We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the theme”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Loved the theme”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Really great experience here in this themed hotel. The "Petit" rooms are just that - small and simple, with just what you need to crash out. Breakfast was again simple and continental - just what I needed.

We had a problem with the flush on the toilet, which was promptly fixed.

Price at $230 for the night was very reasonable by New York standards. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,204
    583
    94
    24
    17
See reviews for
507
2,175
378
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tring
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

What a find! The Library was recommended and it was a delight. Couldn't fault it. Perhaps the rooms are a little small but they were well decorated with beautiful bathrooms. Perfectly located in Mid-Town Manhattan, the hotel offers a roof terrace to chill out and free wine, tea, coffee and nibbles from mid-afternoon. The indoor-outdoor restaurant adjoining offered a great menu - if a little expensive.

What though made this hotel very special were the staff. They couldn't be more helpful and charming. Was in NY for a girls' weekend before boarding the Queen Mary back to the UK and although generally cynical, we were bowled over. Will definitely return and will recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If travelling on your own, splash out on a Queen size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandakirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Library Hotel is a lovely boutique hotel at a great location in Mid-Town Manhattan.

The best part of it was the books in the themed rooms. I was on the General Knowledge floor in the Almanacs Room. The collection of books in the room ranged from Poor Richard's Almanac through The Book of Lists 2 to The CIA Factbook. Never a dull moment and I had to force myself to go to bed. There's also a great collection of DVDs at the front desk, though I didn't get around to them.

If I have a quibble, it's that the rooms are tiny - perhaps a feature of Manhattan hotels. And the lifts are inadequate to serve all the rooms as well as the popular rooftop restaurant in the evenings (they're fine the rest of the day).

Room Tip: If you book in advance, ask for a room that has a theme you'll like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashok-Seenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC/NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

As I do many times a year, instead of running back and forth from Northern NJ (just 12 miles away) I stayed in Manhattan. This was my first time at the Library Hotel. The hotel has an excellent midtown, but not "crazy" midtown (i.e. not in the middle of Times Square) location.
It's easy to get uptown or downtown via taxi, bus or subway, or just by walking (afterall, NYC is a walkable city).

The hotel is a small boutique place (a plus) and truly does have a book/library theme per room (I loved this!). I received a special rate -- very reasonable for a nice hotel -- on the website, but was also upgraded to a slightly bigger room/higher floor without asking. A very nice touch.

The room itself was not big, but it was a decent size for Manhattan. Everything was clean and attractive. There was a good size desk -- with plenty of plugs for computer/iPad/iPhone and anything else you might need for business (it would be a nice vacation hotel too). The bathroom was especially well appointed and a good size.
The tv was small (if that matters to you) but it worked just fine.
There was plenty of closet and drawer space, two chairs, a small table, and even a full length mirror (a plus!).

The front desk staff, as well as the in-lobby staff, were extremely nice, friendly and helpful. That said, it would be a better if someone had opened the front door as people went in and out each time (that happened half the time I was there). The hotels also has all of these extras (cheese and wine events; morning coffee -- all comped -- etc.). I didn't attend because I had to be somewhere, but it's a good idea.

I would have given the hotel a 5 star but housekeeping didn't get the # of pillows I requested (in advance) right, although they did "de-feather" the room before my arrival. The housekeeping staff was also very nice, however.

Also, although they do turn down service, they did not empty the garbage baskets as part of the service. And, since it's a small hotel, it would have been a good idea if housekeeping left each room a full ice bucket (each room had an ice bucket). Still, small quibbles in the scheme of things.

In general, I was very pleased, and will certainly stay here again the next time I need to stay in NYC (and will also recommend to clients). I highly recommend this very charming hotel!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahPub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just got back from 3 night stay at this hotel. Great location for all the sights, shows and shopping. Front desk staff very helpful. We booked the queen size room, enough space for 2 of us and luggage, well -designed. Loved the 2nd floor lounge, nice place to relax after a day of walking. We will be back !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTrvlbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at the Library Hotel for 5 nights in May. From the minute we arrived the service was impeccable. Our taxi door had hardly opened when a member of reception staff welcomed us and helped with luggage. We arrived before usual check-in time and the staff couldn't have been more helpful in having our rooms ready as quickly as possible. The hotel location is excellent and couldn't have been better for us. The breakfast was lovely with a good selection and the availability of tea, coffee and pastries etc all day was great. After exhausting days seeing the fabulous sights of NYC we enjoyed the wine, cheese and snacks most evenings before venturing out! Our room was very small though very nicely appointed. Am sure we'll return and next time we'd book a larger room but aside from this the Library Hotel is something very special! Thank-you!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bigted21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and couldn't fault it. It was located just a block from Grand Central and was so handy for all the sights. Breakfast was included and free refreshments all day as well as wine, cheese and nibbles at 5pm every evening.
We bought a New York Pass for three days and found it invaluable. It saved us a fortune as well as priority queuing .
We were exhausted but happy at the end of our time and saw an awful lot of New York.

Loved every minute of it and didn't want to come home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lollo467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing