We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wonderful topping on the cake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Amarillo, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The wonderful topping on the cake”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Our trip was perfect in every way. One of the main reasons was the hotel we stayed in was remarkable.This was a family "girl" trip and we all stayed together. The Bryant Park Hotel catered to our every need. We always felt safe and our location was perfect. The staff at the hotel is the best I have been around and they were courteous and so very attentive. Our hotel room was very large and emaculate. I will be back to New York City and will stay at The Bryant Park Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitsu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Front Office Manager at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Great review! thank you. I am so glad you enjoyed your Family Girl trip and felt safe with us. Have you ever stayed with us during the winter? you would love the holiday shops in Bryant Park and the ice skating rink. Enjoy the rest of your summer. Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,817
    628
    121
    35
    27
See reviews for
550
1,820
199
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I have stayed at the Bryant Park hotel once a month for the last six months. On this latest visit my husband joined me.

The hotel has a great location, especially being opposite the park, which is a great place to chill out in the summer. During my stays the park was also home to an ice-skating rink, a NYC fashion week marquee and an outdoor cinema.

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the standard of accommodation is excellent, in a non-fussy way. I really enjoyed getting ready to the sound of the Bose stereo. All of the bathrooms were great, some have double aspect windows.

Rooms with park views are particularly nice. During the stay with my husband we were had a lovely suite with a terrace overlooking the park. It was fantastic sitting out there having breakfast.

There are often queues of people waiting to get into the Cellar Bar but this didn’t cause me any problems. I can’t comment on the atmosphere down there but the fact that so many people want to go suggests that it must be pretty cool.

Once I arrived at midnight to be informed that they didn’t have a room for me as a guest had flooded two rooms. They had arranged a suite for me nearby, which they paid for. When I returned to Bryant Park the next night I had been given a wonderful suite. They really couldn’t have done more to compensate for a problem that they didn’t create.

I/we will definitely stay at Bryant Park when we are next in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed at the Bryant Park after checking out of a dated, rather musty smelling, and noisy A/C Waldorf Astoria which my wife hated. I had picked it out as an alternative care of Trip Advisor reviews and we were very happy with the move. The biggest positives were the brightness and cleanliness of the room, and the great balcony overlooking Bryant Park. We got an average rate of $320 for three nights and they gave us a regular room for park view – but I would strongly recommend room 2003, as it came with a full balcony which with the weather bright and warm was a great bonus. I would generally recommend paying a bit more for a park view as it gives so much brighter outlook than the common New York view of another nearby building – a la Waldorf. The website shows the general style – wood floors give a more modern feel for the room and the bathroom was very modern and stylish. Other upside – especially coming from the diabolical internet speeds of the Middle East is the internet – 100MB speed, so downloading anything is magic. We also asked for a blanket rather than a duvet and they sent up a top quality cashmere blanket. For those with time for the night life – 5pm – 6pm is free bar for residents, and then you have the saving of the queue at 10pm – one of the bars that seem favoured by 20-30 year old girls. Location is great for any work trips being in midst of MidTown, 50 metres from a good subway stop – with lines that branch after a couple of stops north and then go east and west; close to Times Square etc. There were some downsides – a) shower pressure was poor; given reviews specifically praising this, I assume it was an anomaly; and b) for working the room was poorly lit for nighttime – low wattage bulbs, and a tiny table for desk work – could easily have bit bigger desk and lights on dimmer for easier reading either in bed or for work. I also checked out on the same trip The Mark and The Surrey – for bigger budgets and/or preference for Upper East Side, the rooms on these relatively recently renovated rooms are excellent; and Sofitel – close to Bryant Park. For Mid Town and good value– Bryant Park is strongly recommended, well above Sofitel which had smaller rooms and not as stylish (but surprisingly higher up Trip Advisor ratings).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubainick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Great Central location, only a few minutes walk from Times Square. The staff were friendly and my Fiancée and I were upgraded to a stylish suite overlooking Bryant Park for free!! We especially liked the free happy hour in the Cellar Bar.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmccammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed at the hotel over the 4th of July weekend. When we arrived at 6:00am in the morning, our room was not yet ready, but was made available by 11:00am. Our room was a junior suite on the 14th floor, and although we didn't have a directly view of Bryant Park, we had a large balcony. The room was large and well appointed, with the bath being the perfect size. Being centrally located in midtown west allows for easy access to almost everywhere in Manhattan. The service staff were very friendly, and ALL of our needs were met. The beds are very comfortable ensuring a good night's rest. I will certainly be returning to this hotel when next in Manhattan.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinidentist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Front Office Manager at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such great comments about us. Nicole at the Front Desk believes that she remembers you. We were very excited to open up Trip Advisor this morning and find your feedback. I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer. The next time you visit NY please stay with us again, I would personally like to meet you. Darren Sumner 212-642-2274
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Courteous, helpful, smiling, friendly-that's the way hotel service should be and rarely is-but the Bryant Park is an exception. They treat you with such care and concern you never want to leave. The rooms are clean and large, and the beds very comfortable. Being across from the park is a huge plus, and there are many restaurants within a two block radius. It is away from the madness of Times Square but close enough to walk. AND-the price is more than competitive with other luxury hotels.
It just is not worth staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinghopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offshore
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I liked;
- quiet location (even 4th floor is peaceful)
- very good bathroom
- I liked the room but not everyones taste
I didn't like
- foyer and lift (visions of a Hamburg night club in the 1970's). It really does not add to the attraction of the Hotel with its classic facade
- being recommended a hole in the wall Chinese/Korean where the MSG % content was higher than the check. Anyone paying $350/$400 per night wants a quality evening meal especially if not in New York very often. Very odd recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinehall70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,981 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
1,002 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,343 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing