We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, accommodation, amenities and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #7 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Gembrook, Australia
1 review
“Excellent location, accommodation, amenities and staff”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Library Hotel is different to every other hotel that we have stayed at around the world. Although not what would normally be classed a luxury hotel, the attentive and friendly staff, combined with the facility of the Reading Room made our stay, without doubt, the most comfortable we have had anywhere. To have an area, where at any time of the day, you could make yourself a coffee or tea, have a snack and relax with a book from one of numerous book cases turned a hotel into home. The serving of wine and cheese every afternoon in the Reading Room was an added touch made all the more delightful by the attentive and friendly staff.
Our queen size room was excellent, and the continental breakfast well above the usual fare. The prime location and small size of the hotel added further to its attraction.

Room Tip: Suggest that queen size room would suit most as it is quite large, but if you don't mind a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,238
    592
    94
    24
    16
See reviews for
510
2,203
380
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Overall our stay was excellent, and my "cons" are fairly minor quibbles--highly recommended!

Pros:

LOCATION: Midtown, just a block from Grand Central Station; it's incredibly easy to walk out the front door of the hotel, hop on the subway, and scoot around the city.

STAFF: Incredibly attentive, friendly, and professional; we never had to wait for help, and they were eager to assist with bags, answer questions, etc. without being overbearing. While we were there we actually had a leak in our bathroom. The hotel offered to move us to another room (we declined, it wasn't that big of a deal), and when we came back to the room at the end of the day the leak was fixed, the bathroom cleaned, and we had a note of apology, a bottle of wine, and two glasses waiting for us. Classy!

SECOND FLOOR: Restrooms, computer station, and a sitting room with lots of continental breakfast options in the morning and snacks/coffee/tea available throughout the day. The sitting room features free wi-fi, reading materials, plenty of space, and is a quiet spot where guests can relax--we sat there for a few minutes and enjoyed a quick rest/snack both before checking in and after checking out. The hotel has no seating in the lobby otherwise and the rooms are tiny, so this is a great space for planning the day or catching one's breath between outings.

Cons:

DECOR: Maybe not a con per se, but the "library" theme was not carried out to the point where it should be a selling point for staying there. It features so prominently in their marketing that I suppose I was a little underwhelmed by that aspect of the hotel.

ROOM SIZE: We were traveling as a couple so it was fine, and of course when in NYC you shouldn't be hanging out in your room that much anyways, but if you are at all claustrophobic be warned that the rooms (at least ours, a FULL SIZE BED room) are pretty tiny.

ROOF: This was the only point I found confusing--the hotel literature encourages guests to use the rooftop lounge and patio at their leisure, but when you get to the top floor and step off the elevator you are greeted by a hostess and bartender. We just wanted to hang out on the roof deck and enjoy the view without being obligated to order drinks, but felt awkward about doing so. Rather than being a quiet, private space for guests to relax, the top floor is a bar/lounge open to the general public.

ROOM FRIDGE: So stocked with mini-bar wares there was no space for us to store anything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Brian C,

Thank you for providing so much feedback! I’m happy to hear your overall stay was an enjoyable one and that you especially enjoyed our central location, thoughtful staff and the Reading Room and all of our wonderful amenities. Regarding your comment on the execution of the concept, I appreciate you sharing and I will keep those thoughts in mind as we look for more ways to express the library concept. We are always careful not to go overboard. Ultimately we want to maintain the integrity of the theme.

Most of our rooms either have a Queen or a King sized bed, but the room you booked was a Petite Room with one full size bed. As the name indicates, it is small. We are very careful to mention on our website that our Petite Rooms are just 200 square feet and that the bed is 54” X 75.” We recommend it for singles and those couples who are comfortable with sharing a smaller bed. We strive to be very forthcoming on our website so we include a multimedia tour (also available on the TripAdvisor Site), floor plans, room dimensions, and exact bed size, with lots of photos so that everyone has a very clear idea of what to expect when you arrive at the hotel. As you may know, space is certainly at a premium in New York City and at many hotels, room size is limited. While we can't change the size of our rooms, we want to ensure that guests have all the information needed to book a room that will be most comfortable for them. To give our guests additional space, we offer 3 common spaces not including the lobby, the Reading Room, Writers Den and Poetry Garden are designed to be an extension of your space to enjoy until you are ready to go to sleep.

As you mention, the rooftop Writers Den and Poetry Garden becomes a bar in the evening and is open to the public every day after 4pm. For many years we did not operate a bar on the roof and time and time again we heard from guests like yourself how wonderful it would be if there was some sort of cocktail service there. Now fast forward a few more years and yes it has become a popular neighborhood attraction as rooftop bars tend to be, but our guests are always given first priority, whether you intend to order drinks or not. We also encourage our guests to take the complimentary wine we offer in the Reading Room from 5-8pm up to the roof and enjoy it there. I will say that due to the popularity of the bar it is often at capacity and even customers who are willing to pay may not find any space. Your comment has sparked a discussion regarding the best way for us to utilize this very popular space as we want to ensure that all of our guests feel welcome and at home on our rooftop.

Finally. for guests looking to make special requests, such as an empty mini refrigerator in the room, our website invites travelers to customize their stay by selecting this option and many others when you are making your reservation. You can also advise us of your request any time prior to your arrival or or even during your stay with us. We encourage any future guest to let us know what we can do to make your stay more comfortable. If you have any questions or comments it would be my pleasure to help.

All the best,
Robert Rawlins
Director of Sales & Marketing
Robert@libraryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Library Hotel is a wonderful hotel in the heart of New York City. The rooms are numbered using the Dewey Decimal System have shelves of books. From the moment we arrived at the door, everything was taken care of and we felt right at home! In looking for a great hotel several things are important to me. First, I want good coffee in the morning. I made sure a Starbucks was close by, but The Library Hotel had a fantastic coffee/cappuccino/latte machine that could be accessed all day, so I never went to the other place. They also had pastries, cookies and breakfast. We missed the wine and cheese reception in the afternoon in order to get to Yankee Stadium. Secondly is service. Everyone at The Library Hotel was helpful. They told us the exact train to get to and from the stadium and it was a breeze! Grand Central Station was maybe 2 blocks away. Even at midnight, we felt safe walking back to the hotel. There were still a lot of people out in the middle of the week! Thirdly, is cleanliness and comfort. This hotel is spotless and the bed and pillows were the best I've ever slept on! We had a great room looking down Madison Avenue. We even had a bottle of champagne in our room to celebrate our anniversary. Thank you to the manager and everyone working at the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dana52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I am reviewing this hotel again because it is our choice as an incredibly wonderful place and the only place to stay in New York. The breakfast is wonderful but even more wonderful are the staff at breakfast and the guests. Being greeted by a smiling and eager to please staff is a wonderful way to start the day in New York. The reading material to say the least is superb. Interesting guests too. Who could ask for more? My advice this time is about making reservations. You should call the desk. Great service! Armand at the desk has helped me and spent time working out exactly what we want and any deals available. We have two visits booked, September and Christmas. We love the junior suites in this hotel.The reading materials, the staff, the comfort, the location all rate an A+++++, Armand too. Call early to get the room you want as this hotel fills quickly! I even call six months in advance.

Room Tip: The king junior suites are our favorite. Incredible really large room and sitting area, large bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccunnin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a wonderful 5 nights in this boutique Hotel. The location was great for allowing us to walk most places we wanted to. The staff were very friendly and helpful. the room was small but very clean and well appointed. The breakfast was beautiful, fresh and plentiful. The complementary drinks/wine/cheese/nibbles between 5-8pm were amazing and a great way to relax after a busy day and meet other travelers. Our only complaint (which is minor really) would be the very slow lift service! We would definitely stay here again next time we visit again. We also enjoyed the roof top terrace bar to relax after dinner and a busy day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonsNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I love the concept of this hotel! I'm a book nerd, so I might be a little biased with this review. The hotel staff were some of the best I've ever encountered. There was a little leak on my floor, but they managed it well, and were very accommodating. It's a quaint place, very classy and well thought out. Great location. I plan on staying here every time I visit NYC.

Room Tip: Only choose the queen bed room if you're comfortable in tiny spaces (I am).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_girlK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a wonderful two nights at the library hotel. The entire staff was so friendly and helpful taking care of all our requests, setting up car services, helping with directions, etc. We arrived well before check in and the staff brought us up to the amazing free breakfast so we wouldn't miss it. The wine and cheese at night was lovely. The friendliness of the staff was one of the best parts! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelPower so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing