We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome gyros!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Uncle Gussy's

Uncle Gussy's
Ranked #3,325 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome gyros!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were looking for a quick lunch and heard about this food truck. Grilled gyro and related items were very good and reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a great deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We saw people lining up at this truck, and figured it had to be good. The food is delicious, and the prices are even better! Hands down the best tzatziki I've ever had. I totally recommend this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best greek food I've had on the East Coast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Found this place online and had to go because of how much I LOVE Greek food!

The guys working in the truck were very friendly and made sure our order was right! Prices weren't terribly expensive not not cheap either.

Between us we had almost one of everything (sandwich, plate, and salad) all were very good and tasted almost like what you would get in Greece! My boyfriend who doesn't usually like Greek food even liked this place!

If I ever find myself in NYC again I will go back! I could eat lunch here everyday if it was closer to where I live in Boston ha!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlySchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Friendliest guys in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We love greek food and this food truck did not disappoint. The salad, the sandwhiches and the lunch plate were fabulous. There is even a small courtyard where you can sit in the shade and relax with your meal. And these guys are sooo friendly in a city where sometimes that trait is hard to find. Loved it!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schmidt407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
457 reviews
338 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Best lunch in midtown!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Forget this food is coming from a truck. The quality of Gussy's food rivals any restaurants nearby. Everything they serve is amazing. Quality is top notch. Great price. Quantity and quality.
Gussy is easy to spot. There is always a long line waiting. That's the best sign of all. People wait in a line for Gussy's great food.
I eat here 3 times a week. Never gets old. Trust me- stop at Gussy's and try the food. It is the best in midtown.
Btw- Gussy just won an award for Best Food on the Street!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Gussy's also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Uncle Gussy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing