We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fab stay at the library” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another fab stay at the library”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is super convenient , staff are friendly. The rooms are a little small, but come on it is Manhattan! Yummy breakfast is included and you're welcome to enjoy a free snack or drink during the day and also to partake of wine and nibbles in the evening. It was about the 4th time I've stayed at the library, and I'm sure it won't be the last.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyW1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,141
    570
    93
    24
    16
See reviews for
496
2,137
372
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the Library Hotel in September this year and got married on the roof terrace on the 6th Sept. It was amazing and a great experience for a couple and their family & friends from Glasgow, Scotland - we couldn't have picked a better place!
We'd been to NYC a few times before, staying in the Murray Hill area and spotted the Library Hotel and decided to stay there on our next trip. The excellent reviews also helped cement our decision - we were not disappointed. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Tim and the team on reception offered advice and help throughout our stay and when my case did not arrive (arrived the day before we got married!!), Tim was most helpful, continually chasing up with the airline when I was not about. Our wedding was organised with the help of Ivana who was so helpful and supportive, prompt in all replies to our questions prior to us arriving and making sure the venue was 'just so'! Ivana met us on our arrival at the hotel and organised to show us around the venue, introducing us to the bar and restaurant staff and making sure all preparations were in order. The wedding day was so special!! On the day and evening of the wedding the staff at the roof top bar were great - helped make the day such fun!
The staff and the attention to detail at the Library is what makes the hotel excellent. Breakfast is continental but had some good choices. The free drinks and nibbles in the afternoon was a very nice touch. The attached restaurant Madison & Vine does fantastic burgers and offers the same level of great service as the hotel.
We had the most amazing trip and are planning to go back next Sept.
Lesley & Tom xx

Room Tip: The Junior Suite we had was excellent - spotless, well equipped and with a huge comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. Very convenient to Times Square and Mid-Town. Excellent staff. Definitely choose the Junior Suite if you can. Package included breakfast and wine happy hour. Enjoy a drink at the rooftop bar.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up. Our heater was a bit noisy so have them turn that on for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TulseyTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Library Hotel in NYC is a fantastic place to stay. Steps from Rockafeller Center, Grand Central Station, Bryant Park, shopping on 5th, Central Park. The hotel was lovely, the rooms were perfect, the bed was heavenly, the Library where we sat for breakfast, wine and cheese, and just to grab a couple of snacks during the day was perfect. The staff was SO nice and gave us great directions and ideas. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were upgraded on arrival and our room was amazing. The staff is awesome and attentive. They have a great continental breakfast and the wine and cheese hour is fun. Very relaxing but close to everything. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hotel is very well located to see the sights of NY with all staff helpful in providing appropriate advice. Rooms clean with breakfast and the wine and cheese a good addition. Great place to stay and would readily return and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed three perfect nights in the heart of Manhattan thanks in no small part to the whimsical and wonderfully creative Library Hotel and it's attentive team of "Librarians". From the warm welcomes, excellent local advice and absolutely charming staff to the smartly appointed rooms and roof top bar for an evening drink, the Library Hotel never ceased to delight us. I can't really think of any faults but if I was to be overly critical I'd say the breakfast dining room is a fraction small - however we never waited more than a moment to be seated even when they were busy. All in all we've found our home away from home while visiting the city that never sleeps. Can't recommend the Library Hotel enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing 41st St for a slightly quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing