We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a GREAT place...”
Review of Boulud Sud

Boulud Sud
Reserve with OpenTable
Boulud Sud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #164 of 13,687 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: on 64th street between Broadway & Central Park West
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just a GREAT place...”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

..what's to say...if you're going to the opera, this is THE place to go. Great service, perfect selection for everyone...perfect timing, course to course....staff is knowledgeable, amiable and ...pleasant.
Oh....and the food is great,,,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phantomtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    214
    55
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better than in France!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Awesome pastries! Their chocolates are really good. I ordered a large passion fruit cake for 5 people; one of the best desserts I've ever had!

Helpful?
Thank fabichfabich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
169 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fine dining with relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We arrived at 6:30, near the end of the prix fixe menu and between the Lincoln Center crowd and the regular diners. Staff was very attentive without being stiff and the food is highly inventive. We had the shrimp (meltingly good) and the meze plate (green baba ganoush, still haven't figured out the herb), followed by the lamb with harissa and eggplant and scallops with chorizo. Tasty and unusual, the eggplant cooked as they do in the Middle east, until it is creamy and the seared scallops seasoned by the spice in the chorizo, and both dishes had a least 2 sauces decorating the plate to add flavor. Dessert was the incredible chocolate plate--rich--and the lightest cannoli I have enjoyed since Boston's Little Italy. I had the non alcoholic hibiscus lemon verbena and my guest had wine; I noted that our server did not get the disappointment over lack of alcohol ordering that I have experienced at other restaurants. We even changed servers mid meal (ours was sent to work outdoors) and the hand off was very smooth. One caution is we noticed when we arrived that servers were getting jostled by their colleagues delivering plates, which meant some lacked the polish they had left the kitchen with. I would say don't match with a performance, as this is a lovely place to enjoy the food on it's own and linger.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving day”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

After a long discussion about our "gala dinner" we decided to check which places serve a dinner and which type of menu do they have. Our search was limited as we were absolutely sure that it should be a very good french restaurant. As u have already understood it was a difficult task cuz everything was booked in advance. But we were lucky to find Boulud Sud, it was love at first sight. Thanks a lot for you hospitality and amazing cuisine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really well-done, interesting dishes”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The dishes are unique and very well done. We enjoyed every single one. The service is perfect. The only downside is that the ambiance is nothing special. It's more suitable for a business lunch or dinner, as the interior of the restaurant lacks a romantic feel. Though, with that said, you won't be disappointed going here on a date.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank searchforatlantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boulud Sud also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Boulud Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing