We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$197
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$210
$180
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$170
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$142
yescapade.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 54% below average rates

The price you found is 54% lower than this hotel's average rate of $194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,357)
Filter reviews
4,357 results
Traveler rating
3,601
615
99
26
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,601
615
99
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreading roomwine and cheesepetite roomlibrary themegrand central stationdewey decimal systemmadison and vinebook loversrooftop barlove roomnew yorkthe ny public librarybryant parkevery eveningcontinental breakfastbagelsfloor lounge
Filter
Updating list...
1,763 - 1,768 of 4,357 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was looking forward to my second stay at the Library Hotel for my whole trip and I wasn't disappointed!
I was placed in my old room, and everything was just as perfect as the first time: lovely amenities, comfy bed, turn-down service with chocolates and weather report.
Included breakfast and daily cheese and wine reception, combined with friendly and helpful staff make the Library Hotel a joy to keep visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cate31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in the excellent Casablanca hotel on a previous visit to New York and thoroughly enjoyed it, but as we like to experience different hotels we thought we’d try out one of its sister hotels and therefore chose The Library Hotel for our stay in early July.

We found it to be situated in a good location, one block away from Grand Central Station and the subway. Our Deluxe Queen room wasn’t huge but not many are in New York and it was fine for the 7 nights we were there. It was decorated to a good standard which suited the overall style of the hotel. The air-conditioning in the room was efficient but a little bit noisy and as we are light sleepers we had to turn it off at night.

The reading room served up a good continental breakfast in the mornings, coffee and pastries/biscuits 24 hrs and was a nice place to enjoy the complimentary wine and cheese in the evening before heading out to dinner. We also enjoyed a cocktail or two on the rooftop terrace which opens as a relaxing bar in the evening. We had a meal one night in the attached restaurant Madison and Vine and found the food very good and reasonably priced. The staff were also excellent, always greeting us warmly whenever we returned to the hotel.

Overall we couldn’t fault the hotel. Style wise we preferred the Casablanca but this is just our own personal opinion. If we ever visit New York again, our difficulty would be in either deciding to stay at the Library Hotel again or trying out one of their other hotels in the group which also look equally impressive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoastersOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

A hotel with this quality of tripadvisor reviews sets the expectations pretty high, but the Library NYC has met and exceeded all we had hoped for. Rooms were perfectly appointed and unique. The attention to detail is unparalleled. Bedding, location, and room layout were all A+ but what really made the library excellent was the staff who went above and beyond. Extremely helpful, friendly and talented. A special thanks to Justine (who helped with a difficult request) and to Alvin who was ready to welcome us before the cab came to a full stop. If you want to stay in the absolute best, look no further.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Katharine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We booked our stay based on this hotel's high TA rating. The "library" concept was not a big factor for us. But once we got there, we changed our minds. We loved having dozens of books in our room. The 20th century history room on the 9th floor. Even someone like me who rarely reads on vacations, found myself skimming through several of the ones concerning the world wars. I think they should publish on their website the topic for each room! There is a big display outside the elevators on the 2nd floor that lists them all.
Our room was one of the deluxe ones, so space was not a problem. It overlooked 41st Street and noise from the street below was not an issue. The hotel location was great, we walked everywhere in midtown and when we needed to take the subway, several stations were nearby.
The staff is a big reason for our high rating. Every single hotel employee you encounter, from the doorman, to the front desk, to the breakfast staff, to the cleaning staff, greets you and asks what they can do for you. Have been to many big lavish hotels in which the staff pretty much ignores you and your concerns. This is not to case at this hotel. Every request was immediately responded to. For example, on the first morning, I mentioned to the front desk that I thought the mattress was a bit too firm. When we returned that afternoon, a soft pad had been installed under the fitted sheet.
So even if you do not consider yourself a literary type of person, you will still enjoy this wonderful hotel and the staff's excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rayjay80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Concur with all positive reviews. Could not fault service, room, breakfast etc. The delights of the 'Reading Room' are not to be underestimated. We thought we might not avail of the complimentary evening reception between 5.00pm and 8.00 pm but only missed one day during a 7 night stay. It was very much appreciated to come back to this oasis after sightseeing and travelling on the metro and get a refreshing drink and some eats in a perfectly (for us) cooled room. (aircon can be so overdone in NY). Also to have this room and free coffee etc available 24hrs a day is a great benefit.
As first time visitors to New York we felt the hotel was ideally situated. We walked quite a lot, but also took the bus and took the metro to all the sights we wanted to visit and the hotel proved very central.We were able to walk to central park to the north and down to Greenwich Village and the High Line to the south. On our last day took a train from the nearby Grand Central Station up to the delightful village of Cold Spring on the Humber River.(its a scenic trip).
Bedroom compact but well appointed. Bed very comfortable and bathroom well laid out and equipped.
Ate in Madison and Vine a few times dinner and brunch and could not complain: good food good service bit noisy at dinner.
Obviously have not stayed in any other hotel in New York but feel that it would have to be something special to beat the value/ service/location of the Library Hotel. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEHE2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews