We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petite hotel in great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
lilibird
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Petite hotel in great location!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a very small (in every way) hotel that is very centrally located and makes going any where in the city easy. A classic boutique hotel that was beautifully renovated and is very well maintained. Very friendly and helpful staff will assist you with any needs. The rooms are tiny but nicely decorated and very clean. Great breakfast/coffee lounge and beautiful rooftop bar. It's a very quiet, cozy hotel and a nice place to return to after running around the city.

Room Tip: There's not a lot of choice of rooms so you just have to go with how many people will be in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,307
    599
    94
    25
    16
See reviews for
529
2,236
391
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fishkill, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

OK, I AM a librarian, so staying here has been on my bucket list since they opened, but am always wary of those marketing those old librarian stereotypes. I'm also from NY, so I have pretty picky standards. To make it "worse", I'm a public servant without extra $ to toss around. This hotel surprised the heck out of me. PERFECT walking location, tasteful and well planned interiors (We booked a petite room, but had more drawer and counter space than rooms I've stayed that we twice as large), a literary theme throughout the entire hotel that was elegantly executed, and amazing service. Do not miss the breakfast, where REAL NYC bagels are served, a wait staff is on the ball, and all is fresh. The evening wine and cheese reception is also very well put together, courteous staff top off prosecco, red and white wine and give you a wonderful pre-dinner experience. Desk staff and bell staff helped us with our purchases, allowing us to take full advantage of shopping. Our room faced 41st and we didn't hear any noise. The room was CLEAN- very well maintained. So glad I finally made it here!! We will return!

Room Tip: Stay on 41st, not Madison side- less car and foot traffic will give you a quiet night. Don't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

From the moment we booked the Library Hotel, we felt like a valued guest receiving periodic emails, confirming our reservation and looking forward to hosting us.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by exceptionally welcoming and helpful staff. We spent 5 nights at the Library Hotel, celebrating our wedding anniversary.

Our room was immaculately presented, and extremely comfortable, a cute touch was the complimentary bottle of wine and note acknowledging our wedding anniversary.

The Library Hotel's location is central to many things, only a stone's throw from Grand Central Station, Bryant Park, The Public Library and about 10 minutes walk, to the Famous Times Square - a definite must see, both day & night!

Breakfast is included, fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, bagels, juice and real espresso coffee! WiFi (wireless internet access) was available In Room and in the "Reading Room", which also offered complimentary refreshments, and pastries / biscuits / fresh fruit if you were feeling peckish.

We, also had FREE access to a computer and printer, which we used to book and print e-tickets for tours and Broadway Shows.

Turn down service daily, with two little Belgian chocolates, bottled water and the next day's weather report in both Fahrenheit and Celsius for us Aussies ;-)

Absolutely amazing place to stay, it felt like a home away from home! We look forward to visiting New York City again soon! and will definitely be staying at the Library Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Heisenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Library Hotel at the beginning of November 2012 for two weeks. I was in New York to work and carefully researched the multitude of midtown hotels. I wanted something not too big, neat, clean, and a hotel which had never had a report of bed bugs - a description which this hotel, thankfully, meets. But it was the connection to books, the Library and the Dewey Decimal System which really won me over before I got there.
The hotel lived up to my expectations and beyond. The staff couldn't do enough for their guests - they were so friendly, helped me out with running routes, subway directions, brought me extra hangers, Jessica in particular went out of her way to research and provide me with a full list of shows, jazz clubs and other neat things to do about town, and the breakfast and evening wine and cheese staff were also lovely - they were very kind and thanked me on my last morning.
Breakfasts were nice and the evening wine and cheese a warm, comfortable way to wind down after a day of work before going out to dinner.
Definitely the best place to stay in New York, as far as I'm concerned!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We decided to spend a little more on our New York stay, and it was well worth the money.
The Library hotel is just as nice in reality as it is in the pictures, and expecting a tiny room I was pleasantly surpised by the size of our deluxe room.
The staff of the hotel were exeptional, they were very kind and welcoming, and couldn't do enough to help you with whatever questions you might have.
But the thing that really indicates that this is a first class hotel was the fact that when Sandy hit New York and we had to extend our stay, while 1 star hotels suddenly charged $1000 for a night, we kept paying the pre-paid rate we got when booking our stay.
I won't even think about another hotel for my next New York visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We enjoyed our 5 night stay at this hotel in early November. Our double room overlooked 41st St at Madison Ave. and included a well-stocked full bathroom, room safe, desk with several drawers for storing our clothes, a nice -sized closet with an umbrella, bathrobe and slippers for 2. The room was clean and turn down service came daily - with a nice little chocolate.

Breakfast is included and there are lots of cereals, fruit salad, yoghurts, sweet rolls, juices, teas and coffee, as well as hard-boiled eggs. Staff are happy to make toast or heat a bagel. We enjoyed afternoon wine and cheese on several days and it is a good spot to read the daily NY Times which is available every morning.

I can't say enough about the location - Grand Central Terminal is less than 2 blocks away and with it the subway. Times Square is a 10 -12 minute walk. Within 2 city blocks there are a whole range of eateries at every price point - from sandwich shops on Madison to Benjamin's Steakhouse across the street to the Food Court at Grand Central with its huge variety of ethnic foods and meals.

If you have particular needs like getting tickets for a show or shopping the desk staff were only too happy to help and make arrangements, or give directions. We will certainly return on our next visit to NYC unless I win the lottery and can afford to buy a condo or coop on Park Avenue!

Room Tip: If you like books go to the Hotel web site which shows the theme of each floor and room. Select you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyurwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Enjoyed my stay here at the Library hotel, Its in a good location, easy to get a cab outside, very nice buffet breakfast, the only downside was the room size, it was tiny, even though I had upgraded the room and paid extra - they either forgot to upgrade me or the rooms really are small, anyway its New York so you won't be in the room for long anyway, so don't let that put you off.

Room Tip: Be careful of the welcome chocolate on your pillow, I didn't spot it until the next morning... l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,973 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing