We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Library Hotel
Ranked #5 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were upgraded on arrival and our room was amazing. The staff is awesome and attentive. They have a great continental breakfast and the wine and cheese hour is fun. Very relaxing but close to everything. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,948
    532
    88
    22
    15
See reviews for
447
2,008
351
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hotel is very well located to see the sights of NY with all staff helpful in providing appropriate advice. Rooms clean with breakfast and the wine and cheese a good addition. Great place to stay and would readily return and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed three perfect nights in the heart of Manhattan thanks in no small part to the whimsical and wonderfully creative Library Hotel and it's attentive team of "Librarians". From the warm welcomes, excellent local advice and absolutely charming staff to the smartly appointed rooms and roof top bar for an evening drink, the Library Hotel never ceased to delight us. I can't really think of any faults but if I was to be overly critical I'd say the breakfast dining room is a fraction small - however we never waited more than a moment to be seated even when they were busy. All in all we've found our home away from home while visiting the city that never sleeps. Can't recommend the Library Hotel enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing 41st St for a slightly quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Spending weekend in NY. Just came back from 8 pm show planning quiet dinner in hotel restaurant. It closed a fewfewinutes ago -room service closed too. Front desk clerk suggested chinese delivery?
Hmmmm- maybe not; (

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMC507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibraryHotel, General Manager at Library Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear GMC057,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We wholeheartedly agree. 10PM is too early for room service to close, so from now on, thanks to your feedback, guests at the Library will be able to enjoy room service every evening until 11pm. We truly apologize if the lack of a late night dining option from our restaurant took away from the wonderful experience you and all our guests deserve.

As such a small hotel, we rarely have requests for food service after 11pm. For those rare requests, our concierge has a vast array of delivery and nearby late night options, including Benjamin’s Steakhouse directly across the street, available for both delivery and late night seating. Luckily, we are located in Midtown Manhattan where almost anything can be delivered at anytime. If specific cuisine in mind, I am confident our concierge can help you find an exquisite meal to suit any palate at any hour. I will work with our late night team to ensure they are able to communicate that to our guests more fully in the future.

I hope that you enjoyed your weekend with us despite this incident. I would love to welcome you back in the near future to find a way to make this up to you. Please feel free to contact me personally at robert@libraryhotel.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

All the best,
Robert Rawlins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Liked the play on the Library theme. Close to the library and Grand Central it's location is favourable and the surrounding area is pleasant. The staff, room and buffet breakfast were all perfectly formed and served us well. Great choice for the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great hotel with friendly staff. We stayed in a junior suite as we wanted the extra space. The breakfast in the Reading Room on floor 2 was very good. A good selection of fruit salad, cereals, bagels, pastries, teas and coffees and the evening cheese and wine fare was absolutely wonderful. The only minus here was the boring "Smooth Jazz" coming out of the speakers. Food in the Madison & Vine was just ok. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble - we will definitely be back. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bolliger2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfielsd
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went to New York with another couple to celebrate 60th birthdays.Couldn't have been any better.Rooms were great ,a good size and bathrooms spotless.Staff very friendly and helpful from reception to breakfast couldn't help enough.really relaxed atmosphere but with attention to detail. Both couples thought it was fantastic stay.loved the roof terrace and although in the eve was more of a cocktail bar we sat up there with coffees in the eve. The 2nd floor rest/cafe bar was such a great find and well used by us. It was in a perfect position for exploring New York we walked everywhere!Saw lots of other hotels we were considering when booking but knew this one was by far the best. To me this is the only place to stay in New York and hope to one day return .

Room Tip: We were on the general knowledge floor(named Museum) in an end room which had a bit extra hall space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Hotel Giraffe
#3 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,117 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#4 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 5,020 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Property: Library Hotel
Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing