We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We chose the Bryant Park because of the location, which we'd liked on a previous visit to New York. It's a fantastic looking building, overlooking the small but charming green space of Bryant Park, right by the Central Library, on the edge of the garment district, a few blocks from Times Square and Broadway. It's not particularly quiet though with the busy 6th Avenue nearby.

Friendly staff greeted us in the lobby and were helpful throughout our 2 night stay. We checked in early after a midday arrival at JFK and were found a nice corner room, with an excellent view of Bryant Park and 6th, that was an upgrade from the "Superior" room we'd booked. The dim lighting and red-leather padded cell effect in the lift was a little weird!

Excellent bar downstairs, particularly between 5pm and 6pm when drinks are complementary for guests! The staff were pleasant and helpful if a tad underdressed (I think I'm getting old!). We went to Koi restaurant, entrance in the lobby, one night and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the atmosphere.

Not a huge room, but a good size for NY with an excellent bathroom with both shower and bath. Plenty of fluffy towels, face cloths, excellent toiletries, bathrobes and slippers. The bed was very comfortable with superb down pillows (you can ask for foam if preferred). Excellent large screen TV, Bose radio and CD, and dock for MP3 players (not an iPod dock though).

To me, a light sleeper who doesn't like background noise, the only downside was the constant drone of the aircon, even when the fan was turned off. The odd noise making machine next to bed supposed to provide soothing backround noises didn't help. The earplugs provided did, a little. Because of that and the traffic noise, I probably wouldn't come back, which is a shame as otherwise I really liked this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank gojph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,499 - 2,505 of 3,702 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just returned from a 3 day girls' weekend to NYC. The hotel was wonderful! It is a beautiful old building in the perfect spot in the city. Just off Times Square but away from all the noise and chaos. We had coffee and breakfast in beautiful Bryant Park every morning and in the evenings, just sat and enjoyed looking at the beautifully lit city surrounding us. The room was fabulous... at least 6 windows made it bright and airy, the beds were heavenly, and the bathroom was wonderful. The staff was always helpful and on Mon-Fri afternoons, there is free open bar in the hotel's Cellar Bar for hotel guests. We both agreed this is where we would be staying on our next visit. I can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade. If available, they are happy to give it to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lthale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I go to NYC regularly - both for business and for romantic getaways with my boyfriend - and I always stay at the Bryant Park. I have never been disappointed. The hotel is excellent in all ways!
The location cannot be better: not too far up north nor south, a few blocks only to the 5th avenue shopping, a few blocks only from Times Square, easy to get in and out from Manhattan to Newark, the area around Bryant Park is wonderful and quiet (!), AND you almost don't hear the traffic (very unusual to escape that sound or the sounds in sirens in NYC...but at the Bryant Park you do!)
The rooms are great: clean, spacious and bright with views of the park (I always stay in a Deluxe room, or a Bryant Park suite). I love that the floors are wooden (I hate carpets in hotel rooms!), love the large bathroom with its Molton Brown ameneties, and the huge tub! Wi-fi usage is complementary and it is super easy to get connected (you don't need to fill in names, passwords etc).
Service is excellent! All staff is very friendly and helpful, and I appreciate that they don't "hang over your shoulder" all the time, or trying to convince you to take the luggage to your room when you arrive (as they do at the Ritzes of the world). As a guest you always feel that you have your privacy, but if you need the staff they are always there to assist you.
I'm a frequent traveler and normally stay at luxury 5-star hotels from Leading Hotels, since I'm very picky when it comes to hotel rooms....But in NYC I would never think about staying somewhere else than at the Bryant Park!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsNatGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just got home from a romantic weekend getaway in NYC. My wife and I love Bryant Park and have been wanting to stay at this hotel for years. This year I surprised my wife with a room overlooking the park. It was amazing! We were upgraded to a Junior Suite & the room had a great feel to it. Wonderful view, comfortable bed, large bathroom, and quiet. The best part, though, was the staff. From the bellmen to the housekeeper - everybody was very friendly and warm. This is easily one of the best hotels we've stayed at & we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the park. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My now fiancée and I (we got engaged on the Monday while we were there)stayed in this delightful hotel at the beginning of May. We have to say this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and would not think twice about staying anywhere else if we returned to NYC. The Hotel itself has an old world look to the exterior but very modern and almost Boutique look to the interior especially the lobby and main reception, we loved every part of the décor.

The Staff were always very polite and attentive also they were extremely knowledgeable and it seemed as no request could be impossible to service. The Cleaner (maid) was brilliant, full clean up in the morning and even a turn down on an evening whilst we were visiting the many restaurants and bars around the hotel.

I understand that the hotel rate per night is not the cheapest in New York. However, there aren’t many that can top this hotel for location. Nestled to the rear of the Library Building adjacent Bryant Park on a quiet street between 5th and 6th Ave (as quiet as you’re going to get for Midtown New York). So if you take into consideration staying here you can walk to 90% of touristy places (Times Square, Empire State, Rockefeller Centre, Maceys all within 10mins walk) therefore you don’t need taxis or the subway the cost doesn’t seem that bad. Also, when you factor in the Complimentary Bar Service in the Cellar Bar between 5-6pm for residents is a brilliant idea, and one I’m sure would be a great plus point for much of the Brits staying here, the Rate becomes almost reasonable ;-)

The other plus points about this hotel was the large bathroom with great shower and MASSIVE Bath, just what you need when you’ve been peddling round Central Park all day. The only Negative I could say is that we had a room round the back of the hotel on not a very high floor, there wasn’t any issue with noise from the streets below. However, the view could have been a little better than brick walls. However, you could argue that you aren’t in the room for that long anyway and if you are really bothered about a better view then you would pay for a better room.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgreenie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while in NYC. It ticked all the boxes. Very friendly staff, rooms were cool and the location was perfect. Bryant park opposite the hotel was a also a nice outlook with a garden cafe and bar. The hotel bar downstairs had a slightly weird dungeon theme but out of way. Would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed at the Bryant Park Hotel for 4 nights from May 6. Had a junior suite on the 19th floor with a terrace. Nice views out over Bryant Park across the road. Room was nice and spotless. Bed was very comfortable. Very large bathroom with separate bath and shower with Molton Brown products. Only single glazed windows, so a little noisy from traffic, but it is New York. Ipod dock of sorts in room. Only had the stereo plug, not proper docking connection, so bring your charger. No tea and coffee facilities in the room. Drinks were complimentary downstairs in cellar bar for hotel guests from 5.00 to 6.00pm Monday to Friday. Very trendy bar and a lovely touch. Service at the hotel was prompt. Location was good. Only ten minutes walk downtown to Macy’s shopping area and about the same over to Time Square and the theatre district. Subway station out on the corner. If you are seeing Sister Act, it’s up on 57th street. Catch the subway two stops and it takes you door to door. Overall would rate the hotel 4.5 out of 5. Quality of sleep let it down a bit, but other than that very good, clean and recommended.

Room Tip: Terraces available on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Galaxy_and_Stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,069 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 469 in New York City
6,576 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $278 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing