We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Manhatten”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Larvik, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Manhatten”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Just came back from NY and Bryant Park Hotel some days ago. I've been in NY before and have stayed at (for me) nice hotels. As we paid a bit more for this hotel room than we have done earlier, my expectations was that this should be a good hotel. And I'm not diseappointed.
The location of the hotel is excellent. A nice looking building just across from Bryant Park with its ice skating rink, christmas tree and small "shops". Centrally located within short walking distance to Times square and 5th Avenue.
The staff is friendly and helpful without it getting "too much". They asked the right questions before I had time to do it myself :-) And, if problems with room keys or internet, fixed in no time.
We had a rather big room with a spacious bathroom and a well equipped mini bar. The bed, sheets and pillows were all very comfortable, the slippers and bathrobe too. A nice thouch was the early morning delivery of a newspaper on the door. Nicely cleaned every day. And, it was no down side that we had the view of Empire State Building from one of the windows.
If I have one thing to say: The bath room was cold! It got very cold. But, we did not ask the hotel staff about it, so don't blame them.
All in all, a very nice stay in a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,667
    593
    119
    35
    27
See reviews for
512
1,730
185
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I just got back from my third stay at The Bryant Park Hotel.
I cant believe that this hotel is not rated #1 in the city.
The location is perfect. Just across the street from the Bryant Park. Within walking distance to Time Square, 5th Ave. Herald Square. But its not just the location that makes this hotel special, or even how beautiful the building is...its the staff. Everytime i have stayed here i have been treated like family. Royal family. Its like my daughteres and i were the only hotel guest last week end. But there were plenty of other guest that im sure recieved the same treatment as we did. They catered to our every need (for things that we didnt even know that we needed) with a smile on their face. So eager to help and to go the extra mile for us. Nicole at the front desk welcomed us with open arms and when she realized that our delivery of cup cakes didnt arrive she went out of her way to offer and to contact the company to check on my delivery. Ryan, Stephan and Chase always had a smile on their face and were very personable. I wish i could remember the door men that helped me and my daughters out with our over load of luggage from shopping in the city. They kept a smile on their face as they tried to stuff the cab full of our belongings. Our room was large and beautiful. Beyond clean everyday. The turn down service was a nice touch as well as the slippers, robes, sound machine, and daily newspaper delivery. The blankets, sheets, pillows and towels were all great quality. I was even more comfortable than i am in my own bed. I will never stay anywhere else in NYC but this hotel. Stop searching and book a room at The Bryant Park Hotel. You wont be disapointed!!!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the higher floors over looking Bryant Park. The view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrmann27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is my 4th or 5th time staying at the hotel - usually for a few nights at a time on business in the city. Location is perfect for us and the staff is very attentive to your requests. The rooms are great and if there's a problem - they get fixed immediately. I will definitely return. Eric, the concierge, is the man and capable of working magic with reservations. Thanks!

Room Tip: If you want quiet - look for a room not facing the park. W 40th and Bryant Park in a constant state...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We absolutely LOVED everyone we came into contact with at the hotel. Harold was so accomodating, Ryan was so precious and so very helpful, Darin is awesome. I just felt so much like family with the staff and wanted to take them home and show them some good ole country living..My visit showed me that New Yorkers get a bum rap. At least at this Hotel. Room was awesome as well as the staff..I couldn't find not even one fault with Bryant Park Hotel. Its my number one !!!

Room Tip: Overlooking Bryant park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I have just returned from a fansatic 4 night stay at this hotel.I have to thank Darren who from the day I made this booking for my daughters 30th present, to the day that we arrived I have had the best service ever.From the reception staff,Chase and the others,Eric and not forgetting the lovely guys who brought up room service,and open the doors when we had all our shopping bags.Thank you also for the birthday balloon and lovely cup cakes for my birthday too.Great room overlooking the ice skating.Close to all the highlights.Shower great and loved the Molten Brown toiletries.
Wonder Woman and her mum xxx

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stopped in this hotel since 25 nov till 28 nov 2011.it is the most negative experience with the hotel in my life. Money deducted for accommodation twice plus deposit!! written off after the departure of the mini-bar (which no one enjoyed !!!!) again twice!! pay in this hotel only by cash, better don't stop there!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Viktoriya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
I was very sad to read your comments about the hotel. Our Mini Bar is not offered complimentary as we are competitive with other hotels in NYC and it is very common in most hotels around the world to charge for the mini bar. I hope other aspects of your stay was enjoyable. I would really like the opportunity to speak to you further. Thank you Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Great location across from the lovely park with skating rink and retail stalls right now. Close to 5th Ave too for shops and offices. Standard room was okay but poorly lit and no view apart from a brick wall. Shower was amazing though and Molten Brown toiletries were nice. However, No coffee maker or nice touches you get elsewhere in this class of hotel such as water and fresh fruit. Paying for wifi on top of the room rate always disappoints me too. Bar is cool though and staff are attractive, helpful and polite.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YachtieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,707 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
846 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon - Fri from 5 -6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing