We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

Have stayed at the Bryant Park Hotel several times. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are huge. The service is exceptional - it is a "hip" hotel, but you will find no attitude from the employees, they are always polite and helpful. Don't miss out on having a drink in the cave-like bar - but go early unless you are in your 20's. You are an easy stroll to the shops on 5th Avenue as well as the theatre district.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lrdjbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,594
    569
    116
    34
    27
See reviews for
496
1,686
179
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

I had an exceptional time in New York on my visit and i give credit to Bryant Park Hotel for being part of my experience. The room I had was a very generous size by NY standards and it was comfortable. But what made the stay most pleasant was the helpfulness and friendliness of your team from the front desk, concierge to the cleaners. My special thanks to Eric who organised my dinner reservations at very short notice. We had done this over email before i left Sydney and he was extremely responsive even with the time difference. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabewong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

I surprised my girlfriend by unexpectedly appearing in NYC (where she was on a trip with her family) to propose. I looked through TripAdvisor and decided to stay at the Bryant Park Hotel.

During the planning I contacted the guest services several times, and the Entertainment Coordinator, Eric. Everyone on the staff was tremendously helpful and accommodating and responses to my email inquires were responded to immediately.

I was set to arrive at 6am and propose at 11am. I called the hotel from LAX before boarding my plane to JFK, spoke to the person at the front desk (I forget her name, but I remember she had short red hair), and explained my situation. When I arrived, I mentioned my name, and was given a room right away, well before check-in. The front desk attendant even remembered why I was there, and was very excited for me and kept wishing me luck.

The room was wonderful, and exactly as expected. It was modern and sleek, yet very comfortable and warm. The room was extremely clean, and was meticulously set. Even though I was only on the 5th floor, the view was incredible. I had a great view of the park (directly across the street) and the NYC library building, and the huge windows filled the room with natural light. The location couldn't be better.

The front desk accommodated a surprise arrangement from my sister, again, with the help of Eric, and showered the room with rose petals and a big box of Crumbs cupcakes. The standard turn down service was also awesome, and included great chocolates and the sub blocking shades being drawn.

My only regret is that I didn't have a chance to spend time in the downstairs bar which looked awesome.

This hotel was an absolute bargain, especially considering how exceptional the room, service and location were. We look forward to returning to the hotel shortly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UCSB_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

Excellent room with view of the park and also bustling midtown Manhattan. Large bathroom, comfortable bed, and well furnished. Housekeeping requests and problems were dealt with quickly and professionally. As always, early emails to make a reservation were responded to quickly (why do some hotels ignore email?)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickenHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meudon, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Bryant Park Hotel and we actually did enjoy it very much: good service, great location, very quiet

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

It is centrally located, across from the charming Bryant Park and half block from Fifth Avenue. Subway stops are right there, too. Our room was clean, and the shampoo smelled very refreshing. However, the beds were okay, not luxurious, and the room was dark because the shade was closed due to an alleyway outside. The staff was very friendly and helpful, from the door men, to the front desk, to the concierge, to the bell boys. They made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank figburrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We take your feedback very seriously and the next time you stay with us, you will see that your feedback paid off. I promise! Feel free to call me the next time you are in NY. Darren Sumner 212-642-2274
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

The hotel was okay. The staff were a bit odd: on checking in, we were greeted with "well check out the high rollers! Staying in a Bryant Park Suite!!". I get the check-in guy was being friendly, but you would not get this at The Mandarin Oriental. The room was nice, big and light. The furniture was very uninspiring: in particular the dining and coffee tables were very student accommodation-ey. Like other reviewers, we appreciated the huge bathroom. We did not appreciate the charge to use Wi-Fi - come on people, it's 2010: make it free, or go the whole hog, and have coin-operated TVs too. The event which characterises our stay most is the crowd at The Cellar Bar. As one of my New York friends put it: "this is the worst bridge and tunnel scene I have seen in Manhattan EVER'. There were girls in bunny ears; guys in pimp suits; and girls in hot-pants-in-butt-crack: not a good look. There appears to be no door policy, and the hotel is situated within moments of the Lincoln Tunnel and the Port Authority building: figure it out. Koi was lovely, but the descent from there after dinner to the bar was scary. Like other reviewers, the doormen were either absent or unhelpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pincut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#2 of 463 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon - Fri from 5 -6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing