We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, perfect location/service - v chic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel, perfect location/service - v chic”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Hotel was perfect. We stayed for 4 nights in a Junior suite. It was spacious light and airy with a large comfy bed and massive bathroom! Views were fantastic over Bryant Park and the stunning skyline. We couldnt fault the service and the cellar bar was awesome. Music in the lifts etc gave it that extra edge. I would describe the hotel is extremely trendy and luxurious.
Location is great for getting around too - slap bang int he middle of Manhattan so easy to get to central park and downtown.
Breakfast was quite pricey but v good nevertheless and we were too lazy to go elsewhere
Great hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ners1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,792
    619
    121
    35
    27
See reviews for
539
1,805
199
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2011

A classy hotel in New York city at a location second to none, at Bryant park, a couple of blocks from Time sq. The location is ever so convenient to get to all parts of Manhattan a tourist would want to go! When we were there we went to lower manhattan during the day, come back for nap before hitting broadway in the evening, it was such a joy!

The hotel is very comfortable, the size of the rooms are very good for the location and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful; they really added the personal touch to their service, which makes the stay very pleasant indeed.

Thank you very much for your dedication to top quality service, it will be at the top of the list when we visit NY again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2011

An absolutely brilliant stay in a beautiful hotel. What made this holiday stay at The Bryant Park the most amazing break was without doubt the staff. Everyone we met could not do enough for us and truly did go the extra mile to do all they could to make our stay special.

The location is spot on and within close walking distance of the major attractions in mid town. The rooms are simple and elegant, with great views if you are looking over the park and all its hustle and bustle - great people watching! The exterior of the building is also magnificent, and in case you didn't know (and what sold it for me) it was featured in Ghostbusters!

The bar downstairs is great and while we were there had a free bar for an hour every weekday!

The events organisors and concierge recommended some brilliant restaurants, bars and clubs getting us guest list for places we wouldn't have otherwise got in to.

Darren and the team regonised we had some celebrating to do (I proposed to my girlfriend and it was my birthday) and really made it special, we felt they were sharing in our experience.

I have already recommended this hotel to friends and family, and will definitely be staying again. Thanks once again to Darren, Rob, Luis, Eric and all the rest of the guys - you were all brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank TomnMrsTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The Bryant Park Hotel have the best people. Everyone we interacted with went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we wanted. Best of all they were warm, approachable and eager to help. My daughter lost her beloved puppy. The staff searched the hotel, found the puppy and had it waiting for her in the lobby with a note that said "I missed you!" This saved the trip for our youngest. It would have been so sad for her memory of her first trip to NYC to be, "that's where I lost puppy."

The location was perfect! We enjoyed several hours in Bryant Park during our stay and it was so convenient to walk to Times Square, Grand Central Station, and the Empire State Building.

We had a junior suite which was big enough for a family of four. We used the couch as a bed and a roll-away bed. The couch was fine for our 11 year old. It might be a little small for a teenager or adult to sleep on.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thank you for your review. As soon as we read it everyone had a smile on their face. The greatest smile was that of your daughters when she was reunited with her toy puppy. All of us at the Bryant Park Hotel hope to see you back real soon! If I can ever be of assistance please let me know. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The 2 rooms we had where spacy, the bathrooms very elegant. Everything was clean.
The position of te hotel is very good, in the haert of Manhattan. A subway station is nearby. Employees are very nice, kind and trendy. The whole hotel is trendy.
Everything is perfect. That's it.

Room Tip: Look for a Room with view on Bryant Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTS252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Wow "Perfect" we can't ask for more than that in a review. Thank you so much for your kind words. I hope you come back soon. Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Bryant Park Hotel for 3 nights during Easter weekend for our "mini-moon" and the hotel surprised us with a bottle of sparkling wine. (Nice touch but unfortunately we are both allergic to alcohol!) We arrived fairly late into the evening but the concierge was still able to make reservations for us at a nearby Italian restaurant.

The room we stayed in was a Superior Queen on the 7th floor by the emergency stairwell. It was decent sized and we didn't feel crowded even with two regular sized suitcases lying around. The washrooms were impeccably clean and the bathrobes were super-soft. The brand of bath products that they have is Britain's Molton Brown. It's a good change from the typical French brands that are often too floral scented for males. There were two minor blemishes to the room 1) the lack of WIFI access 2) the smell of fish coming from the Japanese restaurant downstairs outside our door. We overcame our internet deficient room by sitting in the lobby with our iPAD and accessing the FREE WIFI broadcasting from Bryant Park across the street. At first the hotel said that our lack of internet was due to using an Apple product, but we tried it with our Dell laptop and was still unable to access their router.

The hotel's location is very convenient. We walked to Times Square, Central Park and the MOMA and 5th Avenue was great for shopping. We taxied a great deal because we were often running late but fares to major destinations were never more than$10. The park across the street is a nice place to relax and so is the beautiful New York Public Library. Overall we enjoyed our stay and it was mostly due to the stellar customer service we received from the staff.

I wanted to also mention that a day after filling out a review email sent by hotel management regarding our stay; we received a phone call from the director of customer relations. This really shows how committed Bryant Park Hotel is towards maintaining and improving their already excellent customer service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissCLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Service at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thank you for your generous review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the WIFI thanks to your feedback and other guests we just completed a complete upgrade with our bandwidth. We have better and faster service now. I hope you come back soon. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

What a treat to be able to walk to the hotel from Grand Central. I was with my 18 yr. old daughter (it was her birthday) and her friend. We were in the city to see a Broadway show. This is a perfect location, so close to Times Square with one of NYC's most beautiful parks across the street. There are also shops and food eateries on the same street. The room with two double beds was a great size for all of us. The bathroom was huge too. It was very clean. If you're like me and hate hotel comforters, this hotel has a duvet/sheet which is fresh and changed with each guest!
Darren, the director of guest services surprised my daughter with a box of jelly beans and Tate's chocolate chip cookies and a nice note for her birthday. The staff was so friendly and we felt like we were living in a NYC apt. for 24 hrs! I will definitely go back to The Bryant Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeanersFairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 466 in New York City
2,924 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 466 in New York City
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#27 of 466 in New York City
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing