We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all respects!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is an excellent hotel, in a heritage building a block from Times Square and easy walking distance from Empire State Building and Grand Central Terminal. The room was spacious, the staff were exceptionally polite and helpful: the concierge deserves my personal thanks for finding two tickets for a Paul McCartney concert at the Yankee stadium with less than a days notice.(this proved to be one of the high points of our stay!) All staff offer the highest standards of service. Luckily and commendably, the hotels airconditioning was fully functioning and very welcome in the 90 degree heat at the time of our stay. Location beside Bryant Park was also perfect, and nearby cafes provided excellent and reasonable breakfasts. The Happy Hour offer in the Cellar Bar was also much appriciated.
I will be recommending this hotel to any one I know heading toward New York

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benniskeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Hi Benniskeeper, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I was happy to hear that our Concierge's took good care of you. I hope you enjoyed the Paul McCartney concert, I am a big fan as well! I am also glad to hear you took advantage of the open bar at the Cellar Bar it is a nice perk for hotel guests. Thank you also for the nice things you said about the staff, hotel and surroundings. I hope the next time you are NY you stay with us again. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,839 - 2,845 of 3,843 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was our first stay at the BP hotel, chosen after reading the reviews on TA. Although we stayed for a 12-day stay, and had a deluxe queen room booked for us by an agent, the room had a lousy, side and dark view and it was also showing some wear and tear especially in bathroom walls and doors. The fridge didn't chill our drinks and the WiFi didn't work in our room and they gave us an external connection, no charge (they charge the Internet for 10$ plus taxes for a day!!!). No slippers, no coffee maker in the room, no free amenities whatsoever. Daren is well into customer service and goes out of his way to please customers but that is not enough. What was really bad though was the breakfast, which was extremely expensive and really tasteless! 28$ plus taxes amounted to 40$ for a plate of scramble eggs and a piece of bread and an orange juice! Absolutely infuriating, we never had breakfast in the hotel again, we went to Le Pain Quotidien nearby and were ally pleased with the quality of breakfast over there. All in all, the best aspect of this hotel is the location! Bryant Park is a marvelous get away from the noisy midtown NY.

But the staff is great always especially the housekeeping! The bed is heavenly, and the bathroom is world class. We ate at the house restaurant (KOI, Japanese) and food and service were good though a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Only junior suites offer nice views to Bryant park and they cost quite a bit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stunning hotel in the perfect location pretty much in the middle of every where, empire state a few blocks away, time sq up the rd, and the subway on the corner that will take you to central park and statue of liberty. If your looking at going at Christmas time as we did the park outside the hotel is great as it has a Christmas market and ice rink. The hotel it's self is really friendly and calm, rooms are big,clean and bright. We didn't try the restaurant as there is so many places to eat. All in all we loved it and would love to be going back this Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dentaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Fantastic again - we always stay here when in NYC. Great location and a modern, very clean room and bath. The staff are helpful, prompt and deliver 1st class service. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We have just returned from 6 nights at the Bryant Park Hotel. We stayed in a Bryant Park Suite with our 12 year old son. The suite was very spacious, separate seating area where our son slept. We were on the 16th floor, the view of Bryant Park, which is opposite the hotel, was amazing. We arrived on Monday evening & there was an open air showing of a movie in the park opposite the hotel. Fantastic experience! The staff were so friendly, welcoming & helpful. Robert, Nicole & Eric looked after us so well & had so much time for our son. Eric gave him great information on where to shop for all the sports clothing & accessories. I will have no hesitation in recommending the Bryant Park Hotel for service, location & accommodation. We will return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheerana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Dear Sheerana, thank you so much for your gracious review and for your praises about Nicole, Eric and Robert. We are very happy to have them on our team. I am so glad to hear that you and your son enjoyed Monday Movie night in the park as well as all the other features we offer and the neighborhood offers . I hope you come back soon! we would love to have you back. Enjoy the rest of your summer! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights last week with our 2 1/2 year-old-daughter. We needed a hotel that was "child friendly" and this hotel certainly met our expectations from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Everyone on the hotel staff was friendly and always greeted us with a smile and a cheerful "hello". Each time we entered or exited the hotel, the doorman was quick to open the doors for us, which was nice as we often had a stroller and several bags in tow.

I booked the Bryant Park hotel via telephone a few weeks prior to our stay and spoke to Darren, who asked if we had any special requests. I said we would need a small refrigerator in our room to store our daughter's food. Sure enough, upon arrival to our room, a refrigerator was already set-up in our room--I didn't have to ask twice. (Thanks, Darren! You Rock!) As a matter of fact, we never had to ask twice for anything... whether we requested a bucket of ice or more bath towels--one quick phone call and our items were at our door within a few short minutes.

Our room (Junior Suite with King Bed) was absolutely huge, with an amazing view overlooking Bryant Park. The bathroom was equally large and so clean. It was all marble, with a deep soaking tub and separate rain shower. Our daughter loved taking baths every night, and we loved the rain shower. Now my wife wants to have one of those shower heads in our bathroom at home... I do, too!

Our daughter LOVED to ride the carousel at the park, and we all enjoyed the ice cream stand next to it. For breakfast, the Pax Deli on the corner was a good choice, and for lunch the sandwiches at the little sandwich shop next door were excellent.

The location of the Bryant Park Hotel can't be beat. It's close enough to Times Square that you can walk there in five minutes, but it's far enough away so that you don't get caught up in the "touristy" hustle and bustle of the area. All the major subway lines are within a block or two, and we had no problem catching a cab at any time.

Nicole at the reception desk was so cheerful, and she always took time to greet us as we came and went. And Eric, the Entertainment Planner/Concierge was always helpful with our unusual requests, such as "where can we find a place to get a good hot dog for our daughter?" and also with his recommendations on places to eat and things to do and see.

All told, we've stayed at dozens of hotels in different parts of New York City, and this was by far the one with not only the largest and cleanest rooms, but also the one with the friendliest, most accommodating and welcoming staff. We will definitely be booking The Bryant Park Hotel again... and again...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MightyBoognish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Hello Mightyboognish, Thank you for your nice comments about myself, Nicole and Eric. We all remember you very well especially your adorable daugther, she put smiles on all of our faces. You have to come back soon at least before she starts college! :) Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance, all the best. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This was our 5th stay in 4 years at the BPH. Still love it. But I must say that the room was showing alittle bit of wear and tear. The wood floor plugs are starting to pop up. The handles on the closet doors are bent. The fridge didn't chill our champagne. The WiFi didn't work in our room (probably fixed by now). The cordless phone kept dropping out...

But the staff is great as always. The bed is heavenly, and the bathroom (especially water pressure) is world class.

We ate at the house restaurant (KOI, Japanese) for the first time. Make a reservation! Great food and service, a bit pricey.

If you want car service from the airport, let BPH arrange it. We've tried many of the services you find on the internet, but BHP gets the cleanest and best, for a comparable price (they give you an all included price).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MostlyLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#15 of 473 in New York City
3,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#72 of 473 in New York City
6,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $253 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing