We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A jewel in midtown Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A jewel in midtown Manhattan”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I used to live in NYC, so I dreaded trying to find a hotel that would be as comfortable as my own apartment. Success! The Library Hotel is beautifully maintained; the room we had was very comfortable; the staff was cheerful and helpful; the wine/cheese in the afternoon was a delight; and the breakfast was delicious. I asked for soy milk and gluten free bread--no problem. They even got gluten free bagels!

The location is perfect for getting around town. We now have our "home away from home."

Room Tip: Junior suite is perfect for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,209
    583
    94
    24
    17
See reviews for
507
2,179
378
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I was spending time in NYC on my own and was looking for somewhere I would feel comfortable. I realy liked the reviews for the Library Hotel and it's location was also perfect for me.
Most of what I liked about the hotel has already been mentioned but I want to add that the Library Hotel is ideal for solo travellers as you are made to feel so welcome and all the staff are friendly (and genuinely so rather than putting on an act) and helpful.
I have seen a review which complained about the time taken for a bell boy to find a cab - I watched from the window as one bell boy stood on Madison Avenue for over 10 minutes putting his life at risk as he walked in front of traffic to try and hail a cab. It isn't the hotel's fault that free cabs are so difficult to find.
I am already planning my return visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehitabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We are a group of friends who visited NYC for a long weekend in May. The Library Hotel was the perfect place for us--location, local sites, proximity to transportation, breakfast every morning, snacks and beverages out all day, comfortable rooms, and a three-hour wine reception every evening. One of our party had to be at another hotel but was welcome to join us for breakfast and the evening reception. The staff is delightful--couldn't do enough to be helpful. Reservations, recommendations, hailing cabs, making toast, whatever. The hotel is small and quiet. The library theme is carried out in the guest rooms, the public rooms, lobby and even the stairway. You can't go wrong staying here!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosielopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were looking for a well positioned hotel that was small and friendly,but the Library is so much more. A very welcoming place, extremely knowledgeable staff, fabulous rooms, and after a long day siteseeing to come back to such a comfortable and relaxing place was a joy, The evening wine and cheese reception was a nice touch, as was the availability of coffee 24 hours a day. Breakfast with fresh fruit, bagels, pastries and coffee was a delight in the airy bright reading room. Loved the Library 'theme' of dark polished wood decor and shelves of books everywhere, seemed to bring a tranquility from the frantic hustle and bustle that is Manhattan.
Just around the corner was Grand central station offering easy access over New York, and Bryant Park a pretty area of green, was a lovely place to sit in the sun and people watch.
Only one down side, the 14thfloor terrace is open to the public, and each evening we were there it was very crowded, and it was obvious that it was not staffed directly by the Library,( this was confirmed by the Library Manager ) Otherwise a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, may be worth investing in a corner suite for more comfort and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenniewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife first wanted to book a room in a much bigger hotel. Thank God we didn't do that. This hotel is much more relaxed. After you spent a day in the very busy NYC streets, coming back to the Library Hotel is heaven! You can relax, have a free cup of coffee, glass of wine, etc. Rooms are very clean, staff is always happy tot help you. Go and enjoy the rooftop terrace (also for breakfast). Location is very very very good: 1 street away from 5th av (shopping!), Bryant Park, Grand Central station (subway!). What more do you want?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at the Library Hotel 16/5 - 20/5.
This hotel had to fill the expectations of our previous stay at their other hotel The Casablanca,
and i am happy to say it did.
This was a lovely hotel with all the special touches such as the fab coffee anytime of the day and the cheese and wine in the evening which my husband sampled most nights!!
A special; mention to the bellboys and the breakfast staff who always had a 'hello' and 'how was your day'.
Yes the rooms are small, but i prefer to call them cosy, the beds were extremely comfortable and the matress was a dream. The 'noise' other people experienced never woke me and i can be a light sleeper. We were in room 403.
Thankyou Library Hotel for a lovely way to spend my birthday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahNewcastle_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel 29th April to Dep 5th May 2012. Excellent location, fantastic service, friendly and obliging staff from the moment we checked in until the moment with departed. Great theme and decor. Great breakfast in the breakfast room, excellent bar/balcony on upper floor. Excellent boutique hotel of high standard. Thankyou for making our first visit to NY so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldlefty44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing