We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bryant Park Hotel - Beyond excellent, superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bryant Park Hotel - Beyond excellent, superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I were in town for a charity event. We called ahead to book a terrace room, which cannot be guaranteed until the day of check in, and were lucky enough to have received a lovely junior suite with a lovely balcony. The front desk staff, (kudos to Jennifer especially) were extremely nice without a bit of "boutique" attitude you see with most other high end NYC hotels. The view over Bryant Park was amazing. In any city the room would be considered spacious, but was enormous by NYC standards. Every time we left the room for more than an hour, we noted the housekeeping staff had come in, straightened up the linens and put out fresh towels. In the past 10 years, we have not stayed in a hotel in NYC that had a "proper bathroom". At BPH, the bathroom had a huge shower with amazing water pressure, separate large tub, a sink and vanity with spectacular lighting and mirrors and a separate table to put all our your toiletries, cosmetics, etc. And it was CLEAN, I mean SPOTLESS. (caution - the bathroom has 2 large windows and people can see in as well as you can out). Also, the room had an full length mirror with an unobstructed view. We enjoyed the Cellar Bar (guests get a special entry card and their own happy hour). We also had an amazing dinner at Koi, which is attached to the hotel. Incredible food and ambiance. Without hesitation, we would recommend the Bryant Park Hotel and will be staying there on our next visits to NYC.

Room Tip: Call ahead and request a terrace room. There are only 9 and are not guaranteed until the day of arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FloridaRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,387
    531
    110
    32
    26
See reviews for
442
1,554
167
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a very comfortable three night stay in this hotel, in a room overlooking Bryant Park, where there is always 'something happening'. The staff are very friendly, and accommodating, and the location is excellent. The happy hour in the cellar bar is worth going to.Great couple of places for coffee and cake or breakfast in the same block.

Room Tip: over looking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelandjane1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Bryant Park Hotel is the place to be in NYC. I've stayed here countless times and it is always a great experience,. What jumps out most is the staff: professionalism is the name of the game here, for one and all. Special mention goes to Harold Henning, one of the managers who is always available to make every stay even better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bomb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I wanted to take the opportunity to thank the Bryant Park Hotel for one of the most amazing hotel experiences I've ever had. My husband and I were headed to Spain for our Anniversary week and decided to stop in our favorite city in the world for the weekend. I had always read fantastic reviews for the Bryant Park, but fell in love with the place & the neighborhood on our last visit to NYC when we had lunch at Koi.

Two weeks prior to our arrival, I received a lovely email from the Reservations Manager Felix letting us know that we had been upgraded to a Suite with a Terrace! I was also put in contact with Sarah, one of their Entertainment Planners who could not have been more friendly and helpful with great suggestions on things we could do on our special weekend in the city. Upon arrival, we met Jennifer at the Check-In desk and Kevin who were both so great throughout our entire stay.

Upon entering our gorgeous suite overlooking the park, we found a bottle of Champagne on ice with a Happy Anniversary Balloon and card. Such and incredible touch!! During our stay, we took advantage of everything from their great gym facilities, to room service to some cocktails & dancing at The Cellar downstairs one night after dinner. This place was perfect in every way and we will certainly be returning on our next trip to this magical city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adelatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Bryant Park Hotel over part of the Columbus Day weekend. The hotel is in a great location overlooking Bryant Park and the NY Public Library in what was once the American Standard Building. The desk staff was very cheerful and helpful (as were all the staff we encountered). The rooms are modern and sparely decorated. Ours looked diagonally over the park, which is a wonderful oasis in the middle of Manhattan. The cellar bar is atmospheric and though we only had breakfast at Koi, we're told by friends in NYC that it's a great restaurant. The exercise room is small but has enough equipment to give you a full workout. We usually stay at another hotel near the Library but it was full. We were pleased to find another great hotel in that area.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Bryant Park if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Yes, it is expensive. But well worth the expense if you can afford it. Great desk and concierge, protected access, large rooms, great beds and bathrooms, and across from Bryant Park and NYC Public Library. Bryant Park view rooms are superb and you can grab coffee in the Park in the morning and read a complimentary newspaper in the Park's "Reading Room." People watching superb.

Room Tip: Lower floors have better view of Park but can be noisy with early morning lorry traffic. But we opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim31944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Recently stayed at the Bryant Park Hotel whilst on a long weekend in New York. Fantastic location right on Bryant Park and within easy walking distance of the main shopping areas. Very handy for Central Park, New York Library, The Rock, Time square and many other tourist attractions. It has a bar in the basement serving cocktails and the fusion restaurant on the ground floor is extremely good.

The rooms as with most New York hotels are on the small side but at least you could walk around the bed, sit at the desk and have a shower without constantly banging elbows or stubbing toes.

Possibly the bets element of the hotel was the fantastic concierge service. Having only ever been to New York on my way to somewhere else or on business I had never had the chance to be a real tourist. The concierge helped us with dinner reservations, maps, interesting excursions we could do on our own and she was extremely patient. One evening she even made 3 dinner reservations for us until we were able to make up our mind on where we wanted to eat.

With such a short time in New York the advantages of a good concierge are immeasurable, especially providing ideas and tips you would not find in most guide books.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,880 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,013 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon - Fri from 5 -6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing