We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our second stay at the Library Hotel and we will be back! Walking distance to theatres makes it the perfect location for our needs. Always clean and librarians are friendly & helpful. Breakfast and evening wine/cheese room adds to the charm and overall friendly ambiance. Resting in between the hustle and bustle of NYC events either with the always available cup of coffee or tea & snacks or at the rooftop bar causes us to feel we are in our home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjd2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,141
    570
    93
    24
    16
See reviews for
496
2,137
372
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Library Hotel, good location, very comfortable room, staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The wine and cheese reception every evening was a great way to relax. We stayed on the 10th Floor in a deluxe room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank tsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located on Madison ave for a city tour. Rooms are ok, average size for Manhattan (too small for other cities;), but the bathroom is tiny!
Very nice design of the hotel & the rooms.
There is a breakfast included in the room rate, but we did not like it- the choice was too limited: no hot dishes at all.
The service was good, but what was surprising -is that concierge refused to check us in for our flight.
So to sum up: there is nothing special about this hotel, it's definitely not a 5-star one (a good 4* -I would say) so for us it was a surprise that it's a number one for NY in TA rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear ks_bazhenova,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I think your comments about our property as a good four star and about what we offer are an accurate reflection of what people can expect as our guest. We are not an opulent five star hotel, nor do we claim to be. We are a small boutique hotel and from our lobby, to our roof garden, to our Reading Room and our guest rooms travelers will find an intimate and charming environment. Careful never to exaggerate, we go to great lengths to communicate the exact sizes of our rooms by listing both the square feet and meters as well as a floor plan of each room type along side high quality images to give you the most accurate preview. We also make great effort to describe all of our signature complimentary amenities included with your stay such as the continental breakfast buffet. I truly feel that we offer a wide selection that gives a healthy and very “New York” style continental breakfast including hard boiled eggs, yogurts, hot oatmeal, a selection of cold cereals, assorted Danish, scones, muffins and bagels, butter, cream cheese, peanut butter and jams, fresh whole fruits and fruit salad, a selection of international coffees, teas and juices (and soy milk and gluten free options are available on request).

Our concierge team is available for any request and is dedicated to making your stay more comfortable and your time in New York City the best it can be. When it comes to check-ins for flights we are of course happy to help, but really wish to express that it is an important last step in your travel with the airlines and we do not want even the most simple miscommunication or error to cause even the slightest disappointment, if for example, you did not receive the seat assignment you desired. We urge guests to use our complimentary business center to take care of these arrangement, but of course, we can assist you by going through it together at the Front Desk. In light of your comment, we will ensure that our staff know they can offer assistance as long as they are side by side with the guest and the guest is approving the process as it goes through. I am sorry if at any time you felt the concierge did not have your best interests at heart. In fact, they love to please guests, which is the real reason we rank so highly on TripAdvisor!

The wonderful thing about being in the top of the list on TripAdvisor is that it introduces our small hotel to thousands of travelers looking for a unique experience. Many of the hotels in the top rankings are not five star hotels, but properties of every level who strive to offer their guests five star level of value and service.

If you or any other members of TripAdvisor have any questions or comments I am happy to answer them directly at Robert@libraryhotel.com

All the best,
Robert Rawlins
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel has a nice theme , unfortunately they take their name to seriously as they expect you to log into a book rather than your smart phone, computer, or any other internet device you own.
Dont get me wrong the staff was very helpful especially as they came up with excuses as to why the internet was such a horror. I travel to the city on business frequently and decided to give this hotel a shot. If your one who is traveling on business and need access to the internet i would stay away as you will find it impossible to do work. THIS INTERNET IS VERY VERY VERY SLOW!

On a side note it is waaaaaay over priced for these little rooms, especially when combined with no internet. ALSO ONE MORE TIME THER INTERNET IS A " INTERNET HORROR"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank derek r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear derek r,

I am so sorry to hear your frustration and to learn you had such a problem while staying with us. We do understand that the internet is not a luxury but a necessity when traveling in order to stay connected to business associates as well as friends and family. In the first week of April, we did experience an issue with our connectivity which we handled with a short term fix and what we hope will be a successful long term solution. For the long term solution, once we became aware of certain rooms struggling with weakened Wi-Fi signals, we examined the locations of the routers and we added more access points per floor to strengthen those weak spots. It has been going well since then so I think this is resolved. In case of any problems, we have devices available upon request called a MiFi which, are mobile wireless hotspots that use 3G services to bring the internet to devices such as laptops, iPads, and iPhones. These devices are a life saver!

If you wouldn't mind, I would really like to speak with you to get a bit more information, such as when you stayed, and in which room, what devices were you using, etc, and if you mentioned your issue and were given a MiFi. We really appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with us. We know how important it is to stay connected which is why we provide complimentary wifi in all our rooms and public spaces. As is the case with all technology, it does not always work perfectly. But with your additional feedback we would like to see how the problem was handled and learn how we can improve our recovery service in the future.

If you would be willing, please feel free to reach me by phone or by email at Robert@libraryhotel.com. I hope to hear from you and to have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we may show you the full level of service and comfort every guest deserves. Any other TripAdvisor member that has questions on this issue, or that I may assist in any way, I would welcome your call or email.

All the best,
Robert Rawlins
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
331 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

One could easily make a long, long list of the reasons this is such a great hotel. Let's begin when you enter the building. The people who greet you are just wonderful. Friendly, welcoming and making sure you're glad you arrived. The rooms are small but luxurious, the library itself is so comfy and the snacks and drinks available make you feel more than at home.
To top it all off, the rooftop bar is one of the most romantic and quiet spots in Manhattan. A must place to visit if you're not staying there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a wonderful experience. Centrally located bouutique hotel in the heart of mid town Manhattan. The hotel staff is friendly, courteous, extremely helpful and professional.Truly a class act. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our reservation was upgraded - so what a terrific surprise to have a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
384 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I love this hotel. It is around the corner from Grand Central Station. Rooms are small but it is New York. It is like Las Vegas, use it to sleep, shower, and change cloths. The high light is the second floor lounge open 24 hrs a day. After a long day of touring, it was nice to stop in get a snack and hot cocoa. I never slept better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing