We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The personal touch in Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #5 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The personal touch in Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We recently spent five nights in Manhattan and, after a lot of research, decided to stay at the Library Hotel. We wanted to find a boutique hotel with personalized service and we were not disappointed. We selected a queen deluxe room, as we are aware of the diminutive nature of midtown basic hotel rooms. It was good-sized (by Manhattan standards) and fit our needs. The room numbers are based on the Dewey decimal system, and we were in 900.005 (Geography & History). Our traveling companions were in a suite next to our room with a spectacular view of Madison Avenue. Every hotel employee was friendly and went above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. On the second floor, the hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast that is very nice, including fresh fruit, juice, yoghurt, fresh breads, pastries cereals, plus a sophisticated self-serve espresso- cappuccino machine. The teas and coffees are available all day, along with pastries and cookies. These provide a welcome respite after a hard day of shopping or sightseeing. In the evening, they provide a wine (white, red and sparkling varieties) and cheese reception free of charge. The wines are inexpensive but tasty. Although the hotel is not cheap ($500+per night), the freebies take some of the sting out of the cost. I highly recommend this hotel for those who prefer more intimate accommodations in the Big Apple.

Don’t miss the view from the 14th Floor cocktail lounge.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and upgrade to a Queen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffcurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,859
    521
    86
    22
    14
See reviews for
421
1,952
344
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis, mn
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel presents a difficult choice: a reasonable (for New York) rate and a very small room and smaller bed; or a larger rate for a larger room. The staff is great; the location convenient; and the breakfast nice. Before staying here again, I would look hard at other hotels offering better value.

Room Tip: Pay more for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rovinglawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I arrived at the hotel early in the morning. We though we would have to leave our luggage at the hotel and come back later in the day because I was sure our room wouldn’t be ready that early. But to my surprise, they had our room ready for us at 6:00 in the morning!! It was great to be able to freshen up after a long flight before heading out for the day. The staff was truly amazing!! They gave us a great restaurant recommendation. The hotel is within walking distance to Times Square and Central Park. We stayed in the Petite room and it was a prefect size for the two of us. The breakfast was wonderful and we also used the business center to print out our boarding passes when we were leaving. We'll never stay anywhere else in NYC!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_Sim80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Library hotel was a fabulous place to wait out Hurricane Sandy. What was originally a 3 night business trip quickly became a week's mandatory holiday. The staff at the Library Hotel are professional, friendly and helpful. Due to the storm and flight cancellations, we extended my stay twice. Nothing was too much trouble for those at the desk, especially Jessica and Billy, to assist us. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It was a quiet refuge and we felt lucky to be so well looked after.

Room Tip: Evening wine and cheese are a great way to unwind. Breakfast is also good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMTGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed here twice now and loved it. The location is brilliant, service is excellent and amenities are just what you need after a days walking around New York! Just up from Grand Central station and within easy walk to Fifth Ave and Broadway (although a bit further!). As I was by myself I stayed in a petite room - but it had all I could want.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just returned having had a fabulous stay at the Library Hotel. Our room was a good size and for New York really quiet. The included breakfast had a wide selection on offer and the staff were happy to help.
The location ensures good connections to subway, buses and even shuttles to all airports.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor which was high enough to avoid too much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinandAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a small very comfortable hotel with a nice restaurant and a bar on the top floor. Very close to central station and Bryant Park. I got an upgrade to a very nice suite with views on Madison Avenue. Good service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quintin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,862 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,070 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#10 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#4 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,005 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Property: Library Hotel
Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing