We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel in midtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Library Hotel
Ranked #6 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in midtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Really top class hotel in a great location in Midtown , quirky but nice staff. Free drinks in the evening and a lovely terrace bar . Rooms are a little bigger than the norm, ours had a view down Madison ave. easy walk to Central Park and central to everything in New York .

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,017
    553
    90
    23
    15
See reviews for
464
2,057
361
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Wonderful rooms, brilliantly service from lovely staff and prime location. What more could you want? Cheese and wine every evening? Books in every space? Rooftop terrace? It's all there. Air con and double glazing along with comfy beds mean a good nights sleep despite the bustle and the horns of the yellow cabs

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

The location and service were simply the best I ever experienced in NY!

The hotel is very charming and all the staff always friendly and helpful.

The breakfast is superb: The coffee is great, they even serve Nutella - my favorite - fresh fruit and prepare oatmeals or toasted bagels for you -> seriously, I was in breakfast heaven.
The wine & cheese reception in the evening was just the perfect thing to look forward to after a day in the city. White wine, red wine, Prosecco and a selection of cheese, nuts, fruit and crackers - all lovely arranged and refilled all the time.

I stayed here for a week with my dad and boyfriend and my dad simply loved it. My boyfriend and I are more into modern design hotels, but still loved the library concept :)
So when you are traveling with "older" people (e.g. parents or grandparents) and wine lovers this hotel is THE place to stay in the hectic city of NY.

The rooms are ok for NY - I've booked a deluxe room for my dad and would definitely recommend this room size because the petite room is quite small for 2 people. However, that's mostly the case in NY so nothing really to complain.
The shower is excellent and the bathroom quite spacious (compared to the size of the room).
The rooms were very clean, an iPhone docking station was provided as well as a good blow-dryer (the most essential thing for a woman in a hotel :).

I was missing a gym in the basement, but with Central Park so close I didn't really mind :)
Lots of NY hotels have a gym partnership and I guess the Library Hotel does, too, but I still prefer a small workout room in the basement ;)

I would definitely recommend this hotel - I've stayed at the Dream Hotel in NY, the mAVE and the Yotel and I must say that the Library Hotel was BY FAR the best pick.
So go for it :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Miriscastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essen, germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed for five nights. The location of the hotel is very convenient, only two blocks to Grand Central Terminal, one block to Bryant Park, three blocks to Times Square 42nd St. The hotel ist quite small, just about four or five rooms on every floor. The Standard Rooms are small and the bed is smaller than a regular queen size, be beware of that. Our room was spotlessly clean, the decoration with books all over is a bit quirky, but nice. The continental breakfast which is served - buffet style - in the reading room on second floor ist good - some choice of juices, cappuccino, latte etc, bagels, pastry, cereal, fruit salad, boiled eggs, everything we needed. The staff was very friendly an offered help every time we met them. I would definitely return back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kateb116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

In a city with so much crazy energetic bustling energy, it was such a pleasure to come home every evening to a warm and welcoming oasis of calm comfort. Service was wonderful without being intrusive, breakfast included in room rate (unusual for NY!) and beds very comfy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

I had an excellent stay at the Library. The location is great, handy for grand central and easy walking distance from Times Square. The room( a petite room) was perfect for one person. The decor is perfect, lovely toiletries and a docking station. There are no tea making facilities in the room but 24 hour access to this for guests in the Reading Room with biscuits and pastries.
Breakfast is great with the giant bagels a highlight. It is a continental style breakfast but there is ample food provided. The evening cheese and wine had a pleasant ambience and was a great pre theatre option.
Staff are friendly and helpful. I was glad I had returned here six years after my first visit. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Claire_10_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The location is great, very close to Grand Central Station and a short walk from Times Square. The room, although a bit small, (it is NY!) was very comfortable and quiet. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the complimentary breakfast, refreshments and wine were a definite plus. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpadp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Hotel Giraffe
#4 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,154 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#2 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#9 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Property: Library Hotel
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing