We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Just fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #5 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Wonderful rooms, brilliantly service from lovely staff and prime location. What more could you want? Cheese and wine every evening? Books in every space? Rooftop terrace? It's all there. Air con and double glazing along with comfy beds mean a good nights sleep despite the bustle and the horns of the yellow cabs

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,866
    522
    86
    22
    14
See reviews for
424
1,958
344
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The location and service were simply the best I ever experienced in NY!

The hotel is very charming and all the staff always friendly and helpful.

The breakfast is superb: The coffee is great, they even serve Nutella - my favorite - fresh fruit and prepare oatmeals or toasted bagels for you -> seriously, I was in breakfast heaven.
The wine & cheese reception in the evening was just the perfect thing to look forward to after a day in the city. White wine, red wine, Prosecco and a selection of cheese, nuts, fruit and crackers - all lovely arranged and refilled all the time.

I stayed here for a week with my dad and boyfriend and my dad simply loved it. My boyfriend and I are more into modern design hotels, but still loved the library concept :)
So when you are traveling with "older" people (e.g. parents or grandparents) and wine lovers this hotel is THE place to stay in the hectic city of NY.

The rooms are ok for NY - I've booked a deluxe room for my dad and would definitely recommend this room size because the petite room is quite small for 2 people. However, that's mostly the case in NY so nothing really to complain.
The shower is excellent and the bathroom quite spacious (compared to the size of the room).
The rooms were very clean, an iPhone docking station was provided as well as a good blow-dryer (the most essential thing for a woman in a hotel :).

I was missing a gym in the basement, but with Central Park so close I didn't really mind :)
Lots of NY hotels have a gym partnership and I guess the Library Hotel does, too, but I still prefer a small workout room in the basement ;)

I would definitely recommend this hotel - I've stayed at the Dream Hotel in NY, the mAVE and the Yotel and I must say that the Library Hotel was BY FAR the best pick.
So go for it :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Miriscastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essen, germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed for five nights. The location of the hotel is very convenient, only two blocks to Grand Central Terminal, one block to Bryant Park, three blocks to Times Square 42nd St. The hotel ist quite small, just about four or five rooms on every floor. The Standard Rooms are small and the bed is smaller than a regular queen size, be beware of that. Our room was spotlessly clean, the decoration with books all over is a bit quirky, but nice. The continental breakfast which is served - buffet style - in the reading room on second floor ist good - some choice of juices, cappuccino, latte etc, bagels, pastry, cereal, fruit salad, boiled eggs, everything we needed. The staff was very friendly an offered help every time we met them. I would definitely return back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kateb116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

In a city with so much crazy energetic bustling energy, it was such a pleasure to come home every evening to a warm and welcoming oasis of calm comfort. Service was wonderful without being intrusive, breakfast included in room rate (unusual for NY!) and beds very comfy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

I had an excellent stay at the Library. The location is great, handy for grand central and easy walking distance from Times Square. The room( a petite room) was perfect for one person. The decor is perfect, lovely toiletries and a docking station. There are no tea making facilities in the room but 24 hour access to this for guests in the Reading Room with biscuits and pastries.
Breakfast is great with the giant bagels a highlight. It is a continental style breakfast but there is ample food provided. The evening cheese and wine had a pleasant ambience and was a great pre theatre option.
Staff are friendly and helpful. I was glad I had returned here six years after my first visit. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Claire_10_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The location is great, very close to Grand Central Station and a short walk from Times Square. The room, although a bit small, (it is NY!) was very comfortable and quiet. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the complimentary breakfast, refreshments and wine were a definite plus. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpadp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent 4 nights in the Library Hotel on a trip to NYC. The hotel is located just around the corner of Grand Central station. Our petite room was compact with a bath and shower and very clean. Everything was there. The free breakfast included fruit, coffee, bagels, toast and juice. The staff was helpful at all times. We would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jop12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,869 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,073 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#10 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#4 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,007 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Property: Library Hotel
Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing