We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #7 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a small hotel filled with wonder. I loved the well-appointed room, the impeccable service, the breakfast and, of course, the wine and prosecco in the afternoons. There is also a terrace where you can enjoy your morning coffee before the evening crowds make it a bit noisy, but still pleasant to visit and enjoy a drank. If you are lucky enough to find an available room on your next visit to NYC, try to book early enough and prepay, this way you can save considerable money. The location could not be better because you are close to so many attractions and everything is extremely well-kept, very clean. Very, very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YMRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,238
    592
    94
    24
    16
See reviews for
510
2,203
380
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, Illinois, Usa
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wonderful, unique hotel in great location near NY public library. Room was a bit small for three people but was well-appointed and comfortable. Books everywhere in hotel which is heaven for avid readers like myself. Only negative was the lukewarm service at the Madison & Vine restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantu, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Library in July for a week and we left it with regret.
We chose it because we are great readers and book lovers and the idea of a hotel / library excited us.
Set in a style building, it is in a great location just few steps from the subway at the Grand Station, from Times Square and from the famous Bryant Park: a little gem full of events open to anyone (my wife went for a morning Tai Chi lesson ).
The hotel is well furnished with a good breakfast in the reading room on the first floor, an excellent restaurant on the ground floor and a popular bar on the 14th floor with views of the surrounding skyscrapers and frequented by New Yorkers. Do not underestimate the cheese and wine buffet offered in the late afternoon and the note let every evening in the room with the weather the day after, always correct.
Our room with bathroom (the 700.001) was spacious than the average, well equipped and very clean.
All staff, from the doorman to the plumber, is friendly and happy to help their guests.
If you are traveling without a computer no problem: 2 free internet terminals are at your disposal.
Thanks again to all the staff for the pleasant stay and the Library will be our hotel for the next visit to the Big Apple.
Absolutely recommended ,it has the appropriate prices to the service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diegogro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I really am thinking I have found hotel nirvana, after 4 nights in the Library Hotel.

Having decided to spend the extra money to stay so centrally, the decision to upgrade to a suite was quite easy, and a great decision. The suite allowed room to unpack 3 large bags and be comfortable. The physical arrangement meant the room felt as if we were alone at the front of the floor, with windows facing onto, as well as up and down Madison Avenue gave a view that was all New York.

The breakfast was very pleasant, and the afternoon wine and cheese was well worth returning to the hotel for a break and refueling. The staff really were exceptional, and particularly the ladies who looked after the "reading room" sheer magnificence.

Location wise, this is a great place to be in New York. Walking distance to everywhere, easy transport, close to perfect.

Stay, experience, love. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hop3fullyL0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a lovely boutique hotel. Great location in the city. The staff exceeded all of my expectations. Also a nice value for the price and clever concept. The second floor reading room was my favorite space and a great rooftop space too. I loved having breakfast, afternoon treats and wine and hors d'oeuvres

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this boutique hotel in early August. The location is brilliant- really near Grand Central Station. Each room has a literary theme - we stayed in the 'Slavik' room- although quite small it was very comfortable and well furnished. Every member of staff we came into contact with was so helpful and welcoming. The complimentary breakfast and cheese/wine were delicious. We also had cocktails in the rooftop bar which is very cool! I will definitely be returning the next time I visit NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetyankees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times over the last two years and have consistently been impressed with the quality of our stay. The staff, amenities, and details make for an enjoyable hotel experience. While the rooms are not spacious, they offer comfort and cleanliness, which is exactly what we look for. Moreover, the location is ideal. Madison & Vine, located below the hotel, is a great dining option and so convenient (entrance located adjacent to the elevators). Look for mid-week deals, if you're able - we've been able to find some great discounts on rooms that make this an even more affordable midtown option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelPower so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing