We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service!”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #129 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Near to Empire State Building. Across the street youll find a super nice "deli" named Bread and Butter" that offers good food at almost any time.

The Hotel is clean, comfortable and nice but
what makes this hotel super recomendable is its service!!

When I arrived to the hotel I needed help with 2 or 3 diferent things they helped me with a really good attitud, always trying to solve my problem.
They have coffe and tea all the time for free and selfervice.
A week after I left the hotel I notice a problem with an amount of money in my credit card that hasn't been release and shouldn't have to be charged. The bank in my country asked for a email with several information from the Hotel. They were really comprenhensive and helpful sending it. To make sure the problem could be solved as quickly as possible they even called directly to the bank without me requesting it!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mapoh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Mapoh64:

Thank you so much for your review. I am very happy to hear that we were able to quickly resolve the issue with the hold on your credit card.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,861
    1,061
    282
    106
    56
See reviews for
606
1,393
223
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

A wonderful experience
I was in a business travel but the room was so comfortable that i didn't miss so much my home.
The best location, very safe and fun.
The personal was amazing.
Totally recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Book this hotel. The rooms are small but well-appointed, but it is the staff that really make the hotel special. Good bar downstairs, location is fabulous, near several train lines and the staff are happy to flag a taxi down for you on Madison and bring it round to the hotel.

Charlie, thank you for recommending a great hairdresser. Matt, thank you for being so attentive. The lovely lady on reception whose name begins with an L, thank you for going to such great lengths to find me to pass on a message. Owen, well done on a quick, efficient check out.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Yanna S:

Thank you so much for your amazing review! I will make sure to compliment the staff mentioned. I am delighted that we went above and beyond and that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just stayed at the hotel based on blind tripadvisor recommendations (thanks to our fellow reviewers).. I must say we consistently agree with the ratings and experiences.. Upon arrival the valet was quite attentive and conversive. Check in was quick and easy. All staff greeted us warmly the entire night. Our room faced the street, small but very comfortable. Good quiet hotel not much traffic (both important to me in getting a good nights sleep).

Hung out at the bar for a bit had some delicious food (best chicken club sandwich I've ever had). Drinks were good.

Only reason for the 4 instead of 5 star review was due to having to call maintenance twice for our heater not working. First time the apparently attended to the issue when we weren't in the room, upon our return the heat still wasnt working, but an engineer arrived shortly and fixed the issue.

Overall, good experience, appreciate the quality service (keep it up!), will recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMA102205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel chandler during July 2013 when we were in New York for a 5 day holiday. We found it to be a great hotel situated in a really central location. The room was fairly compact but nice. There wasn't exactly a good view out of the window but this is what you expect in NYC. The room rate was very reasonable and there was good free wifi available. There was also a PC in the lobby for printing boarding passes and complimentary tea and coffee available all day in the lobby. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Would recommend if you're looking for a good hotel to base yourself while out seeing the sights during the day.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear StuartD:

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last summer. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and you will get to experience Juni our restaurant that opened last August.

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Hotel staff upon arrival - bell service was great, front desk average - did not explain the amenities or even crack a smile; must've been a bad day. During the stay front desk wonderful and bell staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Love this boutique hotel. Awesome location in mid town close to main streets and subway stations.the friendliest staff. They even remembered my name and often reminded me to grab my coat! Felt like staying at a fun cousins house

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tuannisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#141 of 466 in New York City
2,683 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 466 in New York City
461 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#130 of 466 in New York City
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#57 of 466 in New York City
2,292 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#98 of 466 in New York City
722 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 466 in New York City
3,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing