We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Library Hotel - Wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #5 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
“Library Hotel - Wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our last stop on a USA holiday and the hotel was awesome. The service was outstanding. In fact it was way beyond good. The room was very good. The rooftop bar is fantastic and we enjoyed the wine and cheese reception one night. The location in midtown and near Grand Central is very convenient too. Very please with this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no gym at the hotel but they gave me a pass to a health club close by that was way better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB123238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,172
    576
    94
    24
    16
See reviews for
503
2,156
376
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed last week for a week.. Central station around the corner - location location location - home from home feel.. The way they did breaky was perfect with out the food over load of normal holiday's. took my own veggimite - had hard boiled eggs - fresh fruits yoghurt - cereals - porridge made to order. Coffee & tea hot choc anytime day or night stop in at level 2.
had a jr suite on arts floor - which is one small room but large by New York standards.
Down side - turned off air con at night as cutting in & out was soo loud disturbed sleep and it was hot. Should of changed rooms but jet lag was all powerful..
Maybe we ozzies are getting spoiled - but pillow top beds OS seem hard to find unless you chase them in reviews - hips were in shock this week. House keeping brilliant..
would stay again in a heart beat.. Glad to say Sunday the road was blocked off for a parade & slept in until 1.30pm so overcame the jet lag. Tooting & honking what tooting & honking - woke to peace and quiet - yes in New York on Maddison Ave..
PS Vicki sends a big kiss to the owner of the Vines cafe who moved while eating his meal so we could grab a bite at the bar before a show.. Perfect meal to be had..ate twice there..

Room Tip: Check air con & street front for noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hereford59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at the Library Hotel for 5 nights in a deluxe room. The Madison & 41st location is great as this is only 5 mins from Times Square yet in a significantly quieter area (if there is such a thing for NY). Also Grand Central, subway and buses are all minutes away so a great location all round.

The service is excellent as the staff really go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. There is so much attention to detail, from the breakfast in the morning to evening turn down service with complimentary chocolates and the nightly weather forecasts, not to mention the lovely wine and cheese, complimentary WiFi & bottled water. The concierge/reception were even able to secure us tickets for a NFL Giants v Jets game at MetLife Stadium on short notice and provided helpful insights which only locals would know on transportation plus what to or in this case what not to take.

The rooftop bar is definitely worth a visit. This is an oasis in the city and an unexpected find, ideal for escaping the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, the perfect place to unwind after a busy day. The hotel is also within walking distance of some of the very best restaurants in New York. We also elected to have dinner in their restaurant Madison & Vine which proved to be most convenient.

This hotel is everything a boutique hotel should be, our expectations were exceeded and we look forward to our next stay at the Library Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atina2090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great Staff! Incredibly quiet! Very relaxing! My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid August and it was truly perfect. The hotel staff was friendly and eager to help with any questions. The location was great. We walked to Time Square, Central Park, MOMA, and many other places, only needing a cab for Battery Park and the 911 Memorial. The hotel was so quiet we would have thought we were the only guests if we hadn't seen others at breakfast or the wine/cheese reception. Despite being full that weekend we didn't see another person on our floor. The food was quite good and the atmosphere was very relaxing. The room itself was very clean and nice. It was small, but that is what I expected. We had turn down service every night which was appreciated after several long days and late nights enjoying NYC! I would stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent location near Grand Central - at Madison and 41st. The service is top notch - welcoming and helpful. I enjoyed the included morning breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception in the Reading room. Free wi-fi, bottled water and rooms with nice amenities. As with other hotels in New York, rooms are not large - however, it was well designed. Of all the New York hotels I've stayed at, this is my new favorite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF94597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location of this hotel is just perfect. Grand Central Terminal and the 42nd St Subway station are only a 2 minute walk from the front door. Likewise, Times Square and all the Broadway theatres are an easy 10 minute walk. Also, being located on the corner of Madison Ave, there is always a constant stream of available taxis (which I should point out are reasonably cheap by international standards), should this be preferred.

With the exception of one incident, the staff were excellent and always ready to go above and beyond to assist us. The concept of a library hotel is very novel (excuse the pun) and has been executed perfectly. Our room was a Deluxe King (medium size) and although reasonably small by our standards, it was more than enough for two people. We stayed for four nights and would have happily stayed four more. Being in the heart of NYC, there is a never ending list of things to see and do.

The included continental breakfast was nice, but unfortunately the breakfast bar is very limited. What was provided was good, but the range was small. For the exorbitant room rates being charged, I would have expected a little more. That being said, the 'Reading Room' where breakfast is served is lovely.

Daily housekeeping worked well and the two complimentary bottles of water each day were appreciated. Wi-Fi is also complimentary, however we found the bandwidth and signal strength to be shocking. Granted we were in a corner room on an upper floor, but we were struggling to get even one bar of wifi reception in our room (same result with four different devices) and when we did, there was hardly any bandwidth. We tried using the computers in the business centre, only to encounter the same shockingly slow internet. This was very disappointing for us and is definitely something which could be improved upon.

Some other quick points of constructive criticism: 1) There was no hand wash in the bathroom, only your standard bar of soap. A simple anti-bacterial hand wash dispenser would go a long way. 2) Although the 'automatic' mini-bar is a great idea, it defeats the point of having a fridge in the room as we were unable to use it to store our own items which needed refrigerating, and 3) The elevators looked and felt very old. Although this gives some class and history to the hotel, they felt like a death trap.

Overall, the hotel was clean and modern, the service was good and the location was perfect. It was a bit pricey, but it was a fantastic experience and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bizstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Bizstice,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I’m so thrilled to hear you took advantage of our central location, and that overall you had a fantastic experience. Listening to reviews like yours is an opportunity to better the hotel and our services. I want to take a moment and comment on the issues you encountered so future travelers are in-the-know. First and foremost, the complimentary wi-fi, by all means is one of the most important amenities we include to all of our guests and we know it is essential that it is easily accessible and reliable. We are currently in the midst of a project to double the routers on every floor which should ensure a better signal and faster connection for every guest. Secondly, I want to express that if there is anything you need as our guest, or any wish or desire during your stay, to please make it known so we can make it happen for you. We had not heard anyone request the anti-bacterial gel nor have I seen this yet at other hotels, but we will keep your suggestion on hand in case this turns out to be something our guests should want. Actually, we are in the midst of discussing the possibility of eliminating the minibars in favor of empty refrigerators. If there are any travelers who would like to comment on this, your feedback would be most appreciated. Just send me a comment via TripAdvisor, Facebook, or via email address below. In the meantime, we have several empty mini refrigerators available on request, so I have already made a note on your guest profile to have that in your room for your next visit. TripAdvisor travelers, when you’re making your reservation on our website we have many options to customize your stay, and by the way, please enjoy our TRIP special offer code for a great deal.

Finally, we are so proud of our historic 1912 building and all of its beautiful architecture which does come with some quirks, like the elevators you mention. I can assure you our elevators are constantly maintained, inspected and meet all NYC regulations, while still holding the charm we so love!

Thank you again for your remarks; they are helpful insights. Should you or any other future guests have any questions or comments, you are welcome to contact me at Robert@libraryhotel.com.

Thanks and all the best,
Robert Rawlins
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Library Hotel. The staff is exceedingly helpful and friendly. Our room was comfortable and immaculate. I happily lingered in the reading room where the complimentary breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese are served. The Library Hotel is located within walking distance to Grand Central Station, the main New York Public Library, MoMa, Time Square, and Rockefeller Center. My partner and I look forward to staying again at the Library Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet_0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing