on the rooftop bar of The Library and it was nice way to end the evening.

Our room was cozy and comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kieran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Visited New York with my teenage daughter and a friend with her teenage daughter. Loved the location. Very friendly staff. Especially liked the library room for breakfast and teatime snack - we did not adapt to the time difference from the UK straight away and therefore had somewhere pleasant to go at 5am when we were wide awake.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I left my briefcase at the Library Hotel. They emailed me when it was handed in and Fedexed it down to Washington the following day. Great customer service,friendly and helpful people. A very
nice hotel centrally located.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We highly recommend this hotel. Room was spotless. Staff was outstanding. The location is great. The hotel had misplaced our reservation. We showed them the email we had from them and they immediately did all they could to make it right. This is a great place for a number of reasons, but mainly because the people are outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rharrelljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Took my husband, a librarian to this hotel, the concept inspired by the Dewey decimal system, just for fun. If we hadn't been in New York I could have curled up in either the breakfast room or the writer's den upstairs and read a book for the entire holiday. It was a lovely oasis to return to after the sights of NYC. The rooms were described as small but were beautifully organised. The wine and cheese reception each day offered the perfect break between day wanderings and night adventures. My only complaint was that were in 600.004 which is Medicine (Grey's Anatomy) and I'm doing a PhD in fairy tales. Next time I'd ask for a room with books I fancied reading! This goes to my tops list with the Athole Guest House in Bath and The Henry Jones in Tassie.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RosebudsAunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 469 in New York City
522 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 469 in New York City
1,426 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $274 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing