We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel if you get the right room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very enjoyable and comfortable hotel, but only if you get the right room at the right price. Rooms vary in size; Rooms facing the backyard have a really lousy view while the rooms facing the street have great view of the park. Room price also vary according to occupation rate; at times it is good value for money, other times room prices are outrageous. Staff is very helpful and friendly, The location can hardly be better, and it has a really excellent bar.(particularly between 5-7 )

Room Tip: Always ask for a street/park facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,264 - 2,270 of 3,748 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

My son took his girlfriend to NYC for the weekend to propose to her. The purpose was a secret to her buy he let family know about his intent and where they would be staying. He was so smart to have found the Bryant Park Hotel! I called the hotel to find out if I could somehow buy champagne to have delivered to his room. The reservations desk person, the concierge,and the food and drink manager were all sensational! Not only did they facilitate the arrival of the champagne at the correct moment, they added balloons and cupcakes from the hotel! My son and his fiancee were thrilled and it really made it an unforgettable weekend. They reported that they will be back as soon as possible and, thanks to an amazing staff, my husband and I will make it our go-to hotel in NYC too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaMcD_7405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed July 2012
2 adults (children left at home)
Excellent location - quiet for Manhattan.
Park across the street is great for a nice quiet breakfast.
Room was 'big' for Manhattan, very well laid out, beautiful bathroom, comfy bed.
Good club/bar in the basement. My wife and I thought after dinner we would get up to the room and get some sleep (we have young children back home), but were surprised to see how energetic the club got in the evening/night, and stayed around for a few drinks and assume the role of the 'old buggers' at the club that night.
Ovearall - a great place to stay in a very central part of town - easy to walk to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Spend a weekend in Manhattan at least four times a year...watched the Bryant Park undergo renovations and always thought that we should give it a try. Location is great, across the street from Bryant Park, a lovely place to spend time and people watch, read a book, or just take in the NY vibe...bordering Fifth Avenue and right next to New York Public Library.

Easy access to the subway...you can get a train to just about anywhere from the Bryant Park station...and the hotel is next to garment district and walking distance to Penn Station and theater district.

Room was great...clean and well appointed. Very comfortable platform beds...tons of pillows. Nice bathroom, no tub ... walk-in shower. Staff was very courteous and eager to be of help. There a club in basement "The Cellar" but didn't check it out..didn't try the adjoining restaurant either..too busy being out and about the city.

Definitely plan to return...will make this my place to stay when in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just have to rave once again about the Bryant Park Hotel in New York and give big praise to the front desk staff especially Chase! It is truly a terrific place and actually if I could I would live there!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readytogobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Second time staying here. Usually take 1 trip to nyc a year, so means a lot we've picked this place twice in a row. Good size rooms for price. Fab location. Also still free drinks in cellar bar m-f from 5-6pm, nice selection of wine. Had a room on backside of hotel, much darker than room with views of Bryant Park, but much cheaper. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auggie_tech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you want to be in midtown Manhattan, you won't find a better boutique hotel. I've never experienced a more attentive, helpful, friendly (but not obsequious) staff. Our room was small, but quite comfortable, and the view of Bryant Park and the city from our room was perfect. Subway station just down the block.

Room Tip: Great view facing Bryant Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,624 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#15 of 469 in New York City
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $272 - $726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing