We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this very nice smaller hotel with good location on Midtown Manhattan and its extremely friendly and service minded staff. Ok room except for some noisy air conditioning. We enjoyed the free wine and cheese in the evening. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skineser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,307
    599
    94
    25
    16
See reviews for
529
2,236
391
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our first trip to NYC and we were thrilled with our accommodations. It was so cozy in the reading room and loved being surrounded by all the books inside and the wonderful views outside. Breakfast was tasty and loved the coffee machine with all its assortments! Location was ideal and after an evening out loved coming home to the rooftop bar. Library Hotel is a definite recommendation to all our friends and associates.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnye8350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here because it was close to the Public Library where I was doing some work. Although it was very pricey, it was fabulous - love being surrounded by books - all interesting and intriguing. Would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My Husband and I have been to New York quite a few times and have stayed in many different hotels, but we were absolutely blown away with everything at this lovely hotel!
The staff are so friendly, and not in a false American way of 'have a nice day' but genuinely happy to help and chat to you, and you can ask them anything you need to know without it being too much trouble!
The petite room we had was arranged beautifully and very clean. The breakfast was a lovely bonus and to come back mid afternoon and be able to have a cup of tea and biscuits was heavenly. The cheese and wine were amazing and you also were offered prosecco and believe me when I say you never ever get anything like this in other New York hotels! We will definitely stay again and thank you so much to the lovely staff for making our Nine days special!!

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor when booking and were given the tenth floor (out of fourteen)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed for three nights in early April. Ideal location in Midtown, close to Grand Central. Room met expectations: size, decor and comfort. Breakfast: choice of cereal, bagel, orange juice, hard boiled eggs and muffin was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. Chilled water, wine, cheese and biscuits in the Reading Room between 5 and 8 pm was a bonus. Fantastic view from the rooftop terrace. Gym session at NYSC at 200 Madison courtesy of the hotel.

Minor quibble: I was on the eighth floor but street noise audible from 5 am, but at least there was no risk of oversleeping.

I have no hestitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went there to celebrate our 5th Anniversary and was wonderful!
The staff is very nice and always ready to help!
The rooms are very confortable and extremly clean; and the location excellent!!!
We are looking foward to come back!
We really recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The New York Times was right in describing the lovely Library hotel as stylish, sleek and geeky. We loved the book theme. We're a family of five that had two interconnecting rooms and stayed 8 nights. The rooms are modern and stylish. The standard rooms are small however the suite sized rooms are large and look out to the New York Public Library. The rate includes breakfast, all day coffee and pastries, an amazing cheese and wine couple of hours in the evening and hot chocolate and biscuits for supper. This all occurs in a very stylish reading room and you're encouraged to linger. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The location is fabulous next to Grand Central Station. Any part of New York is a quick train ride away. The hotel is central to many landmarks including Broadway and Times Square and next to the beautiful Bryant park. We also walked to many amazing restaurants and would recommend the Bryant Park Grill and Placido Domingo's restaurant Pampano. We had a fabulous time and look forward to staying again at this stylish, friendly boutique hotel.

Room Tip: The corner rooms looking out towards the New York Public Library have a great outlook and are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RueHampden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,971 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing