We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chandler”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #131 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
1 review
“Chandler”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was clearly the most enjoyable hotel experience I have had in Manhattan. The restaurant is excellent. The staff was very courteous and warm. The only potential downside is that the rooms are small, which I do not mind and experienced frequently in NY.

Thank You!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Philipp S,

I am happy to hear that your experience at Hotel Chandler was the best you have had in Manhattan and that you enjoyed Juni restaurant. We have different categories of rooms, some that offer larger square footage. We would be more than happy to discuss the options with you upon your next booking.

Sincerely,

Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,826
    1,047
    277
    103
    53
See reviews for
587
1,374
219
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor Township
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Hotel Chandler was very nice and we would definitely stay there again. The staff was friendly and attended to our needs which were few. The restaurant staff was very friendly and attentive as well. We purchased the inclusive breakfast package and really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I had a wonderful experience at the hotel - Room and staff was perfect - great location, i will certainly come back! We stayed in the newer room and we really like the style and decoration - I forgot my cell phone charger and i was provided one by the reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gilles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Gilles S,

Thank you for leaving your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our recently added Premium Guest Rooms, they provide more space while keeping the style of our traditional rooms. I’m delighted to hear you received excellent service and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to the City.

Sincerely,

Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Excellent one night stay at the Chandler. Although nothing stood out as 5 star top notch in the way of accomodation or amenities, all the boxes are ticked and quality and attention to detail are obvious. Good value for money. The service however, was 5 star all the way. Friendly, helpful to the extreme and if anything, over eager! I would like to single out Walter Rabello, the night manager, who went out of his way to help me solve a problem unrelated to my stay in the hotel. He gave generously of his time and I will be returning to the Chandler thanks to him.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hedger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Hedger123,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It pleases me to hear that you received such excellent service and Walter will be honored to hear your appreciation. He, along with the rest of our staff, is a large part of what makes Hotel Chandler such a special property. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Manhattan.

Sincerely,

Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Booked a king size room. Had an amazing time. The street view was great. Only draw back was the 6:00 AM jackhammer across the street. Can't blame the hotel on that one.

The room was beautiful, and the bed was nice and comfortable. There was a decent sitting area, with a desk. There were 2 cordless phones in the room, but we had an issue with not being able to check messages. No problem, as the front desk allowed us to use their phone to check.

Only other "issue," and I hate calling it that, was the difficulty we had finding the hair dryer. There was one in the room, but it was in a drawer we wouldn't have thought to look in. In fact, the front desk clerk gave me 5 different drawers it could be in.

All in all, it was a WONDERFUL stay. The staff was kind and courteous. The rooms and lobby were beautiful, and the location was amazing. Literally in the shadow of the Empire State Building.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Good price, good location, very friendly staff and decent enough facilities. Room was pleasant and had a very smart bathroom but the air con was so noisy you couldn't really sleep with it on, which was a pain, and the walls of the hotel are very thin so when other people are walking in the hallway by your room you can hear them. These are minor grumbles though as overall I really liked the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliefromworthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Charliefromworthing,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel and apologize that your stay was not as quiet as you would have liked. Thank you for letting us know about the AC issue. We are looking into the room you stayed in so that we can take care of that for future guests. Even though our hotel tends to usually be a very quiet hotel with minimal noise issues I have made a note on your profile so that during any future stays you are blocked in a more quiet area. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Although this hotel is out of the Times Square area, it was worth the walk. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff is SUPER friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but comfy and yes the AC is noisy but after a long day of walking and seeing the sites, you don't even hear it once asleep. The bathrooms are small and the shower could benefit from a tilting head but I would stay there again and again and again! Great value for what we got! We were upgraded to a deluxe queen. I love that I always had the 2 doormen waiting to open the doors for me. They always put a smile on my face! Thank you, Hotel Chandler!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irenecardona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
1,550 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#152 of 468 in New York City
2,480 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#36 of 468 in New York City
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
2,195 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#158 of 468 in New York City
887 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#100 of 468 in New York City
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing