We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic luxury ice cream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amorino

Amorino
Ranked #66 of 443 Dessert in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
738 reviews
595 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Fantastic luxury ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you are in love, or on the point of suicide (and anything in between) head for Amorino down by NYU. This is extravagant luxury ice cream at its best. You can't help feeling that life can't get better strolling along with a tub of "vaniglia bourbon del Madagascar" or "cioccolato Amorino". Expensive and worth every cent - and much cheaper than therapy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    28
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Reminds me of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Wow! Can't pronounce the Italian name of the gelato I had but it was hazelnut and it was like the gelato I had in Rome. This place is something special.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ListWestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!!! Must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

This has a great location - right on the corner of University and 10th. It has nice indoor seating, but not a lot of space. There are two benches outside that offer a great place to people watch while enjoying your gelato.

I got the Banana Del Brasile and the Speculoos on a small cone. You can mix the flavors together and they will turn your gelato into this beautiful flower, hard to explain but trust me, it's worth it! Makes the place very unique!

The two flavors together were delicious. I can't exactly say what Speculoos is, but it was sweet and almost had a cinnamon-y flavor. It was sooo good with the banana.

Definitely try Amorino! The price is a little steep, but I'm 100% sure when I say it is definitely worth it!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank avidrestauranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

The gelato was excellent and a cone can accomadate several flavors and they make it into a beautiful flower!! Outstanding! I'll be back!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank littleoldelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
485 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Ice cream not cheap but very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We shared among 3 of us a 5 scoop plate of gelato, $13.00.

It was delicious and the place is very cute.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joshua b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amorino also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Amorino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing