We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #128 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Finding a hotel that would give you comfort, safe location, accessibility to different points of NYC and great value has always been a challenge. Hotel Chandler gave us all these during our stay. I called a few weeks ago to make sure that we get a room that is far from possible noise sources and we got what we requested. Staff was very helpful and courteous. We even did not have to pay for parking because there were empty spaces in front of the hotel and parking is free on the weekends. Small rooms in NYC hotels is commonplace but the room we had was well designed and we did not feel claustrophobic at all. Everything was clean and luxurious. We will definitely stay at HC next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,905 - 1,911 of 3,432 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Fantastic hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great location. The most comfortable beds I have experienced. Would highly recommend this hotel.
The hotel organised a car to meet us at the airport - great service, very reasonable price and the driver was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Hotel was very quiet and elegant. Rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. Beds were very comfortable. Service was always friendly and very knowledgeable!! We will be back for sure next time we are in NY!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTraveler009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Had a brilliant few days here last week. The rooms aren't huge but you'll never get that in NY if you're on a budget. We had a room with two double beds and there was still enough room for our suitcases and shopping! Very conveniently located; virtually on 5th Avenue. The staff were all excellent and so helpful. Good bar (shuts early on a Sunday though), great deli right across the road and plenty of excellent restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. The room had an iron and ironing hoard, hair dryer and all necessary toiletries provided, a safe, fridge and umbrellas also in the room. We loved our stay here and would without any doubt, go back. Great value for money, I highly recommend it. My only bugbear - very minor - is that you can't turn on the shower without getting wet (tap on the back wall), but that's just a minor quibble and hasn't put me off!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nixx66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The chandler is a great central place to stay while in new York..20 steps away from 5 th avenue..mid town so easy access to lots of places..
Rooms lovley..the best bed i have ever slept in...bath is very wide and deep, pleanty of wardrobe space. There maybe no coffee facilities in the rooms, but 24 hrs a day there is fresh strong coffee in reception..has different teas also..and yes they may be plastic beakers, but large and can refill as many times as want during your stay, also has 3 sitting areas, one is beautiful, laid out like a living room with TV ,sofas, arm chairs, coffee tables and daily newspapers..
Staff very attentive and pleasent.nothing to much bother..Hotel also has reasturant, gym and bar but we did not use.
The hotel has recently been refurbished and is done out in a lovely boutique comfortable manner...we very much would use this hotel if going to NY again...

Room Tip: We stayed in 331 and 831...party of 4 women..room has large separate beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elainebrettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Hotel Chandler is a really good find - it is well located being close to all central sights and places to visit. The staff are friendly. The rooms are on a smaller side, but cosy. We have had some plumbing issues, which the front desk manager helped us to resolve. It would have been nice to be able to have breakfast included into the cost, as $25 a person is a bit much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel I situated ideally to walk to the major central spots with easy subway links in walking distance as well.
The room and facilities were luxurious and all of the staff I dealt with were welcoming, proactive and most helpful.
Now I would not stay anywhere else in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike_Lichten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Mike_Lichten:

I am so happy to hear that we will be your first choice when visiting NYC!

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 469 in New York City
542 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#150 of 469 in New York City
2,839 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#129 of 469 in New York City
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#223 of 469 in New York City
201 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 469 in New York City
2,382 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#164 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 E 31st St, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $221 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing