We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Library Hotel is lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Library Hotel is lovely!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Library Hotel. The staff is exceedingly helpful and friendly. Our room was comfortable and immaculate. I happily lingered in the reading room where the complimentary breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese are served. The Library Hotel is located within walking distance to Grand Central Station, the main New York Public Library, MoMa, Time Square, and Rockefeller Center. My partner and I look forward to staying again at the Library Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet_0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,307
    599
    94
    25
    16
See reviews for
529
2,236
391
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wonderful, tastefully furnished hotel with top-notch staff. I also enjoyed the books in the room, the continental breakfast and coffee downstairs, the rooftop bar--all terrific. I would really give it 4 1/2 stars, only reason I wouldn't give it a 5 -tar rating is that I felt for the price, the room was bit small (but that isn't unusual for NYC).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank druwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I really enjoyed staying here, I had two stop over stays one coming and one going, both times they upgraded my room, which had a very comfortable bed, very clean. Bathroom was a good size, well stocked with good quality towels, bathrobes, slippers, toiletries etc. I loved the mirror in the bedroom, with points for hairdrying etc. I still fail to understand why so many expensive hotels do not have women in mind when they design dressing tables!

Breakfast was on the second floor, good selection of continental breakfast and all night tea and coffee, although I still much prefer tea making facilities in my room which they do not offer, as I was jet lagged I had to make very early morning visits to the second floor however the coffee machine was excellent and it was nice the facility was there. Complimentary papers are plentiful not that you are short of anything to read here with all the amazing books on every shelf.

Wine and cheese served here early evening.

I used the hotel restaurant for lunch and dinner and felt the food was good value for money and a good standard. Service was excellent.

I also used the bar which is not quite such good value for money, 6 glasses of house wine (although good quality came to nearly 90 dollars). We all drank different colours so not able to buy a bottle sadly. Nevertheless the service was excellent and although the bar is quite small it is comfortable and relaxed. Just over the road there is an excellent wine merchant should you want to take wine back to the room, much cheaper than the mini bar. However water is complementary which is a nice touch.

I thought the staff were incredibly polite and efficient, very helpful. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 332SMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely consider going back to it.

Location is excellent and is very close to some major attractions and Grand Central Station. They provide a taxi service to and from airports if you require it. Ask for Jose.

Staff were friendly in a very genuine way and the front desk staff were very helpful in providing maps and advice etc regarding all the big sites. They also had various vouchers for discounts at some attractions so may be worth mentioning to the staff when you arrive where you planning to visit.

The website provides all the information regarding the hotel. Each room has a theme. When booking you could request a particular theme and they will try to accommodate you. Buffet style breakfast is excellent and included in the price. A wonderful point about this hotel is that they offer complementary wine and cheese in the reading room in the late afternoon/early evening. It’s wonderful to come back to after a busy day sight seeing and it recharges you for the evening.

My girlfriend and I stayed in a queen sized room which was roomy enough for us. The room was lovely with lots of interesting and a very beautiful bathroom. Room included complementary water and also had a TV with DVD player. Hotel also had Wi-Fi.

A real gem of a hotel. Something a bit different and gets all the basics right. Very impressed and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a small hotel filled with wonder. I loved the well-appointed room, the impeccable service, the breakfast and, of course, the wine and prosecco in the afternoons. There is also a terrace where you can enjoy your morning coffee before the evening crowds make it a bit noisy, but still pleasant to visit and enjoy a drank. If you are lucky enough to find an available room on your next visit to NYC, try to book early enough and prepay, this way you can save considerable money. The location could not be better because you are close to so many attractions and everything is extremely well-kept, very clean. Very, very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YMRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois, Usa
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wonderful, unique hotel in great location near NY public library. Room was a bit small for three people but was well-appointed and comfortable. Books everywhere in hotel which is heaven for avid readers like myself. Only negative was the lukewarm service at the Madison & Vine restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantu, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Library in July for a week and we left it with regret.
We chose it because we are great readers and book lovers and the idea of a hotel / library excited us.
Set in a style building, it is in a great location just few steps from the subway at the Grand Station, from Times Square and from the famous Bryant Park: a little gem full of events open to anyone (my wife went for a morning Tai Chi lesson ).
The hotel is well furnished with a good breakfast in the reading room on the first floor, an excellent restaurant on the ground floor and a popular bar on the 14th floor with views of the surrounding skyscrapers and frequented by New Yorkers. Do not underestimate the cheese and wine buffet offered in the late afternoon and the note let every evening in the room with the weather the day after, always correct.
Our room with bathroom (the 700.001) was spacious than the average, well equipped and very clean.
All staff, from the doorman to the plumber, is friendly and happy to help their guests.
If you are traveling without a computer no problem: 2 free internet terminals are at your disposal.
Thanks again to all the staff for the pleasant stay and the Library will be our hotel for the next visit to the Big Apple.
Absolutely recommended ,it has the appropriate prices to the service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diegogro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,973 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing