We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel. Very good for the price range.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel location is very good. Close to Grand Central Station.
Service in the Hotel is excellent. St the 2nd floor, you can have coffee&tea and some donuts kind a food.
During my stay, every day evening, they have wine party(?) for free.
Breakfast is continental style. Food is same for every day. Therefore, you can be littl tired of hotel breakfast. But, it is still a good breakfast.
Every one working for this Hotel is friendry. Fortunately, I did not see any rude person at all.
I think I will consider staying in this Hotel if I have oppotunity to visit New York again.
I really enjoyed my first New York thanks to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipper18152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,086 - 2,092 of 4,133 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for 10nights in April. Rooms were well appointed and clean. The library on the second floor was fantastic - 24hour tea / coffee / snacks and fresh fruit. Staff were wonderful. Felt like home away from home.
Convenient location next to grand central station. Short walk to NY public library and Bryant Park. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Library Hotel is beautiful and filled with the finest details. From the high ceilings in the bedroom to the pristine subway tiles in the shower, the design of this boutique hotel is like a grand masterpiece, like stepping back in time. The beds are luxurious and the restaurant decadent. An elegant escape...worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvdh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Checked into the LIbrary Hotel in mid-town Manhattan last Sunday night, and even though I was arriving via a last-minute, budget-app so wasn't paying anywhere near rack rate, I couldn't have been greeted more warmly by all front-line staff. And it was an attitude carried out during my entire stay. Warm smiles and offers to assist in any way go a long way toward making a hotel a home. I had a small room, but everything I need was there--free Wi-fi, great towels & linens, top-shelf bathroom amenities and great water pressure. Next visit, I'll build in enough time to relax in the gorgeous rooftop garden (pictured).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavTGrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Finally! A hotel with a vision that encompasses every aspect of its hotel, decor, service and location. It is luxurious, elegant, perfectly located and the wonderful library theme pervades every corner. Some reviewers have complained about the size of the room - but I had a deluxe queen room which had more than enough space. The hotel breakfast is good, and the complimentary wine and cheese in the evenings is excellent. However, by far the best aspect of the hotel is the service from the staff. I stayed at several high quality hotels during my trip to the US, but none even came close to providing the level of service that The Library does. In particular Timothy Gerhold was absolutely brilliant in helping me to arrange the right room for my stay and to make me feel like a welcomed guest. Well done Library - you're something very special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodJohnButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We truly felt like the team at the Library Hotel were part of our family. They all greeted us by name and made a point of acknowledging our daughter, which rarely happens; these guys truly know how to make you feel welcome.

We stayed for 6 nights and upon arrival back to the hotel each night we were encouraged to share what we had done for the day and plan the next day with helpful tips from the staff. They made us feel like they were enjoying our holiday as much as we were.

Our mornings would begin with a lovely breakfast, served by the delightful Maria. The complimentary cheese and wine evenings were great for unwinding and meeting other guests.

I cannot speak more highly of the staff at the Library Hotel; from Tim (the Manager) to all the front desk staff, the housekeeping and hospitality staff. It is obvious the LIbrary Hotel has a focus on staff development and training because it has reflected in outstanding customer care and client focus.

The Library Hotel has a great location, its within walking distance from Grand Central Station, Time Square and Central Park. If you are thinking of visiting NYC and want to stay in a safe and friendly environment then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellsie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed for seven nights and I was very impressed. The hotel takes care of the little things that many in NYC seem to miss. Free WiFi, free breakfast and free cheese and wine in the evenings really did make the place feel that much more welcoming. The hotel has bags of character and the staff were nothing but helpful. The rooms were very nice as was the restaurant downstairs. The hotel is within a 2 minutes walk of Grand Central, the public library and right across from Benjamin Steakhouse - a must visit!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeyJeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 469 in New York City
434 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,067 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $279 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing