We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and intimate wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #7 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chic and intimate wedding”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

FIrst of all, I would like to thank the event coordinator at The Library Hotel for making our special day perfect! My hubby and I were married there this past fall on the rooftop terrace. Absolutely lovely is all I can say. My friends and family had a great time and enjoyed the beautiful views of the city as well as the outstanding service. The wedding was catered by Madison & Vine, which is located downstairs and they did an excellent job with coordination and professionalism. I am very big on client service and of course, with this being my wedding, I was even more anxious about finding a place that provided outstanding service. We had our ceremony and our reception on the rooftop space. My husband and I both loved the place, it was the only place that my hubby liked when we went looking for spaces for our wedding. We also stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. The rooms are clean and the room service is outstanding. I also must say that they entire staff at the hotel was delightful to work with. We will definitely stay there again and are even thinking about booking a room there to celebrate our one year anniversary! It may be a little difficult to find some time alone as my hubby and I are now expecting twins this spring! But we will see;-D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,235
    592
    94
    24
    16
See reviews for
510
2,201
380
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
arlington, ma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

As a fairly cranky business traveler, I have been really surprised by the fabulousness of The Library. I have stayed here about 4 times, and it is always a total pleasure. Here is why:
Location: Midtown, close to lots of things
Service: The doorman always has my bag out of the cab before I have even figured out what I am doing with the tip! Super helpful without being obsequious. Lovely guys.
Room: Small but very posh. I won't lie, the rooms are really small. But I have three windows, the decor is extremely nice, the amenities are top drawer, there is an honor bar in the room, it is quiet, the bedding is super nice, free wi-fi, what more could you want?? Plus the library theme is very clever with excellent beautiful graphics.
Extras: There is a sunny (!!!) room on the second floor which hosts a lovely European breakfast (minus the cheeses and hams, more's the pity) as well as a daily wine and appetizer event. Who does this anymore?? Very comfy, elegant, friendly.
Food: Not sure about room service having never used it, but there is a nice little restaurant on the ground floor, a wine bar really, that serves wonderful wines and very good lunches. A little pricey but worth it after a long flight. Nice atmosphere and people watching.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pilker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at Library Hotel for a family vacation and all I can say is the best hotel I have ever been. The location, the service, the decoration, the cleanliness, the atmosphere, everything is perfect. I will sure visit it again o my next trip to New York.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My daughter and I have stayed here twice for our mother/ daughter weekend trips to New York. We like the quiet location that is still within walking distance of almost everything that we were going to see. My daughter loves the book theme and enjoys the rooftop area that is relaxing. The rooms are small but very well done with comfortable beds, and very nice bathrooms. Each room has books for the theme of the room. For our return visit, we were upgraded to a larger room and this was so kind and very much appreciated. Staff is helpful and pleasant. 2nd floor breakfast is included and is a definite advantage. Very much reminds me of some of the boutique style hotels in Europe. My daughter and I walked to our theater shows from here and to Penn Station for our train rides. We always felt safe and the walks were almost always about 20 minutes. We will be back next year for our same mother/ daughter trip and wouldn't think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mshtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our very first trip to New York, so that my daughter could attend an NYU campus tour. The hotel is everything described on it's website and more! We stayed in the Deluxe Queen room, and took advantage of the "Book Lovers" promotion. Even before our arrival, their team of concierges offered several ideas for things to see and do during our stay. They also arranged for a car service to pick us up at the airport, and this was well worth the additional cost (over a taxi) in order to be whisked right from the airport to the hotel. Alvin showed us to our 10th floor room, and was very friendly and helpful in answering all our questions! The room itself was very clean and at the end of the hall, with a view of Madison Avenue. The clever use of mirrors made the room seem much larger. The bathroom was super clean and spacious, with great products. I loved that the window in the room opened a bit. We loved the minibar, and the prices were surprisingly reasonable. We had breakfast each morning (included in the room rate) on the 2nd floor, and enjoyed fresh fruit salad, yogurt, bagels, coffee, etc. Everything was well stocked and delicious. The rooftop bar and terrace is also really amazing. We also ordered room service several times, and the food was delivered quickly, and was also delicious. We felt very safe and secure at this hotel, and liked its central location in Manhattan. On the way to the airport at the end of our stay, I realized that I had accidentally left some personal items in the room safe. There was no way we had time to return to the hotel and still make our flight, but one call to Jessica at the front desk, and she had the items retrieved and sent to me via overnight delivery. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who values location, security and cleanliness in a hotel.

Room Tip: We liked the high floor and end room. The Queen Deluxe was perfect size for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilona06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed for more. Complimentary breakfasts and wine and cheese in the evenings in the reading room were delightful. Customer service was the best I have received from a hotel in NY. Rooftop bar was absolutely fantastic with the greatest cocktail menu I have come across.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

my husband and I spent 2 nights in this small delightful hotel. Our room the deluxe double was quite small but it was adequate and the furniture was comfortable and fittings good quality. Having coffee and pastries available all day and the cheese and wine served in the evening was a nice touch. The day we left they stored our luggage until we needed to leave the city and suggested we could help ourselves to the coffee etc.. when we returned to collect our luggage in the afternoon. The staff helped with advice on transport & restaurants (definitely go to the Madison Bistro if you like French food), even small change for the bus!..We will definitely return to enjoy the roof top room and garden in warmer weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing