We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Had a brilliant few days here last week. The rooms aren't huge but you'll never get that in NY if you're on a budget. We had a room with two double beds and there was still enough room for our suitcases and shopping! Very conveniently located; virtually on 5th Avenue. The staff were all excellent and so helpful. Good bar (shuts early on a Sunday though), great deli right across the road and plenty of excellent restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. The room had an iron and ironing hoard, hair dryer and all necessary toiletries provided, a safe, fridge and umbrellas also in the room. We loved our stay here and would without any doubt, go back. Great value for money, I highly recommend it. My only bugbear - very minor - is that you can't turn on the shower without getting wet (tap on the back wall), but that's just a minor quibble and hasn't put me off!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nixx66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,843
    1,053
    279
    106
    55
See reviews for
595
1,380
219
600
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The chandler is a great central place to stay while in new York..20 steps away from 5 th avenue..mid town so easy access to lots of places..
Rooms lovley..the best bed i have ever slept in...bath is very wide and deep, pleanty of wardrobe space. There maybe no coffee facilities in the rooms, but 24 hrs a day there is fresh strong coffee in reception..has different teas also..and yes they may be plastic beakers, but large and can refill as many times as want during your stay, also has 3 sitting areas, one is beautiful, laid out like a living room with TV ,sofas, arm chairs, coffee tables and daily newspapers..
Staff very attentive and pleasent.nothing to much bother..Hotel also has reasturant, gym and bar but we did not use.
The hotel has recently been refurbished and is done out in a lovely boutique comfortable manner...we very much would use this hotel if going to NY again...

Room Tip: We stayed in 331 and 831...party of 4 women..room has large separate beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainebrettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Hotel Chandler is a really good find - it is well located being close to all central sights and places to visit. The staff are friendly. The rooms are on a smaller side, but cosy. We have had some plumbing issues, which the front desk manager helped us to resolve. It would have been nice to be able to have breakfast included into the cost, as $25 a person is a bit much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfleet
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel I situated ideally to walk to the major central spots with easy subway links in walking distance as well.
The room and facilities were luxurious and all of the staff I dealt with were welcoming, proactive and most helpful.
Now I would not stay anywhere else in Manhattan.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike_Lichten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Mike_Lichten:

I am so happy to hear that we will be your first choice when visiting NYC!

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Wonderful staff from top to bottom - greeting, assisting with luggage, obtaining a taxi, everything! Comfortable room; larger than most NY hotel rooms; attractive; Empire State Building; Crumbs; Brendan's; all close by - great location!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Traveler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have stayed at Hotel Chandler multiple times and it has been consistently wonderful. It's impeccably designed and decorated - both before and after the lobby renovation. You cannot beat its location for shopping, touring, dining...just name it. Most importantly, the staff is incredible!! They are always courteous and responsive. A great NYC experience!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Darryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. Staff were very helpful, and the room was smallish but very comfortable. The shower was also the best I've ever had in a hotel! All in all a very nice hotel in a central location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PunterX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear PunterX:

Thank you so much for your recent review! I am happy you think we have the best shower! We do hope you come back and visit NYC and chose Hotel Chandler for your accommodations.

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#146 of 467 in New York City
2,592 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#42 of 467 in New York City
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,252 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#159 of 467 in New York City
916 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 467 in New York City
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing