We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shh, let's keep this a secret...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shh, let's keep this a secret...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I found this hotel in my Lonely Planet travel book for New York. From the minute I walked into this boutique hotel I was impressed. The staff were very friendly and so helpful. They provided me with a list of restaurants they recommended, locations of Christmas markets and even booked a walking tour for me that day. The room was nice and cozy and very welcoming with it's warm furnishings. I especially liked the complimentary amenities and small touches they added to your stay (such as their evening turn-down). I felt at home away from home. And after an eventful evening in the crowded streets of New York, I was surrounded by the comforts of quietness, a nice cup of hot tea, some biscuits and books. I had such a wonderful experience here during the holidays. It added to the magic of Christmas in New York.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,134
    568
    92
    24
    16
See reviews for
495
2,132
370
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I would have to give this hotel a good 2 thumbs up for their service and also their ability to make a hotel feel so homely. From the first moment we walked in the doors, after we had our flight cancelled (at 6am) we were greeted by the most pleasant and helpful gentlemen who got us into our room ASAP, to sleep and even invited us to enjoy the continental breakfast that morning. Breakfast was awesome, toast, chopped fruit, coffee, cereal, pastries, yoghurt and boiled eggs.
The room we booked was very small, but we did book a petite room, so if you would like a little more space choose a bigger room.
They have a 24hr free coffee and biscuits as well as a lovely evening event which is also free.
Another awesome aspect is that you can borrow out free movies or from thief selection.
Would certainly come back to this hotel. Just loved it, and it is in a good position as well to grand central.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elocin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

As first timers in New York my husband and I found searching for the best hotel in terms of value for money and location rather daunting to say the least - there were just so many to choose from! However,what a fantastic find Library Hotel in Midtown Manhattan was having chosen it based on Trip Advisor reviews. We have recently returned after spending 5 days there over Christmas holidays and New Year. Turning left out of the hotel within a 5 minute walk brought us to Grand Central station and turning right out of the hotel within a 5 minute walk brought us onto 5th Avenue facing New York Public Library. Location absolutely perfect, about 10 minute walk to Empire State and 10 minute walk to Times Square - full marks for location. The only slight negative was the size of our room, a little short of space but given the amazing, warm welcome and hospitality we received (a special mention for Tim who could not do enough for us) we soon forgot about the room size. Both Tim and the reception staff we very helpful in terms of making restaurant reservations on our behalf, making enquiries about some excursions we had pre-booked and suggesting good places to eat, shop and visit. Breakfast was included in room tariff and tea/coffee,pastries and biscuits and early evening cheese and wine complementary - outstanding value and personal service that just isn't found in some of the larger,chain hotels. We would like to thank Library Hotel for making us feel welcome and for helping make our first visit to NYC so memorable - keep up the good work guys! Chris & Angela Clarke

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLSPackagingLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Library Hotel from 27th Nov to 2 Dec so over the Thanksgiving period. It was a great city break and the Library Hotel made it even more special.
When we arrived they greeted us warmly and offered great recommendations for restaurants. They helped us out with finding the right subway too.
Breakfast was included with our package and was very generous, offering a selection of pastries, bagels and cereals!
The hotel itself was gorgeous, it stood apart from the other buildings around it. It is in a perfect location, right near Bryant Park which had a Christmas fair at the time. It's also very near 5th Avenue and Times Square but not too loud at night. The rooms in the hotel were very comfortable and the library theme is brilliant. The room had every thing we needed including a comfortable bed to sleep off our exhausting days.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and I would stay in here again when I visit the city in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SorchaC606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here at the end of our honeymoon and couldn't have finished it any better. We stayed in mid-December and the hotel was so comfortable and welcoming after a long day of snow and shopping! We were in the Fairytale Room which was gorgeous and quite spacious which surprised us! The bathroom was also big and had a gorgeous bath! The best thing about our stay was easily the staff. They were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We will definitely be returning and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. LOVE LOVE LOVED IT!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audreydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at the beautiful Library Hotel for 9 nights including christmas. The hotel is charming, the staff friendly, caring and super helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast, all day cookies and coffee and afternoon wine and cheese was generous.
Location is ideal, the abundance of books delightful, and the rooms charming. But we would come back for the staff. Wouldn't think about staying anywhere else in NY. We loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trish U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was my third consecutive stay at The Library Hotel over Christmas and it never disappoints. I had thought about trying somewhere else this year but as I have never been able to find fault, thought why go anywhere else?

From arrival to departure you are looked after superbly. The rooms are spotless and well equipped. If there is anything at all you need, it is a phone call away.

The location is perfect with Grand Central Terminal just a block away and buses on Madison and Fifth.

I can highly recommend this hotel and its professional, friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 256GCo256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing