We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #7 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2012

A wonderful stay at this comfortable, friendly hotel. A fantastic location within walking distance of many of the sights, and easy metro connections to the rest via Grand Central or Bryant Park stations. I booked the hotel some time in advance and requested a high floor, with mini fridge and also let the hotel know that we were visiting as a surprise trip for my boyfriend's 30th birthday. The staff at check in were friendly and interested, asking about our trip and making small talk. Our room was a deluxe queen on the 12th floor (religion- somewhat amusing as my boyfriend is an atheist!) but was not as small as I had been led to expect and was comfortable and well appointed. I was really pleased that the hotel had been able to accommodate my requests, and delighted to find a bottle of wine and a card in the room for my boyfriend's birthday. A nice touch! The hotel offered to help us with restaurant bookings but we booked one of their recommendations ourselves and enjoyed our first night meal at Sinigual round the corner. The cheese and wine evenings were a definite bonus, and we used the service every evening for a glass of red, white or prosecco, along with nuts, cheese and olives- a lovely, classy start to any evening out on the town! I really liked the discrete service- you were left to help yourself most of the time but the friendly, courteous staff were often present to refill wine glasses and clear tables- generally going above and beyond and making you feel welcome and comfortable. The breakfast room was fairly busy at any time of the morning, but a place always became available pretty quickly, and there was always the option of taking trays of food up to the lounge on the 14th floor. Breakfasts were simple but good, with fresh fruit, cereals, bagels and pastries, tea, coffee and juice- a great way to start the day. This hotel had everything we needed to help make our trip to NYC enjoyable, from the room, to the food, to the service, to the little touches such as bathrobes, slippers and bottles of water left in the room, free wifi and video library. And while we did not have the time to read any of the books around the hotel, it was nice to have them there! The bar on the top floor is romantic and classy, with expensive but delicious cocktails- recommended! The only (minor) negative was that the evening turndown service always seemed to happen just as we had come back from a day's sightseeing and were relaxing in our room before going out for the evening, but this was a very small detail. All in all a fantastic stay. Not the cheapest hotel that I have stayed in, but all things considered, and this being NYC, I was happy with the value for money. There was no feeling of penny pinching about this hotel. We have stayed at many many hotels in the states, and this definitely ranks among the best. Thank you for making our stay special! Would definitely consider booking again if we return to New York and would not hesitate to recommend to others.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,608 - 2,614 of 4,160 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was such a pleasant stay. I was there for a long weekend with my wife & really liked the hotel. The location is perfect, the staff were extremely helpful & friendly & the facilities were in a fantastic condition. An extremely nice continental breakfast in the morning, coffee & pastries available all day long & wine & cheese every night.....all without additional expense! I doubt my wife will let us stay anywhere else in NY again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed for business and a long weekend with my wife.
Beautiful hotel.
Friendly Staff and great little touches.
Breakfast was delicious as was the wine on check in (nice touch)
Look fwd to returning soon - our new favourite NYC hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeyar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Excellent location, love the happy hour and service. Great terrace on the 14th floor.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Everything was impeccable at the Library hotel. Stayed there for valentine's day with my wife and found everything to be exactly as described. Beautiful amenities, decadent coffee and snacks available at any time of day and my wife loved the cocktails and breakfast provided as well. The hotel stored our luggage for a few hours ahead of check-in time to provide for some additional sight seeing in NYC. Overall, it deserves its ranking and was an amazing stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a weekend in Manhattan at the Library Hotel. We found our accomodations to be clean, our room was a good size (for nyc standards) and the hotel offered many amenities not found out other hotels, including a wine and cheese reception each night. Given the location, amenities and cleaniness we found this hotel to be an excellent value and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zachej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Had a fab time in this hotel during our 9 night stay in New York over christmas. Loved the charm of this hotel, the complimentary food and drink were a great perk and kept us going all day and the Junior suite was a great size. Would definately reccomend as hard to fault. Madison and vine does brilliant food!

Room Tip: Not a tip about the room but my husband had organized a surprise (champagne and flowers) for when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarag99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#6 of 469 in New York City
515 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 469 in New York City
1,425 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $274 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing