We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classy, fine food and exemplary service”
Review of Boulud Sud

Boulud Sud
Reserve with OpenTable
Boulud Sud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #173 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: on 64th street between Broadway & Central Park West
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“classy, fine food and exemplary service”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

excellent restaurant, a bit noisy, attentive staff and diverse menu, fine wine list, great location, accommodated our food allergies and time constraints well, this level of quality comes with a price tag

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DVE11044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    217
    55
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best bet pre- lincoln center”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We love Daniel's restaurants. Did my daughter's graduation at his flagship. Luv doing DBGB when downtown. This place was revelation. Will be in my permanent, pre-opera go to dinner!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RetiredNLuvinIt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lincoln Center Eatery With Class”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

With friends in from Europe, we enjoyed a pre theater, prix fixe menu that was just right for the four hour opera to follow. The first course choices were plentiful and varied. The gambas were perfect, all of us marveling at their texture and flavor, as was the grilled octopus with salad. The lamb with tzatziki was rare and juicy. The scallops were seared and the fish was fresh and moist. Dessert was bumpy in that the chocolate offering was good, the ice cream was rich, the grapefruit gratin was refreshing, but the cotton candy on top looked and tasted like mattress stuffing. Great wine list, varied and at all kinds of price points. The staff was charming but when Swedes complain about the heat, the dining room is too hot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MMPPJLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Post Concert Destination”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was the perfect spot on a cold winter's night after an early jazz concert at Lincoln Center.

The bar & adjacent dining room are open, furnished in a clean contemporary style. We arrived to a packed restaurant but one of the first things we noticed was how well we could hear each other at our table. (Oh, the joy of being able to converse without shouting)

Service was impeccable. Servers, runners, & reception employees were warm, cordial, efficient & adept at their jobs. Bravo to management for setting their standards high & then taking the time to train their staff to meet them.

This will not be an inexpensive meal. $100 per person would seem to be a reasonable average; without the addition of a bottle of wine. We started with a caramelized onion flatbread with anchovy & olives, a delicious dish but an unfortunate color combo. We then followed with a potato leek soup with watercress pesto and a poached egg. Extraordinary, I could have eaten 3 bowls of this soup and gone away happy. The kale & beet salad had delicious flavors but the amount of kale to beets was so disproportionate that the plating was unappetizing. It seriously looked like someone had just dumped a bowl of shredded kale over the dish (see photo). Our entrees included a marvel of a chicken tangine and the appetizer sized portion of 4 cheese cappelletti served with mushrooms, broccolini & hazelnuts. Both were superior in flavor, presentation, execution & portions were generous.

Dessert included a gianduja mousse presentation and their version of a cookie sampler.

All in all, a wonderful meal but the salad & the chocolate panforte were disappointing, hence the star deduction.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pookala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional food, but a little pricey”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit in a month and the exceptional quality of food carried through both visits. The scallop dish is something you should not miss. The same is true of the chicken tagine. Our most recent visit was $70 per person for a three course meal, but we did not have any alcohol. This restaurant is directly across from Lincoln Center, so is an excellent spot for a pre-show dinner. Reservations a must on show nights.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boulud Sud also viewed

 

Been to Boulud Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing