We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-oiled machine”
Review of Boulud Sud

Boulud Sud
Reserve with OpenTable
Boulud Sud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #182 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: on 64th street between Broadway & Central Park West
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well-oiled machine”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went here for the pre-theater menu, $60 per person for three courses. Generally good food; the pasta dish with sausage was very bland but the chicken tagine was delicious. Generous portions. The waitress forgot our wine order but offered us a second glass each to make up for it, which was nice.

The restaurant atmosphere is kind of hard to describe, but I couldn't help thinking I was on the Upper East Side in the 1990's. Elegant but somewhat stuffy with a mature crowd. But a good choice for a pre-Lincoln Center event; they timed it perfectly for our performance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GigHarborNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    210
    55
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY/Westport/Provence
Level Contributor
329 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“Amazing for Dinner and Lunch”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you are in the Lincoln Center area and you want to dine at a wonderful restaurant which is not an easy feat in this neck of the woods, walk do not run to 'Boulud Sud'. I honestly think I prefer the menu here and the ambiance to the flagship restaurant 'Daniel'. The staff (from the Manager to the busboys) are top draw and friendly and bend over backwards to make your meal wonderful. The room is just perfect. Upcale yet cozy with stunning antique French Pottery and rustic , french country items placed along the stainless steel counters of the open kitchen. It is touches like this that you make you remember why Boulud is Boulud. I was tempted to ask about buying one of the French antique pottery. The menu! Incredible. You can't go wrong. The special bread with honey and yogurt as part of a starter is out of this world and only $4! The other appetizers we tried, Leek and potato soup and a salad of fresh seafood and greens over a delectable 'Middle Eastern like' light paste (do I taste chestnuts in there with fool?) are amazing. The Pasta with duck ragout was sensational as was the fresh fish served in a reduced vegetable sauce. All of the desserts are formidable as we requested a tasting plate. Such a lovely bustling yet calm atmosphere just adds to a perfect evening before the theatre or after the theatre or...just to make the restaurant your destination in itself..it is that Superb!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent pre-theater dining spot.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Food was beautifully prepared both in taste and presentation. Imaginative menu and excellent service. As we ate early they served from a prix fixe menu so We got to sample three courses. The only negative is we found it a bit noisy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rener60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
312 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great prix fixe option before Met Opera”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great location and respect of time for attending a performance at Lincoln Center. Wait staff was professional and helpful. Choices were varied and just enough for a pre-theater meal. We enjoyed apps of the Mediterranean Mezz - hummus and babaganaush were delicious but a very strong use of garlic - a bit overwhelming for an evening out. Octopus app was good but a little dry. Main entree of chicken - so many wonderful spices and fish with skin on - moist and flavorful. But I enjoyed dessert best! Nice choices of wine by the glass. Our waitress had great time management skills and we never felt rushed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgal617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exquisite Food - Pompous Hostess”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Sunday Brunch was exquisite! Each dish was superbly prepared with depth of flavors and incredibly fresh. The only downside was the pompous, condescending attitude of the hostess. Truly a misplaced insult given the excellence of food and soft elegance of the restaurant's decor. Our waitress was very kind and knowledgeable. The Manager should correct the way diners are "welcomed" (not) at the door. We were seated close enough for me to observe the repeated cold, condescension by the hostess to others. Lovely restaurant with special offerings near Lincoln Ctre & movie theaters.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetHatttrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boulud Sud also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Boulud Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing