We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrific gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Terrific gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I just concluded my first stay at The Bryant Park and was very impressed. The staff was attentive, and the room was clean, bright, and quite spacious for NYC. Directly across the street from Bryant Park and the NYC library made this an ideal location in the city. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to the city.

Room Tip: A view of the park is an delight, and yet amazingly quiet for being right on 40th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,465
    548
    111
    33
    26
See reviews for
467
1,593
172
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hyde Park, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with our family at the Bryant Park Hotel. They surprised us with a bottle of champagne. Wonderful staff, they were courteous, friendly and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised when we saw the rooms. They were clean, inviting and more spacious than we thought. The Bathroom was amazing and my teenage granddaughters loved the shampoo and hair conditioner We had a partial view of Bryant Park. All of us enjoyed the Happy Hour.,

Room Tip: 7th floor or above and Bryant Park View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAC5038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at the Bryan Park Hotel for 4 days. Hotel is really cool with a Scandinavian touch too the rooms. Staff is great (friendly and service minded), superb food at the restaurant (Asian Fusion) and great location Midtown Manhattan.

They also have a 24h gym

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great hotel in a very convenient location. From the moment we arrived, we were greated with a smile and that continued throughtout our stay by the entire staff. The room was very clean. Happy hour in the Cellar Bar is a nice touch! Great value for the price. Will absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Best room would be one overlooking Bryant Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 673davidm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Bryant Park Hotel is always on pointe. The entertainment concierge staff is exceptional. I sent an e-mail off to Sarah a week before we arrived and she read my mind. Within a few minutes, she responded with a list of chic, hip, restaurants that were exactly what we wanted. No sifting through guide books. It was great to work with a New York insider. This hotel does not dissappoint. All of the staff are friendly and professional. The view of the park is charming.

Room Tip: The junior suite is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Bryant Park Hotel. Everyone is always friendly and courteous. Rooms are clean and spacious enough for a NYC hotel. Unfortunately, we didn't have a good view overlooking the park this time.
During the week, they have a nice happy hour in the Cellar Bar.
The best is the location. Bryant Park is right out front. There are plenty of shops to get breakfast and lunch to picnic in the park.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 10-year anniversary by taking a long-weekend trip to New York. We wanted something upscale, clean and modern with luxurious amenities that felt like a splurge without shelling out the $800+ that some hotels require for similar features. After extensively researching hotels on Trip Advisor, we decided to stay at Bryant Park hotel. The rooms are very modern, clean, and spacious. We were in room 1904 – it was a junior suite with a king bed, had a beautiful terrace overlooking Bryant Park, and a large bathroom with a separate tub and shower. The location of the hotel is perfect – very close to Times Square without being right on top of all the craziness (it is a couple of blocks of the main path). Therefore, it is a bit quieter and more subdued. The hotel staff went above and beyond to cater to us, exceeding our customer service expectations. They contacted us ahead of time to find out if they could help us in any way with trip planning. When they found out we were celebrating our 10-year anniversary, they contacted my husband and set up the room with some special romantic surprises - rose petals on the bed, champagne, a gift basket with cheese and fruit, and a vase with roses. They also had very good security, with a staff person checking room cards before going up the elevators. Room service came 2x per day, one time to tidy up the room and again before evening to turn down the bed and leave chocolates. The room was VERY clean and well stocked with amenities. The shower had amazing water pressure and was always hot (and remained that way). The bed and bedding were very comfortable, and the free Wi fi in the rooms was also very much appreciated. I didn’t eat the food in the hotel, but I did think the room service menu looked great. The only potential limitation of this hotel is that they don’t have a lobby area. It is pretty much just a front desk with a restaurant and a bar (which we didn’t have time to try out). However, we did not need or require a lobby, so this did not bother us. In my opinion, this hotel is an excellent value and we would not hesitate to book reservations at the Bryant Park hotel again – they helped make our anniversary very memorable and we look forward to a return visit sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,605 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#4 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 5,022 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#3 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#21 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,186 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#15 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon - Fri from 5 -6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing