We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING IN EVERY FACET”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Aireys Inlet, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING IN EVERY FACET”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel with excellent facilities, ideally located in Midtown New York City. Our room was stylish,comfortable and quiet. The staff are exemplary. Excellent quality breakfast that was also plentiful as was the wine and cheese provided in the evening. This was the ideal base for our week in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,273
    596
    94
    25
    16
See reviews for
524
2,214
387
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Library Hotel was a real pleasure. The rooms, albeit small although I had taken a room larger than the standard size, are very comfortable and very well maintained. The beds are a pleasure to sleep in.

The breakfast area is very nice and the staff super. The choice from the breakfast buffet is just what you need to start your day. Hats off to their automatic coffee machine which grinds the beans and seems almost as big as my oven at home. It makes great cappuccino!

One of my favorite things about the hotel was the terrace bar on the rooftop. It was a perfect end to the day after walking around the city and needing to rest and relax. Very attentive staff.

The hotel's location in midtown is perfect. I walked to my Broadway shoes off Times Square, to Central Park and to prime shopping areas from the hotel.

The only problem that I had was with the car that I ordered from the hotel to pick me up at JFK. In the hotel's defense, they use a livery service but the price advertised on the hotel's website was $97 which was to include tip, tolls and airport parking. The driver tried to charge me an extra $30 on top of the announced price. I refused to pay and went into the hotel and spoke with the front desk representative who called the livery service and straightened out the issue for me. It wasn't a pleasant start to my visit but the rest of the experience in the hotel made up for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNCParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Library Hotel is an incredible jewel hiding in plain sight on a corner in Manhatten. It's our quiet refuge in the Big Apple. We enjoy it all: the Continental breakfast (with hard-boiled eggs & fresh fruit!), wine & cheese time in the evening, and the playful library theme that even extends to murals in the stairwells. I honestly couldn't think of a way they could be any better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almabeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This place is fantastic. Perfectly set close to things but far enough away that it's not too noisy. Breakfast is great. Food always available. Front desk staff fantastic and helpful. Rooms small but lovely. I couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The room I stayed in was smaller than the average room that I get in other hotels but this is NYC and space is it a premium. Larger rooms are certainly available. The two best things about this place were the location(so close to grand central and the heart of the city) and the amenities. The reading room they have is awesome. Open 24 hours with coffee, tea, pastries and fruit available all the time. They also provided passes to the gym a few blocks away which was great since on average the gyms in hotels are not very extensive. The breakfast was also great, they had a good selection of different foods(I have been to hotels where you get cereal and toast and that is it)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the beginning of May. After the first night, my daughter and I both commented that the bed was hard. One call to the front desk and they had a mattress topper put on for us. We slept very well for the rest of our stay. Breakfast was good and plentiful and the wine and cheese in the evening was a nice treat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Viviana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our second stay at the Library Hotel and we will be back! Walking distance to theatres makes it the perfect location for our needs. Always clean and librarians are friendly & helpful. Breakfast and evening wine/cheese room adds to the charm and overall friendly ambiance. Resting in between the hustle and bustle of NYC events either with the always available cup of coffee or tea & snacks or at the rooftop bar causes us to feel we are in our home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjd2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing