We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for Fashion week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun for Fashion week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The first time I stayed at this hotel it was fashion week back in February. despite the crowds and paparazzi surrounding the place check in was quite smooth. The room which was a suite overlooking Bryant Park was fabulous. The sweet living and dining area and the very large bedroom were quite nice. But the real zinger here was the very large bathroom. A fabulous tub for soaking and a very large walk in shower with incredible,incredible water pressure was a real treat. The bath products, the robes, bed linens were all quite nice and very,very, clean and white. The management sent up a lovely bottle of champagne and chocolates to welcome us ,probably since we had one of the most exspensive rooms the hotel offers.Since that visit I have stayed multiple times at this hotel and highly recommend it to my friends and clients . If not just for the water pressure alone everything else is always fantastic!

Room Tip: Try and see if you can book a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandeeLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,670
    593
    119
    35
    27
See reviews for
512
1,732
185
519
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf IA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Bryant Park Hotel (August 1st to 4th). I always research on Trip Advisor before any trip. I wanted a balcony and I wanted to be in Midtown so we could walk to the Eugene O'Neill theater for the "Book of Mormon". Hotel rooms with balconies are not in abundance in New York City. However, my search brought me to the Bryant Park Hotel, with many 5 star reviews and descriptions of the beautiful park from BALCONIES! I always look at Traveler photos and make note of room numbers. But I was most impressed with review after review of the exceptional service provided by the Bryant Park.

Our family travels a great deal in the U.S. and some to Europe with my husband's company, so we have stayed in many 4 to 5 star luxury accommodations. This is definately a "boutique" hotel. It is not the Four Seasons but you will be treated with no less attentiveness, just a much lower room rate.

Not one day after making reservations on-line, I received an e-mail from the manager, Darren Sumner, congratulating us on our 26th wedding anniversary and was there anything special they could do to make our stay more enjoyable. Shut the front door! I have never had THAT level of service. Anywhere. So I made my request for a beautiful view, with a balcony. I was also given a list of Italian Restaurants close to our theater. Thank you Eric Strauss and Robert Falco.

Upon arrival we were greeted, checked in, and whisked to our amazing room, (modern Scandanavian) huge bathroom with soaking tub/tiled shower and huge BALCONY overlooking Bryant Park! I love this hotel! We were constantly on the go from the great location, walking to Starbucks across Bryant Park and to Rockfeller Center, Times Square, the theater District and any subway. I am a light sleeper and I just unplugged the white noise machine, and slept so well. Maybe it was walking 5 miles a day! Just very comfortable. My husband commented we did not have to open a door or push an elevator button while staying at the Bryant Park Hotel.

This was our first trip to NYC and it was such a great, great experience. There is so much to do it is one of the few places we have decided to return to in the future. Normally we are always on to the next place we have not visited and the next new experience. This was a new experience we would like to repeat and when we do, we will stay at the Bryant Park again. Thank you to all at the Bryant Park Hotel for making our NYC anniversary trip a special one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a wonderful time in New York this past weekend and the Bryant Park helped make it so. Our room faced lovely Bryant Park which is a fabulous location for getting everywhere in the city. The set up is modern which was fine except there wasn't enough light in the room if you wanted to read. The bathroom was super with a very large shower and nice amenities. The staff were excellent especially Chase who went out of his way to give us a meaningful experience. Eric Straus, the concierge gave us over the top service. He helped arrange all our reservations before we got to New York. He helped us pick what to see on Broadway and got us superb tickets. He got us the best tour guide in New York, Cliff Strome to give us a private 4 hour tour. He organized our dinners. And he got us to and from the airport. We would happily stay here again and highly recommend this hotel for your next visit. If only to meet Eric Straus. Thank you to the entire staff for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise, but ask to face the park. Wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanis351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our second visit to NYC and spotted this hotel during our first stay so booked for our 4 night trip. We were not disappointed with any aspect of our stay. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly and lots of them! Doors always opened upon our return, lifts ordered for us in the lobby when we were spotted heading that way. We booked a junior suite overlooking the breath-taking Bryant Park. The views were stunning. Our room was large and very cosmopolitan with modern furniture, large TV, music system and wooden floors. The large bathroom was great with a large bath and huge shower, ample supply of fluffy towels and molten brown products.
The nightly free residents bar was a nice bonus and again the staff were very helpful. The celler bar seemed to be a popular venue along with the Koi restaurant.
The staff and the location makes this a very special place and one that we definately plan to return to next year.

It's a 10 minute walk to Grand Central Station and Times square and you are just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Bryant Park is a great place to sit and watch New York around you.

We are already planning our next visit and will be staying at this wonderful hotel.
A big thank you to all of the staff for help making our trip full of lovely memories.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I & my husband stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. We arrived very early in the morning and although official check in was 3 pm, they allowed us to check in way ahead of time without extra charge which was much appreciated after a long haul flight. Their service is excellent and so is the location. Maybe a little bit more pricy than some other hotels but considering the location well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimSim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice hotel in a great location, but don't fall for booking a deluxe room over a superior room. You won't get anything extra for the rate difference.

Rooms are basic white with very nice bathrooms. (Awesome showers!) The platform bed and low furniture all look like they were designed for small people.

Their website is misleading showing a larger room and wood floors for their deluxe. We got exactly the same room pictured under "superior", yet the front desk argued that we had a deluxe. Additionally, we checked the fire escape plan posted on the door and found our room to be the smallest on the floor. What's up? Let's be honest about room types!

Room Tip: Save bucks and book a "superior" ... or upgrade to a "junior". There's no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We are just back from our stay at the Bryant Park for a 2nd year. I would not stay anywhere else in New York! The location is fantastic, opposite the lovely Bryant Park, close to all amenities, shopping & subway downtown. The staff are fantastic. Robert at the front desk looked after our reservation & was totally professional, totally accommodating in every way. Eric, the concierge, was extremely helpful, as he was last year. He booked restaurants for us & gave my 20 year old daughter & myself wonderful shopping advice. I cannot speak highly enough of the hotel, the staff & the service & would highly recommend it for a visit to New York.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the park. Amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheerana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon - Fri from 5 -6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing