We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well appointed, great location”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Frequently hotel rooms in NYC are shoeboxes, but the rooms here were surprisingly spacious, and very well appointed. The bathroom was also huge, and spa like. The restaurant downstairs, Koi, is legit and the bar in the basement pretty cool.

Midtown location made it great to get around town for meetings, then sneak over to see a Broadway show at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akirschner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for giving us a 5 star rating. I am glad to hear that you enjoy our rooms and find them spacious. Our rooms are really a nice size especially for NY standards (smile) hope you come back soon. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,815
    628
    121
    35
    27
See reviews for
549
1,819
199
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Hotel is ideally located between Fifth Avenue and Broadway, is close to Times Square. The staff has been friendly from start to end and we enjoyed a nice room with a view directly onto Bryant Park, which gives you a feeling of big city life and still having space. The staff at the hotel was friendly and very helpful from start to end. Can highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank martuetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for giving us a 5 and for your amazing praises! I am glad that you enjoyed the location and that the staff helped create some great memories.
I hope you come back soon. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed here recently for a business trip. The staff at the hotel are fantastic - very friendly and accommodating. The location is perfect for central Manhattan. The room & bathroom were lovely and had everything I needed, with a great view looking out over Bryant Park. This hotel is a much better choice than many of the sterile 'chain' hotels nearby in NYC - you get a real personal service here.

Room Tip: I stayed in 1107 - a big corner room with fab bathroom and good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennox90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and helpful tips. I am sure the readers will enjoy them. Since we are privately owned there are definitely plenty of advantages, one of them is the employees feel like they are part of a family and we attract very special guests such as yourself. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at the Bryant for 5 nights from the end of March and found the hotel to be perfect for a short city break. The staff are excellent, hotel very clean and modern and offers a great base to explore NYC with excellent subway links and a short walk from Times Square and other amenities.

The Cave bar downstairs offers free drinks for quests in the week for 1 hour 5-6pm and when its being used for events you go to the top floor with great views of Bryant Park and enjoy a range of alcoholic drinks. A great start to an evening we thought.

The only downside we found was facing the back of the hotel it was very noisy as you could hear all the generators outside all night. Whilst this wasn't a major problem for us once you were used to it, its worth noting for people who need complete silence at night!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting to NYC and would return again.

Room Tip: Room towards the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradders_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We really appreciate your amazing praises! Thank you for taking the time to share them with us especially regarding Housekeeping, they work so hard and it is really nice to see them get recognized. I am glad that you enjoyed the complimentary drinks atop the hotel. My apologies for the sounds you heard from you room, we are actually replacing the windows with soundproof windows. I hope you come back soon; we would love to have you back! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay at the hotel and I wasn't disappointed with my choice. It's not that cheap but for location and size of rooms, and above all excellent customer service, it's worth it! I'm surprised to read other more negative reviews as I am not easily impressed and I really can't say anything bad about my experience at the Bryant park hotel. Yes it can be noisy from the street but NYC is noisy! If you want a quiet and peaceful experience suggest another type of vacation is more suitable. And as for staff helpfulness, it's second to none providing of course you also play your part in respecting their room availability and cancellation policies - common sense really. Still highly recommend!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jaybay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
What a great review! Thank you so much for your loyalty and for understanding what we are all about. Your candid comments are very much appreciated, I am sure I can speak on behalf of all NYC hotels, NYC offers a lot of energy and excitement and with that comes noise. We can’t wait to welcome you back, please let me know if I can ever be of assistance. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed at the BPH for two nights last week on business. I was in a Junior Suite on the 5th floor with a fabulous view over the park. The room was quiet and spacious. My bathroom was very well appointed with bath, a luxurious walk-in shower and very well stocked with great robe, Moulton Brown amenities.

As a business traveller the desk served perfectly for work and the free WiFi is a blessing... hate hotels that stiff on that.

The event that we held in the basement bar was perfect. It all happened so smoothly on an organisational level and the staff were attentive and perfectly mannered to the guests whom we hosted there. The great fresh food was remarked on by all.

Thank you to the whole team for a great mid-town NYC experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonWorldClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
So glad that your event was a success and that enjoyed the amenities and the staff. I couldn’t wait to share your review with everyone here at the Bryant Park Hotel. We would love to have you back, so come back soon! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was just staying at the Bryant Park Hotel on a business trip and was so pleased with everything! The staff are fantastic, the beds are so comfortable and for being right in the middle of Manhattan it was oddly quiet. I live in a wilderness setting away from any kind of hustle and bustle and loved that they had nature sounds in the room already going at turn down! I also loved the amenities in the bathroom. Great Molton Brown products.
The location is perfect for anything you want to do in Manhattan!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelForever1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
5 Stars! We are very grateful for your generosity! We really appreciate your mentioning that although we are in the middle of Manhattan we are more on the quiet side, but isn’t it nice to know that just a few blocks away is Times Square. Having the park across from us definitely helps make the neighborhood feel more tranquil. I hope you come back soon. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,978 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
999 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,341 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#10 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing