We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-star dining experience”
Review of Boulud Sud

Boulud Sud
Reserve with OpenTable
Boulud Sud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #165 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: on 64th street between Broadway & Central Park West
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
211 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“All-star dining experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently ate here for dinner and the food was outstanding! It was one of the best meals we have had. We live nearby and hadn't eaten here before, because of the fish-heavy menu. However, they have quite a few options for those who don't eat fish. For the fish-eaters, the quality is excellent and you will not be disappointed.

For the appetizers, we ordered the "Local Heirloom Tomatoes: Burrata, Watermelon, and Arugula" and the octopus. The flatbread they serve at the table was so good; we couldn't stop eating it. For entrees, we ordered the Daurade and the Ribeye. For dessert, we shared the "Caffe Estratto." Everything we ate was delicious.

The atmosphere was romantic and a bit lively. The service was perfect--attentive and gave helpful recommendations.

We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nyctraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    214
    55
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

If you like fish, this restaurant couldn't be better. Great sardine appetizer, bland fish soup, wonderful dorado. If you're vegetarian like my wife, you'll be less enthusiastic; "bland", was her summation. Lovely atmosphere, attentive staff, perfect if you're going to lincoln center (right a Ross the street) .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronnie63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamas, Utah
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A delightful place for a Mediterranean lunch”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Had lunch with my daughter and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Food is light and different from the usual mediterranean style. Well presented and delicious.
The price was very fair for an elegant lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Upscale Glamour on the West Side”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The food was absolutely perfect and the room charming and lovely in a casual-elegance-with-money sort of way. Sommelier was funny and spot on with his advice. Awesome people watching. Somehow the highlight of all this was a round of delicious,impeccably made and hyper-intelligent cocktails. Wait staff was quite formal (continental) but got the job done unobtrusively.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank view_h0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal at Boulud Sud last Saturday. The service was outstanding. The food was excellent. The lamb was tasty.,Would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Streator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boulud Sud also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Boulud Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing