We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely small hotel, but big bug in room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Library i July. The first morning on our way to breakfast I spotted a big 2 inches dead cockroach by the door in our hotel room. Went straight to the front desk, and of course they were worried and attended to the matter immediately. The cleaning lady had called it a water bug, but when I looked up water bug I am sure it was a cockroach as it had long feelers.
They offered us a new room, and because it was our last two nights of holiday we did not want to change hotel even though the thought of cockroaches appalled us. I hardly slept the next night thinking of the bug all night.

The manager and his staff did everything they could to compensate, champagne and cupcakes. And assured us that they had never had a bug problem, and they have never seen a water bug ( I believe it was a big cockroach) in the hotel ever.

The other issue we had is the terrace that was closed for business events all three days of our stay. Very disappointing as we had looked forward to breakfast on the lovely terrace. the terrace and the good reviews was our reason for booking the hotel, so not being able to enjoy the terrace for breakfast was terribly disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsholidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Mrsholidaylover,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are mortified that there was a bug in your room! Water bugs are common in the city but an extreme rarity at our hotel where we are passionate about immaculate cleanliness. We agree, they look almost identical to a roach and are equally disturbing. I am relieved to hear our staff took action to remedy the situation and make you feel comfortable finishing your stay with us in another guestroom. We deeply apologize for the discomfort you must have felt but I want you to know we take the matter very seriously. I am absolutely confident you will not have a similar experience on any future visits to our hotel.

I also want to apologize you were not able to enjoy your breakfast on our Rooftop terrace. We often have private events in the space, however it is also open in the evenings as Bookmarks Lounge to enjoy a cocktail or glass of wine. I hope you found the Reading Room just as relaxing a place to enjoy breakfast. Please stay with us again soon and hopefully you can take advantage of our rooftop then.

Should you or any other TA members have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at 212-204-5417 or Robert@libraryhotel.com.

All the best,
Robert Rawlins
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,098)
There are newer reviews for Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,246 - 2,252 of 4,098 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived at the hotel just before the storm and spent one week whic has been great despite the storm thanks to the kindness of the staff.
A very comfortable room, great breakfast and fantastic free wine&cheese from 5 to 8 pm.
This hotel is absolutly fantastic.
We shall come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Library Hotel for 7 nights in October. Excellent room (junior suite) with views up Madison Avenue. There are a large number of very positive reviews on Trip Advisor about this hotel (which was one of the reasons why I chose it for what was a special trip), and having stayed there I can now wholeheartedly agree !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived at the Library Hotel around the same time as the early first signs of "Superstorm" Sandy. We can but repeat all the positives that have been mentioned in previous posts - a very comfortable room (we had a deluxe queen which we found easily spacious enough) with a music theme and Ipod docking so we could play our own, enjoyable breakfast buffets, coffee and refreshments available 24 hours, cheese and wine each evening (a light meal in itself) but above all the helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff - in the face of adversity. Power was lost for all lower Manhatten just a block away, there was no public transport, tunnels and bridges closed, public and many other buildings closed. Despite this and an obvious concern for the safety of friends and family, the Librarians somehow showed up for work and did it positively and cheerfully.

The hotel's restaurant and top floor unfortunately, but understandably, had to close for two days so we were unable to make use of these facilities.

We imagine that many guests were spending much of their day at the hotel since the tourist attractions, shops and eateries were largely closed so the staff must have been inundated. In fact while we were waiting for a taxi on our departure the phone as ringing every few seconds with availability enquires but the reception staff offered their apologies (the hotel being full) very pleasantly.

Well done to all the staff at the Library.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel was absolutely fantastic, everything and more from what we had read and heard about it. Freindly staff that went over backwards to make you feel happy and at home. Great breakfast and the free wine and nibbles in the evenings was the icing on the cake. We had a Junior suite which had good views of Maddison Ave and 42st St, being on the 6th floor made it quieter as well. Can't say enough about this wonderfull little hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel was located 10 mins from time square. Some rooms are small but the suites are very much l...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for our first anniversary and can't recommend it enough. The staff were wonderfully helpful, the room perfect for a bibliophile like myself, the reading room was lovely as was the wine and cheese between five and eight. Good location too. Highly recommended, we will definitely be returning.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great location, nice rooms (seemed larger than the other Manhattan hotel I stayed at and much quieter). Very friendly, helpful staff. The only thing that marred my stay here was an incident with a very rude woman from room service. However the hotel has addressed the issued and apologised. As I underand it, room service is operated by the Madison and Vine restaurant and not by the hotel. Skip the room service and find somewhere else to eat. Other than that I
would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a nice hotel close to all the main attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#3 of 468 in New York City
362 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $286 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing