We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect Wedding-Night Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bryant Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding-Night Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I got married at Bryant Park Grill and that included the bridal suite at Bryant Park Grill for the night of the wedding. Since we live in NYC and didn't plan on going on a honeymoon right away, it was great to spend the night of our wedding at a hotel instead of going straight home. The hotel allowed us to check in 2 hours early so my bridesmaids and family could start getting ready and hang out in the suite before the wedding. We ordered delivery from a local reastaurant around 3:30am and a hotel security guard accompanied the delivery guy up to the suite, which made us feel secure. When we checked out of the room, bellhops were very helping in getting all our bags, gifts, etc. out of the suite and into a taxi.

The room was beautiful, spacious, and extremely clean, and the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in. The views overlooking the park were awesome despite the rain. They provide great bath products and excellent service. Their events staff was extremely helpful in coordinating our guests from out of town and providing them with the wedding info materials I created. It's a very modern hotel on the inside, especially considering it's older facade. The only complaint we have is that the hotel would not confirm ahead of time that we could check into the hotel early - they wanted us to book the room for the night before. But when we called day-of they were very nice in agreeing to make sure the room was ready several hours early.

We had an excellent stay, as did our friends and family, and wouldn't hesitate to do it all over again! The hotel is in a great location - and rooms with views of the park are great!

Room Tip: rooms with views of the park are excellent - especially the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmschmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,465
    548
    111
    34
    26
See reviews for
467
1,594
172
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

You couldn't ask for a more central or accessible location in the heart of Manhattan. We stayed on a summer day and it was great having access to the park. My main priority in a city hotel is cleanliness, and this place fit the bill perfectly. It was spotless and I felt at ease in the room. Our 'entry-level' room was on the small side, but hey - that's Manhattan prime real estate. The bathroom was simply gorgeous and perfect (and surprisingly spacious in ratio to the room). The view from our room was so-so (not too much visibility of the park), but again, we are in prime Manhattan territory right there. I loved the noise machine (yay for crickets). All staff members were friendly and pleasant. The elevators were very speedy and easy. My only recommendation to the hotel would be to offer a more firm pillow option. I am sure that the pillows in the room were deluxe in nature, but for those used to sleeping on firmer pillows, it could be a bit difficult. I would still feel good about coming here again, but would feel even better with an expanded pillow option.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watchingtheocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed here for one night in August. I had locked all my valuables away, apart from my blackberry, which I foolishly left on the table. I went for a walk and when I came back the blackberry had gone. I had left a 'do not disturb' sign on the door, but somebody had come in and shut the curtains. Initially, I thought I must've repacked the thing into my case, so it was only when I got to my next hotel and unpacked fully that I realised that the phone was gone.
I've stayed at the Bryant Park several times in the past and found it to be a pleasant hotel in a convenient location. However, this experience has definitely left a bad taste in my mouth. In conclusion: stay here if you like the other features, but please take my advice and make use of the safe in your room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A1_and_A2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Service at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
We take our guest comments very seriously especially when it is in regards to guests security. All doors in the hotel automatically lock once you close the door, when you left for your run most likely a housekeeper provided turn down service. We have security measures in place that allow us to know exactly who entered your room. Our housekeepers have been with us for years and come across many valuable items in the room and we have never had an issue with a claim of a stolen item. In many cases guests first assume an item was stolen and later find the item and call us back to apologize. These allegations are very serious and I hope you will give me the opportunity to investigate this further. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend, it's not the cheapest but it is definitely the best placed. Everything you need is a short walk away.

It is the perfect location for a shopping weekend with modern quirky but very comfortable rooms. The square literally on your doorstep is a hive of activity and interet from ice skating to restaurants and cafes to curio shops.

Thoroughly recommended on location alone

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sasmithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife and I had a great stay at the Bryant Park Hotel recently. I can't imagine a better location in NYC...extremely convenient to everything we wanted to see. We had a Jr. suite overlooking Bryant Park and the NYC Library. Very spacious and immaculate. Staff was always helpful and friendly. Can't recommend it highly enough...we'll come back!
.

Room Tip: Request a Jr. suite overlooking the park...some have terraces...worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregoryMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Gregory Madison_WI, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your room as well as the view. I also appreciate your nice comments about the staff. I hope you come back soon! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I went to NY at the end of July coming from TO. We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted it to be a special long weekend. Based on reviews online we decided to try Bryant Park Hotel. We loved this hotel! Nicole was so pleasant checking us in (and out). Felix considerately upgraded us making things all the more special. Thank you! Thanks also Darren Sumner for the complimentary wine sent to our room. All the staff were gracious and accomodating. The room and bathroom was immaculate. Excellent turn down service and perfect view of the park! Thanks for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your comments about Nicole, Felix, Housekeeping and myself. Everyone was very touched that you remembered their names. I am very happy that they had such a positive impact on your stay and were able to make your Anniversary so special! I hope you back soon. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I've been traveling to New York City for business for many years and have stayed at several other properties. The Bryant Park Hotel is one of, if not THE best hotel accommodation for not only my business needs but personal as well.
The staff at Bryant Park is very well trained and provide outstanding customer care. Adolfo Ramirez is increditable about making sure his guests are well taken care of. Kelly Kato, is one of the best Events Corrdinators I've worked with.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Dennis H, thank you for your review and for recognizing Adolfo and kelly, They are tremendous assets to us in our sales department and it's not that often that they get the recognition they deserve. We all hope to see you back real soon! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,608 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#4 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 5,023 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#3 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#21 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,189 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#15 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon - Fri from 5 -6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing